We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Location in the Heart of Venice”
Review of Hotel Scandinavia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel Scandinavia
Ranked #125 of 386 Hotels in Venice
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
261 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
“Excellent Location in the Heart of Venice”
Reviewed 9 April 2014

We stayed here recently for 3 nights and thought it was a lovely hotel. The room was very basic, but very clean, and contained everything we needed. As we were out sightseeing all day we just wanted somewhere nice to come back to in the evening and this fit the bill.

It was a little hard to find at first, but then everything is in Venice! The hotel is located off a lovely square about 5-10 minutes walk from both Rialto Bridge and San Marco. Perfect for a 2-3 day stay!

We had a room (9) overlooking the square which was absolutely lovely. Only downside is it is VERY noisy at night. There were people in the square drinking/eating etc into the early hours. Didn't bother us, but if you are a light sleeper you may want to opt for somewhere quieter! It also got very hot in the room, and it was only April, so we had to keep the windows open - increasing the noise........

There were warm croissants for breakfast every morning, along with cheese, cakes, bread, yogurt and cereal etc. just what you needed to start the day.

This place is by no means luxury but if you are looking for a basic hotel, for a good price in a good location in Venice then this hotel should suit you fine!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Henster79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

722 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    191
    355
    129
    35
    12
See reviews for
227
301
20
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed 9 April 2014

Staff speak English and they are the most helpful! I had difficulty with the Air Canada pilots going on strike and plane was cancelled. Well, the staff helped me place phone calls to get a new airline for departure! They are great!
Excellent location for the St. Mark's Square.............Remember, go by Squares at Venice so you won't get lost!
Hotel close to Rialto Bridge.......

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jay B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2014

We really enjoyed our stay so close to Rialto bridge and San Marco Square. Beautiful old Venetian building facing a square where you can experienc the Italian way of life. Although there is'nt a lift the staff was very helpfull to carry our luggage. We can certainly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank adelem3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2014

We stayed in this hotel for 2 nights. The location is little far from Venice termini station but good thing is main attraction of venice San Marco Square is just 10 min walk from the Hotel.. The staff was very cooperative and helpful... They did help us shifting our luggage and arranging transfers by water taxi.. Not only that they allowed us to use the small kitchen they have so that we could boil some ready to eat meal that we were carrying... Had wonderful stay... Rooms are good... It appears like old construction but it depends on your choice.. I like old maintained constructions and so enjoyed my stay here..... No need to think much.. Go for it...

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GDARSHANG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2014

Our favourite City is Venice and my wife and I have visited perhaps seven or eight times: we even became engaged on a gondola (of course supping Champagne) over ten years ago!
Every different hotel we have stayed in has been good - but if we had to choose the best one, it would have to be Hotel Scandinavia.

We knew that it was centrally located but did not realise just how superb this was until this visit. It is the perfect base for enjoying the wonders of Venice. Located in and facing into a nice square it is also beautifully quiet at night.

Upon entering through the front doors one is immediately impressed by the reception area, with walls of polished old wooden panels. The Reception desk is immediately in front of you and even as we approached there was a warm welcome from the man on Reception (who may have been the Proprietor). Formalities quickly over he suggested we went to our room and he would follow us up with our two cases. The room was lovely from the way it was furnished, to the well appointed bath/shower room, to the highly efficient heating system.

We unpacked and decided to go walkabout: but before leaving we looked in to the breakfast room. Having subsequently used it three times we were most impressed. Excellent choices, nice helpful staff, and a warm atmosphere, with some windows facing into the square.

An un-anticipated 'challenge' was that we had to endure a walk of perhaps two hundred yards to my favourite Restaurant (for dinner) Agri Artisti!! (ask for Luca if you go!)

Every single member of staff we spoke to at Hotel Scandinaviawas friendly and helpful: and a credit to the Proprietor and to the hotel. We are already talking about our next visit!

Cheers!!!!!!!!!11

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ScarletPimpernell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ahmedabad, India
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2014

We traveled to Venice by Train and from Railway station there is only way to travel to hotel by water-bus only , it is situated near Campo Santa maria Formosa. Very good open ground in front of the hotel. there are no elevators-lifts for going on the third floor of the hotel , entire property is made out of wooden structure and interior. We asked the person sitting on the front -" There is no lift -it looks like ancient building?" he said of course this is an ancient building built before 1000 years and they are not allowed to install Lift . Rooms were well furnished. Enjoyed staying in venice. We were in the heart of venice. Small roads. Every body was walking no vehicles in side city. Only boats are moving to travel from one to another place. entire city is in the lagoon water.

Room Tip: Front row rooms are more preferable
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EssEssKay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
Castello
Hotel Casa Verardo - Residenza D'Epoca
Castello
Hotel da Bruno
Hotel da Bruno
#48 of 386 in Venice
1,012 reviews
Castello
Hotel Canaletto
Hotel Canaletto
#115 of 386 in Venice
1,110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Castello
Hotel Palazzo Vitturi
Hotel Palazzo Vitturi
#29 of 386 in Venice
940 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Gorizia A La Valigia
Hotel Gorizia A La Valigia
#142 of 386 in Venice
784 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Orion
Hotel Orion
#106 of 386 in Venice
783 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Scandinavia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Scandinavia

Property: Hotel Scandinavia
Address: Campo Santa Maria Formosa, Castello 5240, 30100 Venice, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Castello
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#123 Family Hotel in Venice
#153 Romantic Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Scandinavia 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , Lastminute, Ebookers, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Scandinavia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scandinavia Hotel Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing