We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet neighborhood in old Venice”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Palazzo Contarini della Porta di Ferro
Ranked #150 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Woodbridge, VA
Level Contributor
40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Quiet neighborhood in old Venice”
Reviewed 26 September 2012 via mobile

We met friends from England in Venice and we stayed in a 3 bedroom apartment at Palazzo Contarini. We loved every minute! Our rooms were spacious and very clean, we had a kitchen and sitting room so we had a chance to visit privately instead of spending our time together in restaurants and hotel lobbies. We shopped at the local market and "fruttivendolo" (farmers market) just outside the front doors. We splurged on a water taxi from the airport to take us to the building, we were dropped off at a door right on the canal - very cool. Also, after a trying afternoon when we were kind of, um, lost, we called the reception number for guidance and Silvia was wonderful, she found out where we were, gave us directions, and waited for us on a bridge nearby. Wonderful place, wonderful staff!

Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Antietam788
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

226 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    134
    73
    7
    8
    4
See reviews for
62
103
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2012

We had a two bedroom apartment here and it was just right for our short break to Venice. The apartment was clean, cool and spacious with everything we needed. Really comfy bedrooms and clean bathrooms. It's set in a quiet area but with everything you need close at hand. We bought fresh bread, fruit and sliced meats for breakfast literally just outside the entrance. We liked being near the North side and it's a short walk to the water bus. We also walked all over from here and enjoyed the atmosphere. On the Saturday of our stay there was a wedding at the Palazzo and we sat in the apartment listening to a jazz trio whilst enjoying a glass of wine before going out for the evening...perfect. We also treated ourselves to a water taxi from here to the airport - highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LeedsRupert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roanoke, Virginia
Level Contributor
56 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2012

We had a three bedroom unit in this delightful "palace". It is a very spacious apartment and the beds are very comfortable. It is a welcome quiet place away from the main, very busy, section of Venice. It is still close to many things but it let's you experience living in a neighborhood environment in Venice. There are restaurants nearby, as well as grocery marts. It has a small kitchen which is conveniently stocked with essentials except for dish towels. A minor inconvenience which I solved by using a hand towel from the bathroom. There is a charming courtyard with seating which is very nice for relaxing after a long day of walking. Words cannot even describe how charming this place is. If you want a true Venetian experience, you must try this place. Monica gave us some good ideas for restaurants and called us a water taxi on our departing day. She speaks good English and is very easy to work with. I have to mention at least one restaurant which we felt had exceptional service and food. It was Osteria ae Spezie. A short stroll from here and well worth trying.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 144lori
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
antwerp
Level Contributor
186 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2012

A wonderful palazzo in a quit area! At walking distance from San Marco and other nice places. Good little restaurants nearby.Very nice and helpful people, they are very kind to give advise and tips. Very spacious room with seperate sitting room and big comfortable bathroom with jacuzzi that can do well after a trying day in the city. Shortly we would go back whenever we go back toVenice.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nadinekebloem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saskatchewan
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2011

We stayed at the Palazzo Contarini della Porta di Ferro by accident, when the budget hotel we had booked ran into problems and arranged for a transfer. To our surprise, we found ourselves installed in a spacious suite, with a full kitchen, a rooftop balcony and a view overlooking the city. Outside the heavy double doors of the hotel lay a narrow, cobbled street with a wine seller, produce stand, butcher shop and a grocery store, among other amenities. It was almost possible to believe that we had been transformed into residents of Venice. Lanes led away in various directions to sightseeing attractions and to the Venice Bienalle. The owner was gracious and so hospitable that, on our last morning, she got up very early to make sure that the water taxi came for us. Bravissimo! Grazie!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Florence57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Irvine, CA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2007

I can't say how much we enjoyed our 4-day stay at the Palazzo. The Palazzo exudes old gothic Venice, and the neighborhood is so charmingly local Venice and far far from the crowds.

We stayed in the Sant'Angelo Room with a vaulted ceiling, terrazo floor and period furnishings, and with 2 balconies overlooking the San Francesco della Vigna Campanille and the canal nearby.

All the staff (Cristina, Valentina, Ivan, Enrico) are impeccably professional. They accommodated our crazy arrival-departure schedules and our demanding dinner reservation requests so winningly.

While it is not San Marco-central, we rather preferred coming "home" to the peace and quiet that this location offered, after spending a day inevitably milling about with the crowd. Yet, it is really only about a 10-15 minute leisurely walk away to major city attractions (Piazza, Rialto, San Polo etc.). Its location is especially convenient for Biennale venues (Arsenale is only about 5-10 minutes away and Giardini just a bit more.)

I highly recommend this lovely jewel of a guesthouse in the heart of old Venice.

  • Liked — Charming location, beautiful old Venetian feel of the Palazzo
  • Stayed November 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Irvine_CASchatzi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
US
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2007

This is a great place to stay if you have been to Venice a few times and want to feel like you live there.
If you have never been before and want to see all the sites, you will be doing a lot of walking from this palazzo. It really is a bit out of the way of most of the tourist sites. Again, that might be a good thing...
Now, to the palazzo itself...the common areas are amazing. The room itself was not. We stayed in the la Grazia suite which needed plaster and paint. The 1970's era kitchen was a bit tired and not adequately appointed. When you turned on the lights with the dropped ceiling, you saw all the bugs and debris that fell from the original ceiling. This situation exists in the dropped ceiling between the two bedrooms. Needless to say, we left these lights off.

The bathroom was nice and modern, but here too they had holes or gaps around the fixtures that made you wonder what was inside the walls. They could have fixed this with a few minutes of spackle and some paint...but they didn't.

The staff was first rate and informative. No problems here.

This could be a real nice 4 or 5 star place with just a little bit of work. I hope the owners read this and address these problems.

Now, we love modern furniture. But it just doesn't look right in this type of room. They should get rid of the silly modern table and chairs and put in some reproduction guest friendly pieces that look like they belong.

PS. They also promised me a welcome basket upon my arrival. It never came.

There is a market across the street and several a short walk away so that is nice too.

  • Liked — Beautiful common areas
  • Disliked — Room condition and maintenance
  • Stayed June 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank accaol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
Castello
A Tribute To Music
A Tribute To Music
#84 of 385 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 662 reviews
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Locanda Ca' Zose
Locanda Ca' Zose
#153 of 385 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 632 reviews
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Hotel Tiziano
Hotel Tiziano
#72 of 385 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 479 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Castello
Hotel alla Fava
Hotel alla Fava
#102 of 385 in Venice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 569 reviews
Castello
Nuovo Teson
Nuovo Teson
#134 of 385 in Venice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 412 reviews
Santa Croce
Residence Palazzo Odoni
Residence Palazzo Odoni
#106 of 385 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 431 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palazzo Contarini della Porta di Ferro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palazzo Contarini della Porta di Ferro

Property: Palazzo Contarini della Porta di Ferro
Address: Castello 2926, 30122 Venice, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Castello
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service
Hotel Style:
#73 Family Hotel in Venice
#100 Romantic Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Palazzo Contarini della Porta di Ferro 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, HRS, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Palazzo Contarini della Porta di Ferro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palazzo Contarini Della Porta Di Ferro Hotel Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing