We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Locanda Ca' del Console
Ranked #159 of 468 Venice B&B and Inns
Mill Valley, California
Level Contributor
40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2013

We stayed here for three nights in July 2013 and could not have been happier. It made us feel like locals in Venice, close enough to all the sites as mentioned by previous reviews, but far enough away from the madding crowds.
The people working there went out of their way for us. We were a family of two adults and two teenagers and we had a lovely large room with canal view, and another relative stayed in a super room next door. It was really hot when we were there and the rooms had excellent air conditioning. Great bathrooms too, surprisingly large.
It is a charming property but if you are looking for a "normal" hotel experience this is not for you.
We loved the way that after you walked through the front entrance you saw the canal as you approached the stairs, but it may be too funky for some!
Would not hesitate to recommend Locanda Ca'del Console or Venice!

Room Tip: Do ask for the canal view, of course!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RhonC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

229 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    73
    104
    27
    9
    16
See reviews for
61
109
10
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2013

A small, clean, well fitted out and efficiently run b&b that is sufficiently off the tourist trail to offer good value for money. The rooms are large enough with a sense of privacy but still views over the canal and good air conditioning. Felt very secure throughout and the people who ran it were helpful throughout our stay. Breakfast wasn't amazing but good enough to get you going if you wanted a decent start to the day.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank izzyjones4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
palos verdes, ca
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2013

I must warn about the entrance to the building. But once you get to the apartment- it is lovely- furnishings, and maintenance, and a spirited take-charge housekeeper who speaks great English.
Since there were 4 of us, we got the large room. That was lucky, because it has 2 balconies from which you can watch (in shade) going ons below- boats on a canal, people crossing a small bridge. Romantic, I thought.
Breakfast, btw- nothing special, o.k.
We arrived early in the morning, so streets were not yet crowded, and walking from water bus was doable. (Hotel directions are not super clear.) However, during middle of the day making your way through crowds with luggage seemed daunting= we used a water taxi.

Room Tip: The quadruple, with the balconies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank iraddes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairfax, Virginia
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2013

Clean rooms, air conditioning (a rare find and a plus in Italy), friendly and informative staff, and great breakfast with croissants and delicious coffee. I would definitely come back! It was a romantic setting for a couples retreat.

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Katie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Market Harborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2013

The problem with holidays is they are sometimes near perfect, to try and recreate this feeling on a day to day basis is impossible and probably not advisable. Hotel Ca' del Console isn't perfect by any means, no swimming pool, small bathroom, just a small TV in the bedroom. But for everything else it was perfect for our 4 night stay in Venice. It is small, with a very homely Venetian style to it, the staff are all friendly and willing to talk to you in broken English and Italian, which is charming. The breakfast was good, perhaps adding a little fresh fruit might be a good idea, we had a room on the top floor again, the first time we had a canal view, this time we had a terrace in the rooftops. Sitting up there in the Venetian roofscape looking over the city with evening drinks and a few snacks was a lovely precursor to our evening meal and stroll down to St.Marks square. The hotel is situated slightly off the main tourist areas down a quiet alley, just over a bridge from a lovely large square which has four cafe/bars. Ideal for sitting out and taking in a more authentic view of Venetian life while you plan or review your day. Not as crowded as some of the other more tourist areas of the city and seems populated with more of the locals, you feel you can stroll, look in the local shops, buy a few interesting presents or stop every now and then in a cafe for lunch and coffee. We had a very excellent four days wandering about in the sunshine taking in the churches, squares, cafes, boats, canals, art, listening to the italians speaking etc, etc. It's just a pity I don't live here, still that's one of the reasons holidays are so nice, no worries, relaxing, no work, it was a great hotel for a perfect holiday! Highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank richardcarlpearson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicosia, Cyprus
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2013

Great location with a spacious apartment. Breakfast was spot-on and the service excellent. Thank you for a wonderful stay and holiday. 5 minute walk to Rialto, San Marco and Fondamente Nove where you can take boats to Murano, Burano and Torcello.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlkisCY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2013

Comfortable and welcoming. The main maid has outstanding service qualities. Hotel was easy to find based on instructions emailed by hotel. Location was great, close to all major sites while still quiet. Tasty coffee.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eva R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
Castello
Hotel Casa Verardo - Residenza D'Epoca
Castello
Hotel Bridge
Hotel Bridge
#250 of 386 in Venice
3.5 of 5 bubbles 208 reviews
Castello
Palazzo Contarini della Porta di Ferro
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
Ca' Leon D'Oro
Ca' Leon D'Oro
#48 of 468 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 259 reviews
San Marco
Locanda ai Bareteri
Locanda ai Bareteri
#20 of 468 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 572 reviews
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Fujiyama Bed & Breakfast
Fujiyama Bed & Breakfast
#88 of 468 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Locanda Ca' del Console? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Locanda Ca' del Console

Property: Locanda Ca' del Console
Address: Castello 6217 (calle Trevisan) - Castello 6240 (calle del Console), 30122 Venice, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Castello
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #159 of 468 B&Bs / Inns in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Locanda Ca' del Console 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), HostelWorld, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Locanda Ca' del Console reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Locanda Ca` Del Console Hotel Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing