We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming hotel”
Review of Hotel Scandinavia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Scandinavia
Ranked #118 of 387 Hotels in Venice
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Starting our vacation in Italy, we started in Venice and stayed at Hotel Scandinavia. The front desk and breakfast staff were very pleasant & accomodating. The breakfast was good with adequate variety. Yes, we carried our own luggage up the stairs b/c theres no lift but i expected it since it was an older building. No worries/problem since i look it as a cardio benefit. The location of the hotel was very good; central to the sites and easy walking. Our windows faced the narrow street, but during the afternoon/early evening, we loved hearing the street noise of tourists down below. Loved sitting outside having a glass of wine in early evening, watching street life in the piazza: street musicians, kids playing soccer, people walking to/from work & home, tourists milling around. The room was adequate size as was the bathroom~ remember its an older building, and it was clean and safe(those were the 2 requirements i had when we chose this hotel). I would recommend this hotel .

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Jclouie2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (762)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

273 - 279 of 762 reviews

Reviewed 26 July 2014

The staff here was very friendly and helpful, 5 stars for that.

It was the rest of the hotel that discourages me from recommending this place. There is no elevator here, which isn't a deal breaker especially because they have porters who will help with luggage. The lobby has an odd milky smell to it, and our room (especially bathroom) smelled of urine. We stayed here 3 nights so by the end of it I dreaded coming back after a long day.

The room: the pillows were awful. Literally gave me headaches each night. This was actually the largest sized room we stayed in throughout Rome, Florence, and Venice, though. Two windows open up and gave us views of an alleyway and someone else's hotel room. I already mentioned the smell.

This is a good location in that it is a 5 minute walk to St. Mark's Square and the Rialto Bridge.

Room Tip: There are no elevators in this hotel, so try to get a room on the first floor! Porters are availabl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cassidy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2014

This hotel is old and gorgeous. Really charming. Staff very friendly and always have a smile. The breakfast room is small but your not in Venice to sit around for too long eating breakfast. Too many beautiful things to see. The placement of this hotel is perfect. Easy walking to anything. And what they say is very true. You must get lost in Venice. Well in actual fact, you don't really have a choice. My husband and I went with 2 other couples and we had the best time getting lost. The only advice I have is, wear comfy walking shoes. Be prepared to stop for a cold beer, wine or hot coffee every now and then and just go with the flow. Absolutely loved Venice and the Scandinavian Hotel. Oh and by the way, there is no lift so make sure you don't leave anything in your room. You will only make that mistake once.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank bubbalooee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2014

This hotel was great! staff were very helpful and really friendly, continental breakfast was good. Great location only a short walk from St Marks square. This hotel is a brilliant base to explore Venice from, would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RWCP1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2014

Good location within 10 minutes walk from St. Marcus Square. Rooms are adequate, breakfast the same. A good hotel for staying while exploring Venice.
Management was kind and very service-minded.
Internet connection was not satisfactory in our room, which was a pity since it in theory was provided.
Our room did not have a view of the square at which the hotel is located. Instead we had a view of a back alley, but I would not consider it a loss - then again a view of the square would have been a nice bonus.
All in all a hotel which gave us a good base for exploring the city.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank Jakob L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

This hotel was in an excellent location! Located between the Rialto Bridge and San Marco, so it was easy to get around. Room was a nice size for 4 people but no view. Bathroom was very large. Air condition worked great!! Drawbacks: no elevator and we were on the 4th floor (porter will carry your bags up)...and breakfast variety was limited. Lots of great restaurants and shopping close by...off the beaten path so you could really experience Venice. Overall it was a great place!

Room Tip: For a view, request a room that overlooks Piazza Santa Maria de la Formosa and a low floor, although...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Melissa L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

We stayed for 5 nights and it was really good. Staff very friendly and helpful. The hotel is in a great location, very easy to get to everything. Breakfast was good. When we were leaving the staff also helped take our luggage to the water taxi - which was a super help.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
Thank Hiphopfun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
Castello
Hotel Palazzo Vitturi
Hotel Palazzo Vitturi
#33 of 387 in Venice
1,050 reviews
Castello
Hotel Canaletto
Hotel Canaletto
#115 of 387 in Venice
1,173 reviews
Cannaregio
Hotel Al Mascaron Ridente
Hotel Al Mascaron Ridente
#46 of 387 in Venice
260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Hotel Tiziano
Hotel Tiziano
#58 of 387 in Venice
544 reviews
Castello
Hotel Paganelli
Hotel Paganelli
#102 of 387 in Venice
952 reviews
Santa Croce
Hotel Al Sole
Hotel Al Sole
#127 of 387 in Venice
951 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Scandinavia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Scandinavia

Address: Campo Santa Maria Formosa, Castello 5240, 30100 Venice, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Castello
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#152 Romantic Hotel in Venice
Price Range: £64 - £218 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Scandinavia 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , TravelUp, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Expedia, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Scandinavia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scandinavia Hotel Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing