We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The perfect hideaway”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Palazzo Contarini della Porta di Ferro
Ranked #149 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Exeter, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The perfect hideaway”
Reviewed 29 April 2014

Completely off the beaten track, away from the chaos that is St Mark's Square and environs, this conveted Palazzo offers comfortable accommodation and a real sense of history. The staff could not have been more welcoming, charming and helpful and the main salon evokes the sense of being in your own private palace. Breakfast, though simple, was first class.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thetumians
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

233 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    140
    73
    7
    9
    4
See reviews for
64
105
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2014

This is a wonderful hidden hotel, in a great location. The staff are excellent and provide superb advice on places to see and eat. The rooms are large and very clean, with everything you need, and free wifi. We were very lucky to find this hotel compared to many of those available in Venice and would encourage everyone to stay here! There are also several small local shops nearby to buy water and any snacks.

Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
portsmouth , uk
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2014

Booked a suite, which was huge and full of antique furniture, over looking the canal with 2 balconies.
Very comfortable and clean, staff very helpful and welcoming.
Nice quite location, walking times (without getting lost or distracted!) - 5 minutes from Alilaguna stop Ospedale( for airport) 10 minutes from San Marco, 15 from Rialto . Small supermarket and nice wine shop on same street. A couple of minutes from restaurants both local and tourist.
We loved it and will happily book again and recommend to friends.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank martyjc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham
Level 6 Contributor
584 reviews
144 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 331 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2014

hidden away in a more residental area of venice but only 15mins walk from st marks square avery nice old building with very nice helpful staff who were most welcomeing,we had a apartment which was clean warm and comfy.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank johnbrum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2013

We stayed one night at the hotel, it was a very beautiful place and we enjoyed our stay.

We came by water bus, the hotel sent us the direction by e-mail, so after we got off no. 51, we followed instruction and it was only five – ten minutes of walk to get to the hotel. However, we did walk right pass it because we were expecting to see a sign or banner outside the door. So if you come by foot, you have to look out the door numbers. It is on a very small, narrow street (as same as many other streets in Venice), there are a couple of small shops, when you see a fruit/veg shop, and the hotel is just a couple doors down. But if you come by water taxi, it takes you right to the back door of the hotel (no sure how much would cost by water taxi though).

We got there quite early, around 9-10am. So our room wasn’t ready – of course. The receptionist was very nice and helpful, she was happy to keep the luggage for us, and also gave us a map of the city and drew a line on it so that we could walk to the Piazze San Marco for just ten minutes (it would take a good thirty minutes by a water bus).

We got back after our day of strolling the city, dog tired. Got up to our room 401 and we were a little puzzled to find our room was next to the lift and the door looks like a housekeeper’s storage room door, if you are little taller than 5”6 that you have to bow to get in or you will hit your head on the door frame. Inside the room, however, was a different story. It was spacious and clean, I was fond its style, but it would be nicer if there is a dressing table and mirror in the room, there are certainly plenty of space for it.

I booked a self-catering room, so we have a kitchen with a kettle, a cooker, mini fridge, plates and dish washer. However, there aren’t cooking pans, so even with a cooker, we couldn’t cook anything, just glad we have hot tea to drink.

The bathroom was equipped with everything you need, shower gel, shampoo, soap. The shower was very powerful, felt so relaxing after a hot shower.

The problems, one was the bed, it was a large double bed, but a little bit bouncy so not very comfy; second was our room next to the lift so we could hear people talking when it passing through, however, it went quite after 10pm so we had good sleep. The third was the mosquitos, we left the window open for some fresh air (otherwise the room was a little warm), the mosquitos sneaked inside the room (or they may already in the room wait for us?! Vampires!) we woke up the next morning with a few mosquitos bites each, I killed one without hesitation when I saw it flying passing my face humming ‘yummy, yummy, I love my tummy’, it indeed had full of our blood in its tummy!

Our room was 125 euro a night include the taxes but without breakfast (extra 18 euro each). We couldn’t cook for ourselves so we went out for food, we found a little snack bar/cafe a couple streets away from Piazze San Marco and it only cost 15 euro for both of us to have some hot sandwiches and tea.

The hotel is pricy a bit but it is a beautiful, secure, quiet and friendly place, it’s a good experience and we enjoy it, so I would recommend the hotel.


And…

For the transportation in Venice, I would recommend vaporetto (water bus), it is very convenience and very popular. They take you to or go near most of the tourists’ attractions around the islands. You can buy a bus pass from a few hours to a few days, we paid 25 euro each for a 36 hour vaporetto (water bus) ticket, we also visited other islands by bus, Lido, Murano… all services are frequent during the day also have good night services as well.

Island Lido is quite close to the mainland, only ten minutes from Piazze San Marco by water bus (but about forty minutes from the train station). It’s a nice and quiet little island and the hotels are much cheaper.

Venice is safe, peaceful and clean, we were very impressed. Heard rumours about how Venice is unsafe, lots of pickpockets such, but we did not see any such thing. Everywhere we go, are tons of tourists who enjoying the city and relaxing just like us. When we walked back to the hotel after 9pm through all those small, narrow streets, there wasn’t any problems at all! An amazing city, truly!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank CindyJLiu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glen Rock, New Jersey
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 November 2013

Palazzo Contarini is in the northern end of the Castello sestiere, the easternmost region of the city. Although only a 15 minute walk from the Piazza San Marco, this area is much quieter than the more Westerly sestieris. The hotel itself is a little difficult to find, but of course since the entire city is one big labyrinth it's all relative. We took the Vaporetto to the Celestia stop and after a couple of calls to our Hostess for guidance, wound our way through the narrow streets to the outer door. Greeted with an array of buzzer buttons, I used a little deductive reasoning to guess that I needed to press the one polished smooth to alert the desk clerk that we were outside the outer door.
Pushing open the door we stepped into a lovely courtyard which we crossed to enter the main hotel. We were greeted by a very friendly desk clerk/manager who announced that we were upgraded to the "penthouse". The reason for this was never really explained, but after a stop to visit the enormous and beautiful sitting room on the 2nd floor, we rode the elevator up several more flights where she led us to the most amazing guest accommodations we've ever experienced. Totally renovated, with massive wooden beams in the ceiling and a marble staircase, the penthouse consisted of an enormous living room, small kitchen, and full bath on the first floor. On the second was a sleeping loft that looked out over the living room and a master suite with full bath.
It was a little dark due to the sloped roofline which limited the window height, but everything else was wonderful. We chose to sleep in the loft as it had a window on the canal side that allowed you to look out over the nearby rooftops and off into the lagoon.
Oh, and the lobby has an entrance on the canal side where a water taxi can drop you off if you're willing to shell out the money for door-to-door service.

Room Tip: We were there in October, but I'm guessing the penthouse would be uncomfortbly hot in the summer...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitchurch-Stouffville, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2013

Relatively easy to find from the Celestia Vaporetto stop, this hotel has a beautiful courtyard and wonderful main reception room. If I had been there with several friends , we would certaibly have used the shared sitting room to meet up.

Our room was huge as we had a full kitchen and lounge area. The kitchen, however, needed to be better stocked with utensils and perhaps a dishtowel with you really want to cook something. Our room backed onto a canal and it was reatively quiet except for one night when it felt like there was a party right outside our room. The sound really carries up the canals. Also, the church bell plays a loud jingle at 7:30 am, we were awake by then but it could be annoying for some people.

It is a wonderful and easy walk through the neighbourhood to get to San Marco or Arsenale. Because of it's location you get to explore parts of Venice that you may not normally go to which was most fun for us.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NatalieClaire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
San Marco
Hotel Casa Petrarca
Hotel Casa Petrarca
#137 of 385 in Venice
433 reviews
Castello
Hotel Casa Verardo - Residenza D'Epoca
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Hotel Tiziano
Hotel Tiziano
#71 of 385 in Venice
501 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Alla Corte Rossa
Alla Corte Rossa
#227 of 385 in Venice
170 reviews
Giudecca
Hotel Giudecca Venezia
Hotel Giudecca Venezia
#129 of 385 in Venice
495 reviews
Cannaregio
Foscari Palace
Foscari Palace
#90 of 385 in Venice
1,081 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palazzo Contarini della Porta di Ferro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palazzo Contarini della Porta di Ferro

Property: Palazzo Contarini della Porta di Ferro
Address: Castello 2926, 30122 Venice, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Castello
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service
Hotel Style:
#73 Family Hotel in Venice
#100 Romantic Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Palazzo Contarini della Porta di Ferro 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK) and HotelQuickly so you can book your Palazzo Contarini della Porta di Ferro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palazzo Contarini Della Porta Di Ferro Hotel Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing