We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lanterna di Marco Polo
Nearby Hotels
US$416
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$392
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$194
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$157
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Moresco(Venice)
US$349
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Ai Mori d'Oriente Hotel(Venice)
US$234
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$218
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$317
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$244
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$269
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$225
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Arlecchino Hotel(Venice)(Great Value!)
US$195
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$181
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
US$305
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$232
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$302
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$270
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$304
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$233
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
Reviews (181)
Filter reviews
181 results
Traveller rating
96
63
16
3
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
96
63
16
3
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmark's squarenice hotel in a great locationthe upper floorscold cutstravel agentstay in venicegrand canalcroissantsbreakfast was includedeasy accesstop floorthe air conditioningguidodirectionskeyluggagemurano
Filter
Updating list...
68 - 73 of 181 reviews
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Little hotel located between Rialto Bridge and Piazza San Marcos. Upon arrival was warmly welcome by the host. Hotel is small, but cute and very clean. Breakfast was ok. I definitely would stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maria N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2014

we stayed here for 3 nights and enjoyed the beautiful location and the owners were great hosts. it was as expected and as we read other comments. Its not a 5star hotel, but its a great location and a nice clean room with some character. the only real negative was that our room was up on the 4th floor and there are no elevators... very exhausting walk on top of all the walking we were doing in Venice exploring. Not a place to stay if you have any mobility challenges. But, for a 1500 year old building, its looking pretty great and we understood there was no elevator before going. The Continental breakfast was nice with some various choices.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

In Venice, it is all about location. This small boutique hotel is located just 270 yards from St Mark’s Square and a 2-minute walk from the Rialto Bridge and the vaporettos on the Grand Canal. You want to stay here in central Venice so you can enjoy the city when the tourists from the big cruise ships leave late afternoon. You can walk easily to almost everything or hop on the vaporettos to go to Lido or Murano.
The hotel is old -- mid 15th century -- which on the positive side, lets you imagine how this building has operated for centuries. On the downside, it means that the rooms are small and a little dingy and yes -- musty. Most essential, all of the rooms have air-conditioning and are pretty quiet. There are only 8 or 9 rooms, two rooms per landing. You have to climb very steep stairs, something to consider if you have luggage. The nicest room is on the 7th floor because there is a private little rooftop terrace--but it is quite a climb especially if you have a large suitcase. There are a television and small private bathroom for each room. Please note that while free Wi-Fi is advertised, we could not access it above the first floor.
Guido and Riccardo offer a small but adequate breakfast in the tiny little first floor lobby. If you are traveling with others, there is not a good space to hang out--just these four little crammed in tables. Guido was a wonderful and charming host and very helpful with restaurant recommendations, obtaining train schedules, etc.
Best aspects: central location and price is affordable relative to other central Venetian hotels
Negatives: Rooms are tiny and a little dingy, steep climb up the stairs, lack of a lobby gathering space
I WOULD STAY HERE NEXT TIME I AM IN VENICE DESPITE THE DRAWBACKS

Room Tip: Go for the room on the top floor if you can make the climb with your suitcase. You get a good little Fiddler-on-the-Roof view of tile roofs and you work off the gelatto calories. Second choice would be to ask for one of the two first floor rooms to avoid the stairs.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Elizabeth G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2014 via mobile

My wiffy & I chose this b&b for our easter break. We do not look for luxury during city breaks but location & the lanterna was perfect - very close to the rialto & vaporetto stop & 10 min walk to san marco.
The hosts Guido & Riccardo are very helpful & go out of their way to accomodate you. Every morning they used to ask us what was our plan for the day & they would give us tips how best to go & even where to eat. You feel like they are friends rather then hosts.
Breakfast was good for italian standards.
The only downside was the lack of a lift but it is a 400-500 year old building & a lift would not be possible. You burn your sweets :-) if you want to take the positive side of it.
Hi Guido & Riccardo. Un saluto da Malta. Ci vediamo presto. Vi portiamo a prendere un po di frutti di mare ;-) Trevor & Natalie Vassallo.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Trevor V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed most of our stay at the Lanterna di Marco Polo. We were fascinated to learn that the building was from 1492. The room was clean and with the shutters closed it was quiet even though we faced the street. The breakfast was adequate. Everything was fine until the morning we needed to catch an early flight. We are very experienced travelers. The staff had given us keys to unlock the front door so we could leave before they returned. To our distress the key did not work. We were locked in the building. We tried the key we had been given for the back door. That, too, did not work. It had not occured to us to check that we could get out of the building when the staff was not present. We called the hotel's emergency number and left an urgent message as no one answered. After endless attempts we finally were able to unlock the door. It was very unsettling.

Room Tip: Service was poor only because of the situation with the locks on the doors and no one answering the emergency number. Make sure you can get out of the building when the staff is not present.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wivoyager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RiccGuid, Proprietario at Lanterna di Marco Polo, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

We are very sorry for what happened to you. We are very surprised that you were not able to open not 1 but 2 doors. As far as the emergency phone I can confirm that we are always reachable 24 hours on 24 hours and confirm that we found no missed calls and voicemails even less (probably you entered a wrong number). I think it was just an unfortunate morning. However, we are sorry and understand your concern.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews