We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not bad for Venice”
Review of B & B Al Saor

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
B & B Al Saor
Ranked #49 of 457 Venice B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“not bad for Venice”
Reviewed 20 August 2013

The location and the room itself was fine. The cost was reasonable for peak-season Venice. The air-con worked very well and it was good to have a TV with several international channels - shame many were blocked, however. And the wi-fi was efficient enough.

The hostel is located down a narrow alley that is unlit at night. I arrived around 9 pm and couldn't get in - no reception. I needed a torch to see a note stuck inside the front door which said that guests needed to phone the owner on arrival.

I didn't have enough credit on my phone, the call was cut short. I finally got a 4-digit code to open the door, and the keys were in the room (which I eventually found after trying two other rooms).

The owner needs to inform guests CLEARLY and DIRECTLY (and not in the small print that is attached to every correspondence) once the booking is made of this inconvenience (which is what it is). I can't think of any reason why the code isn't emailed to guests once they reserve the room, anyway.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank JohnCoan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

260 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    147
    82
    21
    8
    2
See reviews for
49
137
11
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2013

We arrived mid-afternoon at Al Saor and we were surprised that no one was there to welcome us. The place was empty! We had to call the phone number outside the door so that someone can let us in! The lady (her name is Sylvia) who runs the place said she didnt have any records of our booking and she wasnt aware we are checking-in that day. Coming all the way from Sydney Australia, we were really tired and to us this isnt a very good start of our holiday.

Seeing that no one welcomed us on the day of our arrival, we chose to stay in a room with 3 beds because we booked for a triple room (makes sense!) but we woke up the next day only to be asked to vacate our room and asked us to be moved a super tiny room with 2 beds. We then had to pack up and drag our luggage to the tiniest room I've ever seen.

To be honest this B&B can do a lot better! The triple room at we stayed in smells like curry so we had to leave the windows open only to find out mosquitos entered the room! The rooms generally have a dark feel to it. The mirrors in the bathroom looks creepy. I will never stay at this place again.

Room Tip: Dont leave the windows open because of the mosquitos!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Divin J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tacoma, WA
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2013

Al Saor is far better and more affordable than we'd hoped to find in Venice during the high season. The rooms are small but charming and very clean, and the location is quiet and feels like it's in a real neighborhood, even though it is just around the corner from a busy tourist street and the Ca D'Oro vaporetto stop.

Breakfast was delicious, and we loved having a coffee pot in the room for coffee during other times of the day. I'd stay again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ttownrunnergirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2013 via mobile

Great location for slightly less touristy cannareggio, down a quiet street but handy for lots of other places. Room itself was nice and had air conditioning, breakfasts were good, only downside was the bathroom which was cramped.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kyle D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2013

Nice little place. Great location near vaporetto, shops and big supermarket. Could walk to train station or San Marco square if necessary. Good service and breakfast. Our room was small but nice bathroom and very clean. Cost very reasonable for Venice.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RitaSt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed 17 June 2013

Convenient location, this B & B is a gem. It was clean and the breakfast was more than sufficient. Easy to get to the shops and water taxi. Sylvia is friendly and helpful. Would suggest you ask for extra pillows as only one is provided per guest. We thoroughly enjoyed our 2 night stay.

Room Tip: One with an air conditioner in summer
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BridgetWilcox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights and loved it. Was the perfect base for exploring Venice. Easy to walk from the train station (about 15 minutes) or you can catch the number 1 vaporetto and get off at the Ca' d'Oro stop. Sylvia is so friendly and very helpful. Breakfast each morning was great and we were offered omelettes which was a nice touch. We stayed on the first floor just next door to the kitchen area and ate food we bought from the supermarket (a few minutes walk away) outside each night in the cute courtyard area.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sjoliver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Locanda Ca' Zose
Locanda Ca' Zose
#151 of 385 in Venice
638 reviews
San Polo
Residenza degli Angeli
Residenza degli Angeli
#18 of 457 in Venice
603 reviews
Castello
B&B Gli Angeli
B&B Gli Angeli
#195 of 457 in Venice
93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Castello
Oceano Mare B&B
Oceano Mare B&B
#56 of 457 in Venice
181 reviews
Cannaregio
B&B Ca Dor
B&B Ca Dor
#165 of 457 in Venice
49 reviews
Cannaregio
Locanda Ca' Le Vele
Locanda Ca' Le Vele
#3 of 214 in Venice
348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to B & B Al Saor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about B & B Al Saor

Property: B & B Al Saor
Address: Cannaregio 3904 / A, 30125 Venice, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Cannaregio
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 457 B&Bs / Inns in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — B & B Al Saor 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), HRS and Evoline ltd so you can book your B & B Al Saor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bed And Breakfast Al Saor
b & b Al Saor Hotel Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing