We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not what I expected”
Review of Hotel Scandinavia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Scandinavia
Ranked #119 of 388 Hotels in Venice
Reviewed 3 June 2014

Good - The hotel was conveniently located and the staff were accommodating. The property was maintained and housekeeping was good.

Bad - rooms are small, bathroom tiny, even for European standards. The bed was like sleeping on a hard box spring, the pillows were flat and not very comfortable. The rooms temperature was inconsistent and the air conditioner kept going on and off before the room was comfortable.

Overall, way to expensive for what you get. Will probably not go back again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gandy21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (768)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

291 - 297 of 768 reviews

Reviewed 12 May 2014

Lovely hotel in a very convenient location within walking distance of St Marks
and Rialto bridge. Staff were very friendly and helpful but breakfast was
very poor. Lovely building and exceptionally clean bathroom

Room Tip: It would be good to have a room facing the square
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank j_mercer828
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2014 via mobile

Great location halfway between St marks and rialto both take approx 10 mins walk. Cheap ice cream cones from stall across the square. 2 restaurants outside which were nothing special. Coop supermarket 2 mind walk away. Breakfast was poor choice especially for my fussy 9 year old but we had bought fruit in the supermarket . We were on first floor with great view of square where everyday a few violinists only singers would gather. Very noisy at nights..air con not working and we needed the windows open. Church bells chiming through the night and dogs barking also the market stalls start setting up at 6 and have no consideration. Staff were very friendly

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank Bigfrillymilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014

Room Nine was awesome because I could wake up from a nap and see the church steeple in the piazza in which it sat. this piazza de san maria formosa is an easy walk from two water bus stops S.Roma and Rialto bridge. I'm a big boy who doesn't like to walk much so it helped to stay in this hotel. Room nine is on the third floor but no worries, Andre took my bags up three flights upon check in. I also cheated and used the porter service from Rialto bridge because I didnt know the location of the hotel scandinavia and i had two heavy bags, one, a backpack with torn straps. The room is facing the piazza san maria formosa where residents congregate for church services. they are a lively group who stand outside the church and converse or an hour after services are done, then they go to the restaurants to drink until four am so it is alittle loud. but after touring the city from sunrise to sundown, i didn't care, i was busy sawing logs. I loved the hotel for its cleanliness from light fixtures to railings. i inspected so i know. i liked the sitting area on the second floor, where i could read and surf facebook using the hotel free wi-fi. the full occupancy hotel was fine for noise. visitors must have been having a good time as everyone was cheerful and said bonjourno to me while i sat there one morning. the water pressure was weak. the beds were comfortable, the safe was too small, the breakfasts were nutritional and i thoroughly enjoyed what was offered. breads were baked fresh right there. the coffee machines were spitting out great coffee as much as i wanted to enjoy. the cereals, yogarts, extras were awesome. the staff was efficient and helped me learn Italian. be careful to wear flipflops in the shower and walk around the rooms on handpainted ceramic tile so as not to slip. Forget staying at this place if you want an elevator...on second thought, skip the entire area of Venice if you want a hotel with a lift or elevator because you wont find one for historical reasons. there is a Hilton by the airport if you want peace and quiet and an elevator. There you have it.

Room Tip: Get room 33 on the second floor. It has two doors and if you want quiet, it doesnt face the piazza.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dancinGoats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2014

Lovely location for relaxing and people watching! The tables and chairs outside were a wonderful place to share a bottle of wine and some cheese while my fiance and i 'recharged our batteries' before going out again in the evening. The staff was fantastic and bent over backward to satisfy our needs. There was no refrigerator in the room but the staff let us put a bottle of wine in the small one in the breakfast room. I would have liked to see more variety of fruit and maybe some meat at breakfast but it was a traditional continental breakfast and served its purpose. The room was clean and a bit noise our first morning (2nd floor overlooking Campo Santa Marie Formosa) but the view made it worth it.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sue S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014

Very good location, lovely hotel. Staff were helpful and courteous. Breakfast had good spread too. There is no lift and if your group/family has elderly people please ensure that the room is in the first floor and not higher. Rooms facing the streets in the lower floors can be a bit noisy but not bad enough to spoil your sleep.

Can take gondola ride and water taxi from/to very near the hotel. Gondola ride is around Euro 80 and water taxi to/from the train station will cost similar.

San Marco square is within walkable distance and there are number of restaurants and shops nearby.

For first time traveler to Venice especially with luggage, I would advise against taking the vaporetta (ie., public transport) as the walk can be tiring. If you do take the vaporetta please ensure that you validate your ticket prior to getting aboard or you can be fined around Euro 52 for a ticket costing Euro 5 (we got fined and upon reading reviewed, it appears that a number of tourists have the experience). Would be good if the hotel can put this up on their website or provide this advisory to customers.

Room Tip: There is no lift and if your group/family has elderly people please ensure that the room is in the f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank AjithBhaskaran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2014

This was our first visit to Venice and location was a key factor in our choice of hotel - just 5mins walk from St Mark's square and the Rialto bridge. The price was reasonable considering our late booking being during the Easter holidays; compared to other hotels I wouldn't describe it as being expensive as mentined in other reviews.
The hotel staff were extremely friendly and helpful; our room was clean, with a modern bathroom - no mini-fridge though. It did have a mini-safe, which was useful. Our room was on the fourth floor, and yes, there was no lift; this did not bother us however, but may be an issue for less mobile visitors.
The breakfast was OK, could be better if fresh fruit had been on offer, nevertheless this was not an issue for us as breakfast quality was not high on our list of priorities when chosing Venice for our holiday!
Overall we thought this was a good hotel and would happily recommend it to others.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
Castello
Hotel Palazzo Vitturi
Hotel Palazzo Vitturi
#29 of 388 in Venice
1,067 reviews
Castello
Hotel Canaletto
Hotel Canaletto
#114 of 388 in Venice
1,190 reviews
Castello
Hotel Casa Verardo - Residenza D'Epoca
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Croce
Hotel Al Sole
Hotel Al Sole
#127 of 388 in Venice
954 reviews
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Hotel Tiziano
Hotel Tiziano
#55 of 388 in Venice
552 reviews
Castello
Hotel alla Fava
Hotel alla Fava
#109 of 388 in Venice
647 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Scandinavia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Scandinavia

Address: Campo Santa Maria Formosa, Castello 5240, 30100 Venice, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Castello
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#152 Romantic Hotel in Venice
Price Range: £66 - £218 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Scandinavia 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , LoveHolidays, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Scandinavia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scandinavia Hotel Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing