We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A 'Gem' in a Wonderful Location”
Review of Hotel Scandinavia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel Scandinavia
Ranked #124 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Kent
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“A 'Gem' in a Wonderful Location”
Reviewed 26 March 2014

Our favourite City is Venice and my wife and I have visited perhaps seven or eight times: we even became engaged on a gondola (of course supping Champagne) over ten years ago!
Every different hotel we have stayed in has been good - but if we had to choose the best one, it would have to be Hotel Scandinavia.

We knew that it was centrally located but did not realise just how superb this was until this visit. It is the perfect base for enjoying the wonders of Venice. Located in and facing into a nice square it is also beautifully quiet at night.

Upon entering through the front doors one is immediately impressed by the reception area, with walls of polished old wooden panels. The Reception desk is immediately in front of you and even as we approached there was a warm welcome from the man on Reception (who may have been the Proprietor). Formalities quickly over he suggested we went to our room and he would follow us up with our two cases. The room was lovely from the way it was furnished, to the well appointed bath/shower room, to the highly efficient heating system.

We unpacked and decided to go walkabout: but before leaving we looked in to the breakfast room. Having subsequently used it three times we were most impressed. Excellent choices, nice helpful staff, and a warm atmosphere, with some windows facing into the square.

An un-anticipated 'challenge' was that we had to endure a walk of perhaps two hundred yards to my favourite Restaurant (for dinner) Agri Artisti!! (ask for Luca if you go!)

Every single member of staff we spoke to at Hotel Scandinaviawas friendly and helpful: and a credit to the Proprietor and to the hotel. We are already talking about our next visit!

Cheers!!!!!!!!!11

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ScarletPimpernell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

729 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    194
    358
    130
    35
    12
See reviews for
231
304
20
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ahmedabad, India
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2014

We traveled to Venice by Train and from Railway station there is only way to travel to hotel by water-bus only , it is situated near Campo Santa maria Formosa. Very good open ground in front of the hotel. there are no elevators-lifts for going on the third floor of the hotel , entire property is made out of wooden structure and interior. We asked the person sitting on the front -" There is no lift -it looks like ancient building?" he said of course this is an ancient building built before 1000 years and they are not allowed to install Lift . Rooms were well furnished. Enjoyed staying in venice. We were in the heart of venice. Small roads. Every body was walking no vehicles in side city. Only boats are moving to travel from one to another place. entire city is in the lagoon water.

Room Tip: Front row rooms are more preferable
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EssEssKay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarasota, Florida, USA
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2014

This hotel was close to what we needed and everywhere was walkable. Unfortunately, our window overlooked a walkway, so we heard a lot of noise. At 3:00 am it was quite disturbing. Our last day at the hotel, we inquired about the best way to get to the airport (since we came in via train). The hotel explained which water shuttle we should use and even offered to prepare a little breakfast for us (we were leaving well before breakfast time). This was especially nice of them since we were poised for a long travel day and food can be challenging to find that early in the morning.

Room Tip: request a room on a higher floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank luvtotravel1011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2013

Never having been to Venice before, we chose the Scandinavia because it looked quite well located (and the reviews were good). Well, we were right about the location, because it's pretty much perfect. The room and bathroom were spacious and a pleasure to use and it’s a friendly hotel too; the members of staff that we met were really helpful. The reason it doesn’t get five stars is that although the breakfast was perfectly good, the coffee came out of a machine and was undrinkable. Not to worry though, because if you like your coffee, there’s a nice little cafe/bar next door that does really nice coffee. We intend to visit Venice again and will certainly stay at the Scandinavia.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank GastonSorbet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia City, Nevada
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2013

We stayed in a large 4 bed room at this hotel overlooking the square. Fresh fruit stands are located right in front of the hotel. Beautiful Murano glass and mirrors everywhere with antique decor. Very clean and the staff was exceptionally friendly giving detailed maps for touring the island. I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ipswich, Queensland, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2013

No lift but staff eager to help with luggage. Hotel very clean new bathroom, no view from back rooms but rooms are very clean. The furnishings areole but they are suppose to be for the era. Beautiful Murano chandeliers everywhere. Staff happy to look after luggage if you arrive early and take it to your room. All on all I found my stay here very pleasant.

Room Tip: We took a private ferry to the hotel it was a short walk to the hotel but when we left were given he...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marianne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
Castello
Hotel Casa Verardo - Residenza D'Epoca
Castello
Hotel da Bruno
Hotel da Bruno
#49 of 385 in Venice
1,019 reviews
Castello
Hotel Canaletto
Hotel Canaletto
#114 of 385 in Venice
1,116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
Hotel Orion
Hotel Orion
#104 of 385 in Venice
791 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Gorizia A La Valigia
Hotel Gorizia A La Valigia
#140 of 385 in Venice
792 reviews
Castello
Rio Venezia Hotel
Rio Venezia Hotel
#89 of 385 in Venice
423 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Scandinavia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Scandinavia

Property: Hotel Scandinavia
Address: Campo Santa Maria Formosa, Castello 5240, 30100 Venice, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Castello
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#123 Family Hotel in Venice
#153 Romantic Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Scandinavia 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, ACCOR, TravelUp, Odigeo, Expedia, Lastminute, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Scandinavia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scandinavia Hotel Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing