We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Palazzo Contarini della Porta di Ferro
Nearby Hotels
US$416
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$392
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$194
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$157
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Moresco(Venice)
US$349
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Ai Mori d'Oriente Hotel(Venice)
US$234
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$218
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$269
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$225
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$317
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$244
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$305
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$232
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Arlecchino Hotel(Venice)(Great Value!)
US$195
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$181
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
US$302
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$270
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$304
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$233
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
Reviews (250)
Filter reviews
251 results
Traveller rating
149
78
10
10
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
149
78
10
10
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssan francescowater taxilarge loungeslightly off the beaten trackminute walksmall kitchensmall supermarketwine shopfull kitchenhidden awayan amazing cityhappily stay here againalilaguna stopreal venicetwo blocksoverlooked the canalresidential area
Filter
Updating list...
106 - 111 of 251 reviews
Reviewed 29 April 2014

Completely off the beaten track, away from the chaos that is St Mark's Square and environs, this conveted Palazzo offers comfortable accommodation and a real sense of history. The staff could not have been more welcoming, charming and helpful and the main salon evokes the sense of being in your own private palace. Breakfast, though simple, was first class.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank thetumians
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2014

This is a wonderful hidden hotel, in a great location. The staff are excellent and provide superb advice on places to see and eat. The rooms are large and very clean, with everything you need, and free wifi. We were very lucky to find this hotel compared to many of those available in Venice and would encourage everyone to stay here! There are also several small local shops nearby to buy water and any snacks.

Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2014

Booked a suite, which was huge and full of antique furniture, over looking the canal with 2 balconies.
Very comfortable and clean, staff very helpful and welcoming.
Nice quite location, walking times (without getting lost or distracted!) - 5 minutes from Alilaguna stop Ospedale( for airport) 10 minutes from San Marco, 15 from Rialto . Small supermarket and nice wine shop on same street. A couple of minutes from restaurants both local and tourist.
We loved it and will happily book again and recommend to friends.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank martyjc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2014

hidden away in a more residental area of venice but only 15mins walk from st marks square avery nice old building with very nice helpful staff who were most welcomeing,we had a apartment which was clean warm and comfy.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank johnbrum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2013

We stayed one night at the hotel, it was a very beautiful place and we enjoyed our stay.

We came by water bus, the hotel sent us the direction by e-mail, so after we got off no. 51, we followed instruction and it was only five – ten minutes of walk to get to the hotel. However, we did walk right pass it because we were expecting to see a sign or banner outside the door. So if you come by foot, you have to look out the door numbers. It is on a very small, narrow street (as same as many other streets in Venice), there are a couple of small shops, when you see a fruit/veg shop, and the hotel is just a couple doors down. But if you come by water taxi, it takes you right to the back door of the hotel (no sure how much would cost by water taxi though).

We got there quite early, around 9-10am. So our room wasn’t ready – of course. The receptionist was very nice and helpful, she was happy to keep the luggage for us, and also gave us a map of the city and drew a line on it so that we could walk to the Piazze San Marco for just ten minutes (it would take a good thirty minutes by a water bus).

We got back after our day of strolling the city, dog tired. Got up to our room 401 and we were a little puzzled to find our room was next to the lift and the door looks like a housekeeper’s storage room door, if you are little taller than 5”6 that you have to bow to get in or you will hit your head on the door frame. Inside the room, however, was a different story. It was spacious and clean, I was fond its style, but it would be nicer if there is a dressing table and mirror in the room, there are certainly plenty of space for it.

I booked a self-catering room, so we have a kitchen with a kettle, a cooker, mini fridge, plates and dish washer. However, there aren’t cooking pans, so even with a cooker, we couldn’t cook anything, just glad we have hot tea to drink.

The bathroom was equipped with everything you need, shower gel, shampoo, soap. The shower was very powerful, felt so relaxing after a hot shower.

The problems, one was the bed, it was a large double bed, but a little bit bouncy so not very comfy; second was our room next to the lift so we could hear people talking when it passing through, however, it went quite after 10pm so we had good sleep. The third was the mosquitos, we left the window open for some fresh air (otherwise the room was a little warm), the mosquitos sneaked inside the room (or they may already in the room wait for us?! Vampires!) we woke up the next morning with a few mosquitos bites each, I killed one without hesitation when I saw it flying passing my face humming ‘yummy, yummy, I love my tummy’, it indeed had full of our blood in its tummy!

Our room was 125 euro a night include the taxes but without breakfast (extra 18 euro each). We couldn’t cook for ourselves so we went out for food, we found a little snack bar/cafe a couple streets away from Piazze San Marco and it only cost 15 euro for both of us to have some hot sandwiches and tea.

The hotel is pricy a bit but it is a beautiful, secure, quiet and friendly place, it’s a good experience and we enjoy it, so I would recommend the hotel.


And…

For the transportation in Venice, I would recommend vaporetto (water bus), it is very convenience and very popular. They take you to or go near most of the tourists’ attractions around the islands. You can buy a bus pass from a few hours to a few days, we paid 25 euro each for a 36 hour vaporetto (water bus) ticket, we also visited other islands by bus, Lido, Murano… all services are frequent during the day also have good night services as well.

Island Lido is quite close to the mainland, only ten minutes from Piazze San Marco by water bus (but about forty minutes from the train station). It’s a nice and quiet little island and the hotels are much cheaper.

Venice is safe, peaceful and clean, we were very impressed. Heard rumours about how Venice is unsafe, lots of pickpockets such, but we did not see any such thing. Everywhere we go, are tons of tourists who enjoying the city and relaxing just like us. When we walked back to the hotel after 9pm through all those small, narrow streets, there wasn’t any problems at all! An amazing city, truly!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Cindy-JLo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews