We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location!”
Review of Hotel Scandinavia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Scandinavia
Ranked #118 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Reviewed 9 July 2014

This hotel was in an excellent location! Located between the Rialto Bridge and San Marco, so it was easy to get around. Room was a nice size for 4 people but no view. Bathroom was very large. Air condition worked great!! Drawbacks: no elevator and we were on the 4th floor (porter will carry your bags up)...and breakfast variety was limited. Lots of great restaurants and shopping close by...off the beaten path so you could really experience Venice. Overall it was a great place!

Room Tip: For a view, request a room that overlooks Piazza Santa Maria de la Formosa and a low floor, although...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Melissa L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (758)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

278 - 284 of 758 reviews

Reviewed 7 July 2014

We stayed for 5 nights and it was really good. Staff very friendly and helpful. The hotel is in a great location, very easy to get to everything. Breakfast was good. When we were leaving the staff also helped take our luggage to the water taxi - which was a super help.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
Thank Hiphopfun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2014

The staff were friendly and informative. The rooms were cramped, with extra trundle beds squashed into the smallest of gaps. As this hotel is in central Venice be prepared for lots of people noises from outside.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mccalman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014

This hotel is very quaint and what I imagine as a European hotel. As others have mentioned, there is no elevator. A porter will take your luggage to your room but 20 of us checked in at the same time so my husband thought we would just take our own. Our room was 33 and after hauling our luggage up to the 3rd floor, we were told our room was on the 1st floor...go figure! The room was small but the bathroom was nice and very clean. Our air conditioning did not work well so we opened the window at night and yes, it was noisy, but we were so tired it didn't really bother us. Very quiet with the windows closed. The staff was very friendly and helpful. They recommended a restaurant around the corner that we saw in the New York Times when we got back. The food was fabulous. The hotel is a 10 minute walk from St. Mark's square so very convenient and fun shopping along the way.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pam C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2014

Although the location is good I would not recommend this hotel.
Basic room with shoddy furniture. tiny bathroom, no fridge and no lift. (Our romm was on the 3rd floor) . Basic breakfast in a cramped dining room. Limited wi-fi. Not good value for money.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cjh252014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Hotel was very easy to find , we walked from our room was on the 4th floor , room 32,overlooking the square. had to climb 60 odd marble stairs, a problem if you have knee problems porter carried our luggage up to our rooms.. room was comfortable and a good size. reverse cycle heat pump in room was great. Bathroom adequate. accommodation in venice is very expensive.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cynthia K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Location of Hotel was great -just a short 10 min walk to Rialto bridge and St marks Square even closer. The staff were very pleasant and helpful. We stayed in Room 34 which was small and on the first floor with a window overlooking a side shopping alley. Obviously when our windows were open in the evening it was quite noisy but fine for sleeping as we had the air conditioning on. The bed was comfortable but the bathroom was in definite need of modernising.There was a shower over the bath but no shower curtain so every time we had a shower the water poured all over the floor!!

The breakfast we felt was poor-no fresh fruit whatsoever-just a jug of tinned fruit in syrup!! The fruit juices were overly sweet and we were served up the same jam tart each morning we were there(4 in total).

Having read some of the other reviews where the bathrooms were modern I can only conclude that as we booked a package with Jet2.com we were offered the worst room in the hotel.
Enjoyed Venice very much but will not stay at this hotel again.
There is free WiFi at the hotel altho we struggled at times with connections in our room-seemed ok downstairs at reception.

Room Tip: Book a room overlooking the square!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cheshire-Travellers5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
Castello
Hotel Canaletto
Hotel Canaletto
#113 of 385 in Venice
1,165 reviews
Castello
Hotel Palazzo Vitturi
Hotel Palazzo Vitturi
#33 of 385 in Venice
1,027 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Orion
Hotel Orion
#106 of 385 in Venice
833 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Castello
Hotel Casa Verardo - Residenza D'Epoca
Castello
Hotel Paganelli
Hotel Paganelli
#100 of 385 in Venice
940 reviews
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Hotel Tiziano
Hotel Tiziano
#64 of 385 in Venice
538 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Scandinavia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Scandinavia

Address: Campo Santa Maria Formosa, Castello 5240, 30100 Venice, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Castello
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#152 Romantic Hotel in Venice
Price Range: £27 - £220 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Scandinavia 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Lastminute, Expedia, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Scandinavia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scandinavia Hotel Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing