We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Second time, still not a charm...”
Review of Bauer Palazzo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Bauer Palazzo
Ranked #69 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
newport coast
Level Contributor
62 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Second time, still not a charm...”
Reviewed 3 October 2013

This was my second visit to the Bauer Il Pallazo, and interestingly enough, I had basically the same room, only 2 floors up. The one thing that I absolutely love love love is their breakfast buffet service on the rooftop. It is delicious and has the most awesome view of the Grand Canal. The service there is a hundred times better than the service anywhere else in the hotel. On my first visit, I thought that maybe it was just the Venetian attitude that was borderline rude, but now that I have been to Venice twice, I realize that it is really the Bauer that has generally a rude front desk staff and the Canal-front restaurant has an extremely rude staff as well. The location is breathtaking, but if you enjoy being treated like a second-class citizen, don't bother...

Room Tip: My friends had a room that was in the corridor connecting the old part to the newer part which faced...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cydsworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BauerHotels, Direttore at Bauer Palazzo, responded to this review, 14 January 2017
Dear Guest,
thank you for your extensive feedback on your stay at Bauer Palazzo
We highly appreciated your comments and the entire Team is delighted to know that the experience was up to your expectation.
We really look forward to welcome you back, please do not hesitate to contact us for any futher information.

Best Regards

Stefano Noviello
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

893 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    603
    184
    62
    23
    21
See reviews for
166
548
14
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (173)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Wilsden, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2013 via mobile

Although we had intended to go somewhere completely different for my nasty landmark birthday, I saw the reviews and photos for Il Palazzo, the 'only one left' note flashing beside the deluxe suite, abandoned all reason and hit the 'book now' button.

All I can say is well done me!

We chose to arrive the economy way, which involved a two minute walk from S. Marco water bus stop to a tiny, unobtrusive door which we only noticed because of the rectangle of red carpet! For 110€ one can get a water taxi from the airport to the front entrance, fantastic but that's several bottles of Prosecco on the terrace. We did go back that way, though.

I'd noticed that some reviewers weren't keen on the sheets. With this in mind I approached the bed in our beautiful suite with some interest. Linen may not be as soft, initially, as cotton, but it's infinitely superior when it comes to keeping one cool in the night. I would prefer a slightly narrower double bed, rather than two singles made up separately and pushed together. It slightly takes the shine off the romantic break when you're separated by two clumps of bed linen and a potential sharp drop towards the carpet!

I'm afraid that's as judgemental as I can be. The staff were charming and infinitely helpful. Breakfast on the roof terrace could be dragged out until 11am or so with coffee and, yes Prosecco! The restaurant was lovely, as were the waiters - when a table closer to the water became available before we'd been served they offered to move us across. Okay, it wasn't cheap but we don't do this very often. Our room - 253 - had three tall windows looking over the water; we couldn't see Santa Maria della Salute but that's what the terrace is for. We could, however, hear the gondole setting off and returning with their cargoes of tourists who had stumped up the extra for an on-board singer.

There will always be people who want to moan about trivia but we utterly loved our few days at Il Palazzo and are already planning to return for the next scary landmark birthday!

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Caroline W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BauerHotels, Manager at Bauer Palazzo, responded to this review, 9 October 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback on TripAdvisor.
It was very gracious of you to compliment our facilities, staff and service at IL PALAZZO. Please rest assured that your applause have been passed on to our Team Members
We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back at IL PALAZZO in the years to come!
Yours sincerely,
Pietro Rusconi
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2013

This hotel was fabulous very welcoming, the room we had was very clean. the bed and bedding was excellent and I'm very fussy. The pillows were a little rubbish but a phone call to housekeeping and extra better pillows were provided. The hotel is centrally located for all the sites of Venice. Visit Murano and Burano where I tasted the best pizza I have ever had. Two small downsides to the hotel are the restaurant which was way over priced, the food very average and the service was diabolical. After that we asked the concierge for a good restaurants and he didn't disappoint. Al Forno was very good for traditional Italian. Also for a 5* hotel you should get complimentary water every day not just the day you arrive. Make sure you book the personal water taxi from the airport it is so worth the extra euros. Overall I really enjoyed the hotel and would definitely return there.

Room Tip: The room we had was on the side and was noisy from about 6am every morning - however we had a busy i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GoGetterGolfers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BauerHotels, Manager at Bauer Palazzo, responded to this review, 9 October 2013
Dear Guest

We appreciate your comments regarding your stay at Bauer Il Palazzo. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback but also constructive comments which can help us improve our service.

We hope to have the pleasure of your return visit in the near future. Should this be the case please do not hesitate to contact me directly as I would be delighted to personally make arrangements that would assure an entirely satisfactory stay.

Yours very sincerely

Pietro Rusconi
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2013

Excellent location for a hotel right on the Grand Canal overlooking the lagoon as well as near Piazza San Marco. Starting the day on the 7th floor terrace for breakfast was wonderful. Panoramic view while eating delicious food! Staff at the hotel were most gracious at all times: starting with the front desk, dining staff for all meals, room staff. Antique furnishings in the large rooms, comfortable bedding, well-appointed bathrooms, bottled water in the rooms.....what more can you ask for to help you enjoy and explore a magical city like Venice. Stayed for six days enjoying meals on the terraces. View out of room was limited but other spaces in the hotel made up for it! Expensive but well-worth it.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patricia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BauerHotels, Direttore at Bauer Palazzo, responded to this review, 14 January 2017
Dear Guest,
thank you for your extensive feedback on your stay at Bauer Palazzo
We highly appreciated your comments and the entire Team is delighted to know that the experience was up to your expectation.
We really look forward to welcome you back, please do not hesitate to contact us for any futher information.

Best Regards

Stefano Noviello
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lafayette, Louisiana
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2013

Our stay was nice. Lobby beautiful. Breakfast well done lunch at restaurant very good. Back deck area nice view Location good the desk staff were helpful, caring and spoke English well room was quiet . Poor window view but we did not stay in room much

Room Tip: We were in 464 it was fine but window view was very limited of building next door
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dianne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BauerHotels, Direttore at Bauer Palazzo, responded to this review, 3 October 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for leaving such a raving review of your stay.
I am both grateful and pleased for your remarks and look forward to your return visit.
Yours very sincerely
Pietro Rusconi
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norfolk, Virginia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2013

The view from our room is exactly as shown in Trip Advisors photo only better. Quite Expensive, but truly up to par. We stayed 3 nights on a post cruise returning home September 15,2013. Would stay again if we get to go back.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 87lovetotravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BauerHotels, Direttore at Bauer Palazzo, responded to this review, 14 January 2017
Dear Guest,
thank you for your extensive feedback on your stay at Bauer Palazzo
We highly appreciated your comments and the entire Team is delighted to know that the experience was up to your expectation.
We really look forward to welcome you back, please do not hesitate to contact us for any futher information.

Best Regards

Stefano Noviello
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malvern, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
150 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2013

My wife had a special birthday due in September, so we deided to celebrate in Venice. We choose the Bauer il Palazzo, near San Marco Square. From the outside it does not give you the impression of a five star hotel, but once you walk through the door, that changes. Marble floors and very expensive furniture soon tells you why this hotel is rated so high.
The Hotel has two sections, the very old section and a newer section. Staff at the first check in were very helpful and guided us to reception in the older part. The rooms in the older section look over the Grand Canal and are a little more expensive. If you decide to stay at this Hotel, go for the views in the older section. Just looking over the Grand Canal, with all the activities going on, was a delight. Running by the Hotel is a narrow canal, where all the Gondalas work there way through.

It was great just watching and listening to the Gondaliers singing.

The staff dressed in formal uniform on reception, were friendly and very efficient. Our first bonus came when we were told that they had upgraded our room and the hotel was full.
Room 252 was presented to us, which was terrific. The lounge looked over the Grand Canal and had a small balcony. Bedroom was a good size and the bathroom was fairly large, all in cream marble. Bed linen was of the highest Egyptian cotton. At the night turn down service, all used towels were changed.

The second bonus came on the second day. As it was my wife's birthday, and being a good husband, I presented her with a birthday card, when she woke up. The card was opened and placed on a bedside table. When we arrived back in the bedroom late afternoon, there was a bottle of champagne on ice waiting for us. The maid had obviously clocked my wife's birthday card and informed the management. What a nice gesture that was.

We did not eat dinner at the hotel, as we rather enjoy the atmosphere in the local restaurants, but the breakfasts on the top terrace were brilliant. Choice for everyone's taste. The staff were always smiling and helpful, especially Lucia, now she had a good sense of humour. The coffee was the best I had ever tasted.

If you are going for a few days, try and miss the weekend as the room rate is nearly double. It is an expensive hotel but seeing it was a special treat it was well worth the experience. Yes we would stay here again.
Graham S
Malvern UK

Room Tip: Go for room 252 or 253
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stozzer1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BauerHotels, Manager at Bauer Palazzo, responded to this review, 25 September 2013
Dear Mr and Mrs Malvern,
We would like to thank you for taking the time to let us have your impressions of your visit. In particular, we thank you for your positive remarks and for sharing them.
We look forward to your continued patronage of BAUER HOTELs.
Yours sincerely
Pietro Rusconi
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
San Marco
Bauer Hotel
Bauer Hotel
#74 of 385 in Venice
1,532 reviews
San Marco
Baglioni Hotel Luna
Baglioni Hotel Luna
#49 of 385 in Venice
1,563 reviews
Castello
Hotel Danieli, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
The Westin Europa & Regina, Venice
Castello
Metropole Hotel
Metropole Hotel
#52 of 385 in Venice
1,224 reviews
San Marco
The Gritti Palace, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bauer Palazzo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bauer Palazzo

Property: Bauer Palazzo
Address: San Marco 1459, 30124 Venice, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Marco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Venice
#47 Romantic Hotel in Venice
#47 Luxury Hotel in Venice
#66 Family Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Bauer Palazzo 5*
Number of rooms: 191
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bauer Il Palazzo is one of Venice's most luxurious hotel. It is an authentic 18th century palazzo with the most spectacular vantage point in Venice - close to St Mark's Square, facing the Grand Canal and overlooking St Mark's basin. The 82 luxurious rooms including 38 suites, many with balconies or terraces, have been recently restored with the finest fabrics, gilt mirrors, carved stucco ceilings and Murano glass chandeliers. Located on the top floors of the historic palace guests have the option of staying in one of Bauer Il Palazzo's re-designed rooms or executive suites. The interior design concept of the guest accommodations on the 6th & 7th & 8th floors is quite distinct; each room is decorated in a unique sleek style, with comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Travel Republic (UK), Lastminute, Agoda, Ctrip TA, TravelUp, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Bauer Palazzo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bauer Il Palazzo Venice
Bauer Il Palazzo Hotel Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing