We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Heaven on Earth”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Aman Canal Grande Venice Resort
Ranked #135 of 384 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Heaven on Earth”
Reviewed 14 March 2014

You have to like the style of the Aman .
If you are looking for a crowded bar , busy lobby - don't go to the Aman .
But ... If you enjoy spiritual luxury .. Please book the Aman !!
We stayed there during the Carnival week -all the city was packed with tourists.
When you enter the new Aman hotel - you step into a dream .
You feel you are the only guest at the hotel .. The stuff is so polite , they whisper with a smile and are ready to full fill any wish.
Our suites- one of the 3 particular rooms was one of the nicest we ever stayed in .
The Zen feeling , the colors , the 2 armchairs inside the bathroom the bathrobe- a dream .
The original fresco on the ceiling of the bedroom- all , a perfection !!
At our last evening we decided to dine at the hotel - they serve Thai and Italian food .. It was a rainy evening .. We had a super Thai dinner ..
No doubt - this is a total different level hotel - please go ,,and enjoy

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank princesTelAviv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    123
    9
    11
    5
    1
See reviews for
20
89
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2014

This was unequivocally one of the most memorable hotel stays imaginable. On this trip we also stayed at the Cipriani and loved its isolation and being able to swim in that classic pool straight out of the 60s. And while the Cip has world class staff and great F&B, the rooms don't warrant the tariff. Aman Canal Grande on the other hand is brand new (at least the renovation is) and comes with all the deep, historic character of Venice but adds a polished sheen of impeccable service, food and accommodation unmatched by anything else in this ravishing city. It truly was a flawless stay. From the highly visible GM, Ms Olivia Richli, through to every member of staff, both front and back of house, we felt so nurtured and cared for. There’s an intimacy that prevails at ACG which is utterly bespoke but never intrusive, like living with your own genie that grants any wish, any time. Anything that came out of the kitchen was so delicious it almost made you cry, same goes for the bar. A Vesper Martini in the garden at dusk overlooking the canal was one of those ‘pinch me’ moments. The spa also offered outstanding treatments in unique surroundings. But the real treat about this palazzo was the feeling you get wandering from exquisite room to exquisite room – the frescoes, the fittings, the lighting, the furniture, the books – you felt like it was all yours, and it was for three of the most blissful days of our lives. The downside of this of course is the heartache that follows when you have to leave, a genuine sense of loss. Heaven truly does exist and it’s in Venice on the Grand Canal.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Shangri La Hotels

Helpful?
3 Thank Seanno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
63 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2013

We've stayed at Amans around the world and they all have their invividual character. This new addition combines the flawless service with the opulent Palazzo Papadopoli, one of the most beautiful family-owned palazzos in Venice.

The rooms are understated and supremely comfortable with magnificent views of the Grand Canal. Staff are extremely efficient and helpful without a hint of pretention. The restaurant has a Venetian and Thai menu with wines from the Veneto and Papadopoli vinyards.

All this comes at a price, but let me say it is worth every euro!

Room Tip: The top floor suites with high ceilings and frescos have wide views and balconies overlooking the Ca...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Mkech
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Key West, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2013

This hotel is close to the rail station and in a more calming area than that of the larger hotels. The hotel is about 4 years old and it is perfect. Our room was overlooking the canal and very well done. Not overly large, but then not many hotels in Italy are. The staff couldn't be more accommodating. The boats to everything were a 2 minute walk. Lots of wonderful little cafes behind without going into the typical tourist areas. Breakfast was weak, but ample. I thought it was a great 4 star hotel. One of the most enjoyable things was to come back at the end of the day and sit on their little terrace on the water and mingle with the people in the hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Cory H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
37 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2013

I had an excellent weekend stay at the Aman Canal Grande and would strongly recommend it. Even though the hotel had been open less than three months, the great majority of services were seamless. A few things you might want to know that aren't as obvious from other reviews or from the web site:

1. The hotel is a 3 minute walk from the S. Silvestro vaporetto / water bus stop, so it's very conveniently located.

2. The gym is tiny: two treadmills, some free weights, a cable machine. All brand new.

3. The hotel does not have its own laundry, so everything is sent to an outside service.

4. Unlike many Amans, neither the minibar nor breakfast are included in the rate. I wish they were because the a la carte approach feels much more mainstream hotel-like. In the same vein, housekeepers don't seem to magically refresh the room when you step out, which is something I really like about most properties.

5. The dinner menu is 1/2 Italian, 1/2 Thai. Food was very solid.

6. Wifi is a bit on the slow side.

7. The public areas and the rooms are pretty spectacular: refurbished over-the-stop palazzo with spare, minimal furniture.

8. There are two beautiful gardens on property, one overlooking the canal where you can have lunch, and the other behind the palazzo.

Go check it out - it's an amazing place.

Room Tip: Request a room overlooking the canal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank TransConFlyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amman, Jordan
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2013

We stayed in many Amans before , we've been to Venice many times and tired all the big hotels from Cipriani to Bauer Palazzo. We were very excited about our stay at the new Aman.

Lobby and main dining areas are very impressive with old glamor mixed with modern furniture.
Other than 2 suites ,rest of the rooms are all very modern with no details.
Service at all level was bad with not well trained staff. When paying such high rates this isn't really acceptable.
Unfortunatelly Aman failed us this time... next visit to Venice we will stay in renovated Palazzo Giritti.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank dxb78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
31 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2013

We spent three days in this absolutely wonderful palace on the canale grande. Venice has always been a wonderful city but the lack of truly great hotels was seriously limiting the experience. Aman has just changed this. You come back to an absolute sanctuary of comfort and perfect service after a busy day and the magic of the palace and the staff make you feel like a princess / prince. Truly moving the Venice experience to a new level!!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank maxburger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
San Marco
The Gritti Palace, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Castello
Hotel Danieli, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Giudecca
Belmond Hotel Cipriani
Belmond Hotel Cipriani
#31 of 384 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 783 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
Palazzina G
Palazzina G
#160 of 384 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 340 reviews
San Polo
Hotel Palazzo Barbarigo Sul Canal Grande
San Marco
Bauer Palazzo
Bauer Palazzo
#70 of 384 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 870 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aman Canal Grande Venice Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aman Canal Grande Venice Resort

Property: Aman Canal Grande Venice Resort
Address: Calle Tiepolo Baiamonte, 1364 | Sestiere San Polo, 30125 Venice, Italy (Formerly Calle Tiepolo Baiamonte, 1364)
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #135 of 384 Hotels in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Aman Canal Grande Venice Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aman Venice, Italy Meandering in an s-shape through the heart of Venice, the Grand Canal is the city's main thoroughfare, lined with more than 170 gracious buildings. It is in one of these regal homes directly on the Grand Canal that Aman is housed. Palazzo Papadopoli was built in 1550 but now fuses the romance and history of Venice with the hospitality and service for which Aman is renowned. The resort offers 24 suites, some featuring protected frescos and views of the canal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., MrandMrsSmith and Evoline ltd so you can book your Aman Canal Grande Venice Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing