We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Off the beaten path-delicious!”
Review of Osteria del Cason

Osteria del Cason
Ranked #507 of 1,426 Restaurants in Venice
Price range: US$20 - US$93
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Neighbourhood: San Polo
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Off the beaten path-delicious!”
Reviewed 23 July 2014

We like everything about it-the food, the wine, the ambience, the service! We went on the evening of the Feast of the Redeemer- on our way to see fireworks.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank DanaPehrson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

286 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    112
    95
    31
    20
    28
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
34 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Nice find in Venice”
Reviewed 23 July 2014

This was a great find in Venice. It's not overly touristy like so many of the places there. I wanted a good meal and I got it. It's a little off the beaten path, that's a good thing..

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DCofNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Hidden gem..”
Reviewed 11 July 2014

Having done extensive research on the local bars and restaurants that we wanted to make reservations for. We headed out one evening on the off chance to find a local restaurant and stumbled across Osteria Del Cason. It was a very short walk from our hotel and we ended up visiting on several occasions even if it was for a night-cap.
The food and service was exceptional, to name a few great that we thoroughly enjoyed;
Crab Gnocchi, Tuna steak with Pistachio crust, Seafood Risotto (our favourite), Ham and Melon, and the best tiramisu we have ever tasted! To top it off they served there own Prosecco at 13 euros a carafe. Cant wait to revisit.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank TeamBlythe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cascais, Portugal
Level Contributor
51 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“A cosy, quiet bistro to enjoy tasty food”
Reviewed 11 May 2014

We hadn´t booked but were welcomed and given a table for two in the entrance room. It was very quiet and pleasant. The lady owner was very kind and brought us very tasty food.We had the crab shell and salumi as starters, then gnocchi with crab (the best gnocchi I've ever eaten, quite home-made). The wine and dessert were very good too.
I think they accept dogs, but there was no problem about it.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 502Maria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
101 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Glad we found this restaurant”
Reviewed 31 March 2014

We hadn't booked dinner for our Saturday night in Venice and found Osteria del Cason by pure chance. The staff were really friendly and the food was really good. Most of the staff also speak English. The food seems to be locally sourced so the menu does change. When we went it wasn't that busy but it didn't spoil our meal. Please try and visit this little treat of a place.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MGCMGF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Osteria del Cason also viewed

Venice, City of Venice
Venice, City of Venice
 
Mestre, City of Venice
Venice, City of Venice
 
Venice, City of Venice
Venice, City of Venice
 

Been to Osteria del Cason? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing