We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Solid amenities in Floating City”
Review of Hotel Scandinavia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel Scandinavia
Ranked #121 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Solid amenities in Floating City”
Reviewed 6 May 2014

Room Nine was awesome because I could wake up from a nap and see the church steeple in the piazza in which it sat. this piazza de san maria formosa is an easy walk from two water bus stops S.Roma and Rialto bridge. I'm a big boy who doesn't like to walk much so it helped to stay in this hotel. Room nine is on the third floor but no worries, Andre took my bags up three flights upon check in. I also cheated and used the porter service from Rialto bridge because I didnt know the location of the hotel scandinavia and i had two heavy bags, one, a backpack with torn straps. The room is facing the piazza san maria formosa where residents congregate for church services. they are a lively group who stand outside the church and converse or an hour after services are done, then they go to the restaurants to drink until four am so it is alittle loud. but after touring the city from sunrise to sundown, i didn't care, i was busy sawing logs. I loved the hotel for its cleanliness from light fixtures to railings. i inspected so i know. i liked the sitting area on the second floor, where i could read and surf facebook using the hotel free wi-fi. the full occupancy hotel was fine for noise. visitors must have been having a good time as everyone was cheerful and said bonjourno to me while i sat there one morning. the water pressure was weak. the beds were comfortable, the safe was too small, the breakfasts were nutritional and i thoroughly enjoyed what was offered. breads were baked fresh right there. the coffee machines were spitting out great coffee as much as i wanted to enjoy. the cereals, yogarts, extras were awesome. the staff was efficient and helped me learn Italian. be careful to wear flipflops in the shower and walk around the rooms on handpainted ceramic tile so as not to slip. Forget staying at this place if you want an elevator...on second thought, skip the entire area of Venice if you want a hotel with a lift or elevator because you wont find one for historical reasons. there is a Hilton by the airport if you want peace and quiet and an elevator. There you have it.

Room Tip: Get room 33 on the second floor. It has two doors and if you want quiet, it doesnt face the piazza.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dancinGoats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

709 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    187
    351
    126
    34
    11
See reviews for
221
294
19
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Anoka, Minnesota, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014

Lovely location for relaxing and people watching! The tables and chairs outside were a wonderful place to share a bottle of wine and some cheese while my fiance and i 'recharged our batteries' before going out again in the evening. The staff was fantastic and bent over backward to satisfy our needs. There was no refrigerator in the room but the staff let us put a bottle of wine in the small one in the breakfast room. I would have liked to see more variety of fruit and maybe some meat at breakfast but it was a traditional continental breakfast and served its purpose. The room was clean and a bit noise our first morning (2nd floor overlooking Campo Santa Marie Formosa) but the view made it worth it.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014

Very good location, lovely hotel. Staff were helpful and courteous. Breakfast had good spread too. There is no lift and if your group/family has elderly people please ensure that the room is in the first floor and not higher. Rooms facing the streets in the lower floors can be a bit noisy but not bad enough to spoil your sleep.

Can take gondola ride and water taxi from/to very near the hotel. Gondola ride is around Euro 80 and water taxi to/from the train station will cost similar.

San Marco square is within walkable distance and there are number of restaurants and shops nearby.

For first time traveler to Venice especially with luggage, I would advise against taking the vaporetta (ie., public transport) as the walk can be tiring. If you do take the vaporetta please ensure that you validate your ticket prior to getting aboard or you can be fined around Euro 52 for a ticket costing Euro 5 (we got fined and upon reading reviewed, it appears that a number of tourists have the experience). Would be good if the hotel can put this up on their website or provide this advisory to customers.

Room Tip: There is no lift and if your group/family has elderly people please ensure that the room is in the f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AjithBhaskaran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2014

This was our first visit to Venice and location was a key factor in our choice of hotel - just 5mins walk from St Mark's square and the Rialto bridge. The price was reasonable considering our late booking being during the Easter holidays; compared to other hotels I wouldn't describe it as being expensive as mentined in other reviews.
The hotel staff were extremely friendly and helpful; our room was clean, with a modern bathroom - no mini-fridge though. It did have a mini-safe, which was useful. Our room was on the fourth floor, and yes, there was no lift; this did not bother us however, but may be an issue for less mobile visitors.
The breakfast was OK, could be better if fresh fruit had been on offer, nevertheless this was not an issue for us as breakfast quality was not high on our list of priorities when chosing Venice for our holiday!
Overall we thought this was a good hotel and would happily recommend it to others.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
263 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2014

We stayed here recently for 3 nights and thought it was a lovely hotel. The room was very basic, but very clean, and contained everything we needed. As we were out sightseeing all day we just wanted somewhere nice to come back to in the evening and this fit the bill.

It was a little hard to find at first, but then everything is in Venice! The hotel is located off a lovely square about 5-10 minutes walk from both Rialto Bridge and San Marco. Perfect for a 2-3 day stay!

We had a room (9) overlooking the square which was absolutely lovely. Only downside is it is VERY noisy at night. There were people in the square drinking/eating etc into the early hours. Didn't bother us, but if you are a light sleeper you may want to opt for somewhere quieter! It also got very hot in the room, and it was only April, so we had to keep the windows open - increasing the noise........

There were warm croissants for breakfast every morning, along with cheese, cakes, bread, yogurt and cereal etc. just what you needed to start the day.

This place is by no means luxury but if you are looking for a basic hotel, for a good price in a good location in Venice then this hotel should suit you fine!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Henster79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 9 April 2014

Staff speak English and they are the most helpful! I had difficulty with the Air Canada pilots going on strike and plane was cancelled. Well, the staff helped me place phone calls to get a new airline for departure! They are great!
Excellent location for the St. Mark's Square.............Remember, go by Squares at Venice so you won't get lost!
Hotel close to Rialto Bridge.......

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jay B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2014

We really enjoyed our stay so close to Rialto bridge and San Marco Square. Beautiful old Venetian building facing a square where you can experienc the Italian way of life. Although there is'nt a lift the staff was very helpfull to carry our luggage. We can certainly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank adelem3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
Castello
Hotel da Bruno
Hotel da Bruno
#48 of 385 in Venice
990 reviews
Castello
Hotel Casa Verardo - Residenza D'Epoca
Castello
Hotel Canaletto
Hotel Canaletto
#112 of 385 in Venice
1,095 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Castello
Hotel Palazzo Vitturi
Hotel Palazzo Vitturi
#32 of 385 in Venice
915 reviews
Santa Croce
Hotel Al Sole
Hotel Al Sole
#128 of 385 in Venice
875 reviews
San Marco
Kette Hotel
Kette Hotel
#122 of 385 in Venice
1,135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Scandinavia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Scandinavia

Property: Hotel Scandinavia
Address: Campo Santa Maria Formosa, Castello 5240, 30100 Venice, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Castello
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#123 Family Hotel in Venice
#153 Romantic Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Scandinavia 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, ACCOR, Odigeo, Expedia, Lastminute, TravelUp, Ebookers, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Scandinavia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scandinavia Hotel Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing