We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“warmly welcomed by Riccardo”
Review of Osteria del Cason

Osteria del Cason
Ranked #435 of 1,425 Restaurants in Venice
Price range: US$20 - US$93
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Child-friendly, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighbourhood: San Polo
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“warmly welcomed by Riccardo”
Reviewed 16 March 2014

Just wanted to thank Riccardo for the great evening we had at al Cason! The dinner was gorgeous, we have never had such good and fresh fish. Scampi and Bacala were terrific. It was our wedding anniversary and Riccardo made it special.it is very well located, just behind the Frari Church, right on a canal. Very romantic :)

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank melis d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

276 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    111
    93
    30
    17
    25
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
mexico city
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Yes!”
Reviewed 9 January 2014

We were booked by the BnB we were staying while in Venice. No bad surprises. Excellent food and funny people. Ricardo is very nice...you feel very welcomed. We loved the Baccala' and Scampi. Very good white wine. Also a nice spot of Venice, just in front of a Canal. This is a real terrific italian/venetian restaurant. We will be back!!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank holidaysinItaly2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ventura, California
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“wonderful people and wonderful fish”
Reviewed 16 November 2013

Just came back form my dinnner at Osteria del Cason; as usual, it was a big success; Simone and Riccardo are always happy to let you have a special time here. Great fresh fish, amazing wine, terrific cicchetti. I loved the Scampi Al Rosmarino and my husband enjoyed the Frittura Mista and the prosecco :); It is well situated, just in front of a smal canal, with gondolas and singers passing by; It is a small restaurant with a very relaxed atmosphere; Price is really reasonable compared to the Venice's standars and the quality and freshness of fish is at a very high level. It is my third time here and I can't wait to come back! I sadly read the previous reviews by some italian people and cannot believe how people don't mind about damaging a place without a concrete reason; The owners and waiters are VERY NICE PEOPLE and this place deserve to be at the top list of Tripadvisor ranking list.Ciao Riccardo and Simone, ci rivedremo prestissimo!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank mariaelisabetta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guayaquil, Ecuador
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“excellent food!”
Reviewed 6 November 2013

This place is one of the few in venice that offers excellent food (great raw fish quality), fantastic service and on top it has a very nice location right at the waterfront!
If you are looking for good authentic restaurant, where locals go, choose to come to Osteria del Cason! You won't be disappointed! ah! and the price is more than fair!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ro S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
40 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great little place to have dinner”
Reviewed 3 November 2013

Enjoyed a wonderful late night dinner along the canal. Highly recommend this place we stumbled upon by accident.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Petra_In_Oregon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Osteria del Cason also viewed

Venice, City of Venice
Venice, City of Venice
 
Venice, City of Venice
Mestre, City of Venice
 

Been to Osteria del Cason? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing