We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Good Hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Scandinavia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Scandinavia
Ranked #127 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
UK
Level Contributor
37 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Very Good Hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2013

Never having been to Venice before, we chose the Scandinavia because it looked quite well located (and the reviews were good). Well, we were right about the location, because it's pretty much perfect. The room and bathroom were spacious and a pleasure to use and it’s a friendly hotel too; the members of staff that we met were really helpful. The reason it doesn’t get five stars is that although the breakfast was perfectly good, the coffee came out of a machine and was undrinkable. Not to worry though, because if you like your coffee, there’s a nice little cafe/bar next door that does really nice coffee. We intend to visit Venice again and will certainly stay at the Scandinavia.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank GastonSorbet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

680 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    180
    333
    123
    33
    11
See reviews for
207
286
17
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Virginia City, Nevada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 December 2013

We stayed in a large 4 bed room at this hotel overlooking the square. Fresh fruit stands are located right in front of the hotel. Beautiful Murano glass and mirrors everywhere with antique decor. Very clean and the staff was exceptionally friendly giving detailed maps for touring the island. I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ipswich, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2013

No lift but staff eager to help with luggage. Hotel very clean new bathroom, no view from back rooms but rooms are very clean. The furnishings areole but they are suppose to be for the era. Beautiful Murano chandeliers everywhere. Staff happy to look after luggage if you arrive early and take it to your room. All on all I found my stay here very pleasant.

Room Tip: We took a private ferry to the hotel it was a short walk to the hotel but when we left were given he...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marianne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oregon
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2013

We stayed here in a triple room. Very nice location--close to everything yet on a little square away from all the crowds. You can hear the noise from the square, but it just added to the whole Venetian experience to us. Front desk people were all extremely helpful. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janet B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ahmedabad, India
Level Contributor
66 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2013

The hotel itself is or should be a heritage building. The building is around 700 years old (that's what we were told). Though hotel is centuries old but it has been very nicely done up inside, with all the modern amenities (including wi-fi). The nearest station for taking water-cab or Vaporetto is Rialto (10 minutes walk from the hotel) from the hotel. St. Lucia railway station is 10 minutes from Rialto. The hotel is situated in a very nice square - Santa Maria Square. We had an excellent stay there. The staff was very helpful. There are lot of eating places around the hotel, with few excellent ones in the square itself. We had an excellent stay with just a minor hitch. Since we were staying on 4th floor, climbing stairs first time with the luggage was bit of a task. One should ask for help in carrying the luggage which we did while checking out.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with the balcony opening towards the square. You'll get an excellent view of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nalin_thakur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane Region, Australia
Level Contributor
112 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2013 via mobile

What a gem of a hotel - traditional venetian decor throughout - small rooms and no lift - but it made it more like being in Venice! Location was great close to the main square but away from all the noise. Staff at hotel so helpful and friendly. Loved the cold buffet breakfast and having coffee in front of the hotel watching the people walk by. Recommend this place for a romantic night in Venice.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dds777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
winston, Oregon
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2013

we enjoyed staying at this hotel. The staff were helpful, and loved the location, on Formosa Square, a happy, busy square where people were enjoying life. It was walkable from the Grand Canal, restaurants in the neighborhood, and lots of people watching.

Room Tip: no elevator, but we were on second floor, no problem for our over eighty mom
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mary J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
Castello
Hotel Canaletto
Hotel Canaletto
#113 of 385 in Venice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,063 reviews
Castello
Hotel da Bruno
Hotel da Bruno
#45 of 385 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 897 reviews
Santa Croce
Hotel Al Sole
Hotel Al Sole
#118 of 385 in Venice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 838 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
Hotel do Pozzi
Hotel do Pozzi
#144 of 385 in Venice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 514 reviews
Castello
Rio Venezia Hotel
Rio Venezia Hotel
#78 of 385 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 381 reviews
Castello
Hotel Casa Verardo - Residenza D'Epoca
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Scandinavia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Scandinavia

Property: Hotel Scandinavia
Address: Campo Santa Maria Formosa, Castello 5240, 30100 Venice, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Castello
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#123 Family Hotel in Venice
#153 Romantic Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Scandinavia 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Expedia, Lastminute, Priceline, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Hotel Scandinavia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scandinavia Hotel Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing