We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”
Review of Antica Casa Coppo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Antica Casa Coppo
Ranked #217 of 458 Venice B&B and Inns
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great location”
Reviewed 24 August 2014 via mobile

This hotel was in a great location. A few minutes walk to the Rialto Bridge and not too far from the main square as well. Decent size room which was clean and tidy, more than enough room for two people.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dockers149
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
_ACC_Venice, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Antica Casa Coppo, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Dear Dockers,

thank you for your excellent review, we are very pleased that you had a great stay with us and hope therefore we would have the chance to welcome you back soon to Venice and to Antica Casa Coppo.
All the best
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

234 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    58
    107
    30
    16
    23
See reviews for
41
146
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Coventry UK
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2014 via mobile

The hotel is not the easiest place to find, but that's the case with many places in the maze of streets which make up Venice. Once you do get your bearings you'll find it ideally situated between St Marks Square and the Rialto Bridge. The hotel is nice and quiet and our room was basic but clean and comfortable and had everything we needed. Breakfast is normally only available from 8.30 but was still offered to us as an exception when we had to leave earlier than that to get to the airport. As others have mentioned on here, Claudia on reception is very helpful and goes the extra mile to help guests which is a real plus point for the hotel. Would definitely recommend this as a place to stay.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank celticstorm73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
_ACC_Venice, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Antica Casa Coppo, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Dear Celticsto,

thank you for the preference accorded to Antica Casa Coppo and for your precious time spent in sharing your experience here.
Your special mention to our staff was particularly appreciated and we are glad to know that they succeed in making your stay a comfortable one.
As always I would remark to fellow travellers reading your review that it is better to contact us in order to get specific information to reach the hotel, since, as you pointed out, Venice is probably one of the best place to get lost and we want definitely to avoid to our Guests to wander around with their luggages!!!
We hope to welcome you back soon to Antica Casa Coppo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2014 via mobile

Short walk to San Marco, restaurants and Rialto water bus stop.
Nice hotel with small rooms and good European breakfast. Nice staff. Decently priced.
There were 5 of us (wife, 3 kids and me) so we had 2 rooms. 3 person room was large, but 2 person was a little small, but did the job.
Would stay again.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank DanforTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
_ACC_Venice, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Antica Casa Coppo, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Dear DanforTravel,

thank you for having stayed with us and for having share your opinion in this forum.
We are happy to know that we were able to satisfy your general expectations and that you had a pleasant stay with us.
We hope therefore we could welcome you back soon
We wish you and your family all the best
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leuven, Belgium
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014

I will give points on things I find important:

- Location: 8/10 It's a great location. It's a 5 minute walk to San Marco, and not more than 5 minutes from the rialto stop, where the waterbus stops. We also got a detailed explanation on how to walk to the hotel, through mail, which was a big help!

- Room: 5/10 We had the junior suite, which was big enough, except for the tiny bathroom. My boyfriend had to lower his head a bit using it. Also, there's a window in the roof which looks out on the toilet and the bath, so when you're taking a bath or sitting on the toilet, you're scared that people in the rooms above can see you. So the room was nice but the bathroom ruined it a bit. Also the airco works great but when you're lying in the bed, you feel a really cold breese. So I turned it off, but then I woke up from the heat. Last, for a junior suite, I expected tea or coffee making facilities.

- Hygiene: 8/10 Clean enough.

- Breakfast: 6/10 It's simple but ok. A bit late though. We like to get up early, but breakfast isn't served until 08.30 am, which is a bit late for us. Around 07.30 am or 08.00 am would be much better.

- Hospitality: 9/10 Very friendly staff!


All in all I was happy staying here. Price/quality-wise it's a good deal.
Average score (adding up the previous ones): 7,6/10

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lieke M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
_ACC_Venice, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Antica Casa Coppo, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Dear Lieke,

it was a pleasure to have you as our Guest at the Antica Casa Coppo and we would like to thank you for the precious time taken to review your experience with us.

Unfortunately it is not possible for historical building as our is in Venice to provide the rooms with some electrical supplies like tea/coffee making or ironing facilities. It is anyway possible to get coffee or tea from our bar, we hope this could make up for the discomfort of not having such facilities available in the rooms.

As for the time of breakfast, it has been varied in the time with an eye to our Guest's preferences, it started at 7:00 in the past, but then the affluence before 09:00 was really weak to non-existant and to avoid to compromise some items by letting them lay on open-air too long we gradually moved the open time to a later one, maybe it is time for a new check!

We hope we could welcome you back soon
All the best
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Queens, NY
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

My family of 6 stayed in 2 rooms at this hotel. It's a little off the beaten path so we rented a private boat to take us down the nearest canal so we would not have to walk from the Rialto Bridge. There is no elevator but we were on the second floor. The rooms were nice and clean. The breakfast was very good with quite a few choices. The staff was extremely nice, courteous and helpful. Would definitely stay again on our next trip.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank queens45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
_ACC_Venice, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Antica Casa Coppo, responded to this review, 27 July 2014
Dear Queens45,

thank you and your family for having chosen Antica Casa Coppo as your base to visit Venice.
Your stay with us was apparently really satisfactory and we are happy to know we hit the spot with you, since this is our final aim.
It has been a pleasure to have you as our Guests and we hope you could come back soon to Venice.
We wish you all the best
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2014

The place is located in a quiet narrow street, yet very close to San Marco, Rialto, Teatro Fenice, Goldoni Museum, which made it possible to enjoy the vibrant life and visit all major landmarks and to sleep well. The room had a nice touch of Venetian ambiance, yet with all modern amenities, well-kept and tidy. There was no lift, but I didn't expect one in the historical building.
The staff was really helpful and friendly. The breakfast room is a bit small, but still nice. When we asked for tea in the afternoon, we were given room-service without problem.
P.S. It was really nice to receive Christmas greetings from the hotel administration a few months later.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Octarmax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
_ACC_Venice, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Antica Casa Coppo, responded to this review, 5 July 2014
Dear Octarmax,
it is very rewarding that you still had such good memories of your stay in Venice and at Antica Casa Coppo and we would like to thank you for the time spent to share your impressions on this platform.
We would like to thank you as well for having underlined specific aspects of our hotel, like the privileged location or the service our staff is so gratefull to provide to our Guests.
We hope we could welcome you back to Antica casa Coppo in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luzon, Philippines
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2014

Though this house turned into hotel is near St. Mark's Square, it was very hard to look for its location. My husband and I crossed countless bridges and passed through narrow pathways while pulling our luggages looking for this hotel. No elevators, no room service, no fancy restaurant. Breakfast room is almost of the same size as our hotel room. Worst of all, when we checked out, the receptionist was so rude to us. It's really hard to communicate with someone who does not speak English, like her. When we were trying to clarify something about our prepayment, she grabbed my husband's credit card and swiped it right away. I think this hotel should be burned down.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jeanette A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
_ACC_Venice, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Antica Casa Coppo, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Dear Jeanette,

even if your personal details (Jeanette from Filippines) could barely correspond only to a single visitor who have stayed with us in the month of August 2013 thanking us by e-mail for the pleasant stay after deparure, and your review is not particularly detailed to give us at least a sketchy idea about your experience with us, we decided to believe that you were an effective Guest at our property to at least take the opportunity to give some suggestion to our future Guests through your review.
We are really sorry that you didn't trust our detailed instruction to reach our property: we try to send them to all of our Guests and they indeed normally thank us for this, because otherwise Venice is a truly maze and you would of course get lost if you don't know how to reach your destination. We have also two telephone numbers where our Guests could reach us should they change their plans or miss some of the described points, so it is very sad that you decided to do by yourself and later blamed us for this. So first suggestion: PLEASE, CONTACT US TO GET INFORMATION TO REACH THE HOTEL OR READ THE E-MAIL WE SEND TO YOU.
Of course we speak english, as well as other foreign languages (as you could certainly see from the responses to the other reviews on this forum), our mother tongues remaining italian, brazilian and romanian, so we are perfectly aware that we could not be at the same level of some of our Guests but we always try to improve our skills, so thanks to have taken this to our attention.
No elevator: it is true, we always confirmed this and never said the opposite, so it is not really clear why should you have expected an elevator at our property and how the lack of it could have disappointed you. So second suggestion: THERE'S NO ELEVATOR, ask for a room on the ground floor if you cannot climb stairs; anyway our property arrives only to the second floor.
No room service, no fancy restaurant: we are a three star property with no restaurant, so again we don't understand why the lack of services you didn't looked for while booking could have disappointed you during your stay. It is anyway possible to require breakfast or hot beverages to be taken to your room. Third suggestion: THERE'S NO RESTAURANT INSIDE THE PROPERTY, but an assortment of restaurants is available without walking too much.
Breakfast room it is as shown in the photos on the web, so again something that you should have expected if you had really booked our hotel.
I would like to add that in case of prepaid rate we don't ask any credit card as guarantee, so there's should be a misunderstanding in you booking a prepaid rate and then handing a credit card at check-out, at least not in our hotel.

Dear Jeanette, we would like to know something more about your experience at our hotel if you would be so kind to reach us by mail, or more probably we would like to really welcome you at the Antica Casa Coppo, at least before it would be burned down!

Our last suggestion to all of our future Guests: to have unpleased Guests is something that could happen to every property but we do our best to avoid it in your own interest, please see our photos on-line, read the description of the hotel, read carefully which services are included to avoid disappointments and contact us every time you have a doubt. We run a small property so have enough time and pleasure to assist you! Thank you for your kind attention
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Venice hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
San Marco
Hotel Anastasia
Hotel Anastasia
#146 of 385 in Venice
448 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Casa Petrarca
Hotel Casa Petrarca
#132 of 385 in Venice
433 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Lisbona
Hotel Lisbona
#180 of 385 in Venice
470 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
Hotel Gorizia A La Valigia
Hotel Gorizia A La Valigia
#142 of 385 in Venice
781 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Mercurio Venezia
Hotel Mercurio Venezia
#112 of 385 in Venice
818 reviews
San Marco
Centauro Hotel
Centauro Hotel
#120 of 385 in Venice
767 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Antica Casa Coppo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Antica Casa Coppo

Property: Antica Casa Coppo
Address: San Marco, 4320, 30124 Venice, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Marco
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #217 of 458 B&Bs / Inns in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Antica Casa Coppo 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Antica Casa Coppo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Antica Casa Coppo Hotel Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing