We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Like staying with family”
Review of Ca' Angeli

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ca' Angeli
Ranked #11 of 458 Venice B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Like staying with family”
Reviewed 16 April 2014

This was my second stay with Ca' Angeli, the last time in 2010. The hotel continues to be friendly, hospitable and clean. It is located close to everything without feeling overwhelmed. The staff is very professional and take a since interest in your stay. The rooms as always were very clean and decorated beautifully. Excellent value. Lastly, Ambra was like a friend and was readlily available for questions or just passing on some of her enthusiasm about Venice and Ca' Angeli. I have traveled all over the world and met many staff working at 3-5 star resorts and if any of them are looking for a management person, they would be smart to inquire about Ambra, she makes her employer look great! Thank you for another wonderful stay and my wife and four friends express their thanks too!

Room Tip: Book ahead of time and work out your route to the hotel if you are arriving late, book a water taxi.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

812 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    646
    135
    25
    4
    2
See reviews for
145
399
17
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2014

Would definitely recommend this hotel, location is great and staff are lovely.
Tips - print off the map from their website to find the hotel. if you get dropped off at Silvestro near Rialto bridge use the map and walk to the hotel, it's about 5 mins. Don't pay to take the water bus over the canal, it's only 1 stop and is expensive for 1 stop, cheaper to walk over Rialto bridge. We managed it with a large suitcase and 1 smaller one.
Do take mozzie repellent, 2 mozzies kept us awake 1 night and I got bitten badly - they love me!
Highlights were the breakfast room which overlooks the Grande Canal, open the windows and if you're lucky as we were you'll hear Gondoliers singing as they pass by the hotel.
The continental breakfast is the best I've ever had, huge choice and you get to make your own freshly squeezed orange juice.

Room Tip: For the first 2 days we were in room no 4 which is right next to reception although there is a door...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KDJ1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2014 via mobile

The old world charm of a palazzo enjoyed by us - mere tourists! It was fun to try to imagine life as a true Venetian of the upper class would live it! So appreciated fresh squeezed OJ, tasty croissants, andcappuccinos with other filling breakfast treats. Our room was smallish but clean and quiet. Very attentive and efficient staff who also provided tips on transportation and directions. Venice can be confusing. We kept reminding ourselves to embrace the adventure that accompanies getting lost while there. Hope this gem of a hotel is available during a future Venice holiday.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Laurie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte
Level 5 Contributor
94 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2014

I selected the hotel because they were able to accommodate a family of four in a "double room". The room has a queen bed and two twins/cot sized beds. It's a wonderful option for families who are tired of fighting the adjoining room battle in Europe. The inn is an old home on the grand canal. Th views are lovely and the breakfast is yummy. If anything could be improved its the air conditioning. Then again, you might as well get used to it. It's this way almost everywhere in Italy.

Room Tip: They have a room for 4. Great feature if traveling with children.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank goodeats00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lucca, Italy
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2014 via mobile

The hosts were pleasant, the room was large, the shower was good, but could have used more hot water. Yes, there was construction noise, but the location was great, and you can find construction noise anywhere in Italy at any time. Breakfast was very nice, and the dining room was lovely. Ask for espresso or a capuccino... the coffee in the pot wasn't very good.

Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank schafferde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 December 2013 via mobile

I had high hopes after reading all the positive reviews. The first thing I noticed is my room was right next to rooftop construction. After being jet-lagged and wanting to sleep your first afternoon here, it isn't possible with loud banging and drilling.

There are 2 things that bothered me, one more so than the next.

1) No food or drink in room. I have been staying I hotels for a quarter century in all parts of the world and have NEVER heard of this. Having type 1 diabetes, I need food and drink and was very put off by this. What is even worse is if I keep soda in the fridge, they will remove it if not part of the mini-bar! That is just ridiculous. It says right in the fridge they will remove any non-hotel items due to "hypoallergenic" nonsense.

Change this.

2) Hot water. There wasn't any. With it being around 0 C each morning of my stay, the water only ever got luke warm. There would be spurts of hot water; I found myself savoring those moments.

All in all, I might stay here again but would address both these issues with the staff before hand.

Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank Spencer A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CAANGELI, Proprietario at Ca' Angeli, responded to this review, 30 December 2013
First, we want to take the occasion to thank everyone who posted a review for us.
Your feedback is greatly appreciated in order to always try to improve our service.

In the matter of this last comment though, a couple of points we’d like to clarify, might be helpful for other persons in the future as well:
- Restoring works outside are wearing us out for more than a year and they don’t belong, in any way, to our Property but to the buildings next door, therefore we’re “victims” of this situations as our guests (For information they don’t work 24 hours a day but from morning time until 5 p.m. - weekends excluded) and we’re very sorry about that.

- We prefer and kindly ask guests not to bring food/beverages in the room for simple hygienic reasons and because in every room there are antique carpets/bedspreads which will cost the guest, making stains on them, an amount of about 200,00 Euros for their washing or dry cleaning.

- Our apologies for the lack of hot water. When asking to the reception, our staff always try to make the best in order to solve the problem as quick as possible.

It will be our pleasure, for a possible future visit, to respond to all your questions in advance (Usually, reserving directly through our website (caangeli.it) and not using intermediary agencies, you would have the chance of customizing your reservation based on your needs) in order to ensure you a great stay in our Property.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2013

After reading the countless positive reviews on tripadvisor, my partner decided to book this hotel for my birthday surprise and when we arrived i wasnt dissapointed. Its true the hotel is beautiful, right on the water and typical venezian style. We arrived early so couldnt check in so all day i was really looking forward to seeing the room. When the receptionist showed us to our room at first i thought it was the door to the cloakroom it was that close to the desk (room 4)...never the less, the room was beautiful as anticipated. Unfortunately though, it is right next to the main staircase and reception desk, so for the night i had to stick tissue in my ears just to sleep (even the dozen Spritz i'd had didnt soften the noise!) - it was so noisy both above our room and from the stairwell. By the time morning came i had hardly slept (the tissue was rubbish) and was woken at 6:30am by what sounded like someone searching for amhoover in a cupboard outside our door..but was just people coming up and down the stairs. To make matters worse, i went to have a shower and the water was luke warm so i was freezing.

I gave this hotel 4* because it really is beautiful and great location. The breakfast is lovely and staff attentive, it was just such a shame that we were given room No.4 which spoilt my birthday experience.

Room Tip: Ask not to stay in room 4.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank vgs34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
Santa Croce
Hotel Moresco
Hotel Moresco
#2 of 385 in Venice
1,886 reviews
Hotel Antiche Figure
#11 of 385 in Venice
3,637 reviews
San Polo
Hotel Palazzo Barbarigo Sul Canal Grande
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
NH Collection Venezia Palazzo Barocci
Hotel Canal Grande
#12 of 385 in Venice
2,007 reviews
Castello
Hotel Ai Cavalieri di Venezia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ca' Angeli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ca' Angeli

Property: Ca' Angeli
Address: Calle del Tragheto de la Madoneta San Polo 1434 | San Polo, 30125 Venice, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Polo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 458 B&Bs / Inns in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Ca' Angeli 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
During the last century, this house belonged to Angelo Scattolin, a famous Venetian architect, Chair in Architecture at the University of Venice, professor at the Academy of Fine Arts and Overseer of St. Mark's Church between the 1960s and 70s.In his house, he blended the classic Venetian styles with solutions which were already paving the way for modern architecture: respect for tradition and innovation are combined with a simple, rational style in the rooms and furnishings, reflecting the light and charm of Venice. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK) and Evoline ltd so you can book your Ca' Angeli reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ca` Angeli Hotel Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing