We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly Recommended”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Locanda Ca' del Console
Ranked #140 of 474 Venice B&B and Inns
Reviewed 5 September 2013

We have just returned from a lovely stay at the Locanda Ca' del Console. Having worked in the travel industry for almost 20 years, I know a good hotel when I see one and the Locanda Ca' del Console is a great, small and friendly hotel. The service was excellent, especially that given by Ms. Donia, the breakfast was simple but tasty and the rooms were clean. We felt like we were in a beautifully decorated, comfortable, private home rather than a hotel, yet we were so close to the main attractions of Venice. Definitely recommended.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 213adele
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (241)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

53 - 59 of 241 reviews

Reviewed 25 August 2013

We booked this hotel ( but it seems more like a home) on line, looking thru review of trip advisor. It was exactly as written about, everything positive. Very warm, helpful staff, beautiful views. Ours was overlooking the courtyard, but even that was fine. The best croissants I had in Italy, while traveling for a month. Breakfast is served family style, or in your room.
I should mention, due to reserving on line, we had no direct contact with the hotel for directions. Yes, it was on the map, but Venice is not an easy town to navigate, even with a map! There are two addresses, use the one listed on C. Trevisana. If you are searching for the hotel, start by looking for Campo Santa Maria Formosa, the large square by that name. There are quite a few signs directing you around the city to it. Once found, then look for the "street" C. Lunga Santa Maria Formosa. C. Trevisana is a walkway off of the "street". Go all the way to the end, just before the canal, you will see a marker, Locanda Ca del Console. You have to ring the bell to get in. ( before you get your keys). Once inside the door, you again, have many choices! Walk straight ahead, going thru a covered gondola entrance ( very cute) then, up the stairs to the first floor, where your hosts will greet you. The first time can be trying, but hey, it's an adventure! Once you find it the first time, you will have no problem getting back! Having been to Venice once before, I parked my husband with the luggage, until I found it, then went back, and took him a much more direct route. He appreciated it.

Stayed: July 2013
2  Thank eeeVirginIslands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2013

The Locanda is tucked away in a quiet alley, facing a small canal, far away from the crowds and constant noise of Venice, but just a 5 min-walk from the San Marco and Rialto (vaporetto) stops - The location is great, as all directions are easily accessible.
The experience there resembles more that of staying with tasteful and discreet relatives, in their lovingly decorated guest rooms. There is a common breakfast area (a sort of living room) and very courteous staff. The room I stayed in was large with high ceilings and impeccably clean. It feels like a sanctuary and definitely provides a feel of genuine Venetian living.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TransatlanticFemme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2013

The rooms here are small but well-organized and have everything you might need. The decor is antiquated but tasteful. The reason I would recommend this hotel however is the friendly and helpful staff. We weren't able to speak Italian and our hosts were very accommodating - providing maps of the city, assistance with our TV, and a warm smile every time our paths crossed :) The breakfast was small, continental style, but in the heat of the summer in Venice, it was more than enough. Definitely try their blood orange and grapefruit juices! They were delectable.

Room Tip: We had a room facing the courtyard and it was nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2013

We stayed here for three nights in July 2013 and could not have been happier. It made us feel like locals in Venice, close enough to all the sites as mentioned by previous reviews, but far enough away from the madding crowds.
The people working there went out of their way for us. We were a family of two adults and two teenagers and we had a lovely large room with canal view, and another relative stayed in a super room next door. It was really hot when we were there and the rooms had excellent air conditioning. Great bathrooms too, surprisingly large.
It is a charming property but if you are looking for a "normal" hotel experience this is not for you.
We loved the way that after you walked through the front entrance you saw the canal as you approached the stairs, but it may be too funky for some!
Would not hesitate to recommend Locanda Ca'del Console or Venice!

Room Tip: Do ask for the canal view, of course!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RhonC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2013

A small, clean, well fitted out and efficiently run b&b that is sufficiently off the tourist trail to offer good value for money. The rooms are large enough with a sense of privacy but still views over the canal and good air conditioning. Felt very secure throughout and the people who ran it were helpful throughout our stay. Breakfast wasn't amazing but good enough to get you going if you wanted a decent start to the day.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank izzyjones4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2013

I must warn about the entrance to the building. But once you get to the apartment- it is lovely- furnishings, and maintenance, and a spirited take-charge housekeeper who speaks great English.
Since there were 4 of us, we got the large room. That was lucky, because it has 2 balconies from which you can watch (in shade) going ons below- boats on a canal, people crossing a small bridge. Romantic, I thought.
Breakfast, btw- nothing special, o.k.
We arrived early in the morning, so streets were not yet crowded, and walking from water bus was doable. (Hotel directions are not super clear.) However, during middle of the day making your way through crowds with luggage seemed daunting= we used a water taxi.

Room Tip: The quadruple, with the balconies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank iraddes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
Cannaregio
Casa Pisani Canal
Casa Pisani Canal
#258 of 385 in Venice
130 reviews
San Marco
Locanda ai Bareteri
Locanda ai Bareteri
#31 of 474 in Venice
600 reviews
Castello
La Porta D'Oriente B&B
La Porta D'Oriente B&B
#105 of 474 in Venice
88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Castello
Locanda La Corte
Locanda La Corte
#29 of 474 in Venice
969 reviews
Castello
Veneziacentopercento Rooms & Apartments
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Palazzo Guardi
Palazzo Guardi
#107 of 474 in Venice
572 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Locanda Ca' del Console? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Locanda Ca' del Console

Address: Castello 6217 - Castello 6240, 30122 Venice, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Castello
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #140 of 474 B&Bs / Inns in Venice
Price Range: £88 - £203 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Locanda Ca' del Console 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Locanda Ca' del Console reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Locanda Ca` Del Console Hotel Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing