We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent location and hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Dona Palace

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Hotel Dona Palace
Ranked #133 of 386 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
187 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Excellent location and hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2014 via mobile

Stayed here from Boxing Day to New Year's Eve

Fantastic location - near to St Marks Square and lots of great restaurants - room 20 was great - breakfast was OK but on our last day service was a little slow

Very clean - would definitely recommend and return

Staff polite and very helpful

Thanks Dona Palace

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PIJLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
donapalace, Front Desk Manager at Hotel Dona Palace, responded to this review, 2 January 2014
Dear Sir/Madam,
HAPPY NEW YEAR TO YOU AND TO ALL OF YOUR BELOVED ONES!
Thank you so much for the lovely review which you have left on Tripadvisor: we are always so pleased to know that our valued guests enjoyed their stay in our property. That is why your opinion (good or bad) is important to us as much as it is to our potential guests and whoever reads Tripadvisor. Our location is truly fantastic: we are one stone's throw from San Marco Square, therefore in the heart of the city, where everything happens. We hope to welcome you again, perhaps soon, always here, always at the Donà Palace!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

645 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    301
    254
    54
    20
    16
See reviews for
109
380
23
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Enniskillen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2013

We have just returned from our stay at Doña Palace and was very happy with our choice. It was very clean and comfortable.the hotel was in a great location and staff very friendly.I would recommend this to anyone.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tracey T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
donapalace, Front Desk Manager at Hotel Dona Palace, responded to this review, 2 January 2014
Dear Tracey,
A VERY HAPPY NEW YEAR TO YOU!
Thank you so much that you chose our Donà Palace... and that this choice was a happy one! We were pleased to take care of you and made you enjoy our beautiful city. Our staff always tries the maximum to assure a good experience from a stay at our Donà Palace. We hope to welcome you again, soon at our nice Donà Palace!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 December 2013

Service was great, rooms big, bathrooms clean, nothing a problem. Located very very close to San Marco so ideal for trips to explore everything Venice has to offer. We stayed four nights with two young children and the staff were very helpful, even finding me some emergency milk at 2am! We really enjoyed it, only reason for 4stars review was the breakfast. The bacon and eggs were no good and the cakes didn't seem fresh. Otherwise top notch

Room Tip: We were in 41,42 and 46 all good but 41 had a bath!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
donapalace, Front Desk Manager at Hotel Dona Palace, responded to this review, 2 January 2014
Dear Laura,
HAPPY NEW YEAR TO YOU, first of all!
We have just read your review about our Donà Palace and we would like to thank you for taking your time and leaving such nice comments about us. We care lots about the service we provide to our clientele: if a guest is happy then we are happy. Also, we provide excellent cleanliness in all of our rooms as you have mentioned on your review. So happy you enjoyed our very central location (we are really a stone's throw from San Marco Square!). And, of course, our buffet-style breakfast served on the 2nd floor of our palace... with all that crispy bacon, espresso cofee, milk, home-made cake (we have our own patisserie just down the street!), cereals, yoghurts and a lot more for you to enjoy!
We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you again at the Donà Palce. Thanks, again, for the lovely review and give our regards to Brighton Beach!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle
Level Contributor
46 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 December 2013 via mobile

Just a short walk to St. Marks, this hotel was super convenient! They had a great breakfast every morning, the staff was pleasant and helpful. We stayed in two rooms, one with a garden view, the other with a canal view. Both were very comfortable and quiet. They also have a water taxi stop right in front of the hotel which makes it easier, especially if you are traveling with a group, with kids or seniors or lots of luggage, although we just took the vaporetto and walked to the hotel. I was really happy with our choice to stay here.

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank SuzyQ62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
donapalace, Front Desk Manager at Hotel Dona Palace, responded to this review, 2 January 2014
Dear Suzy,
HAPPY NEW YEAR TO YOU!
Thank you for the nice review which you have left on Tripadvisor about our Donà Palace! We were pleased to read you appreciated the conveniency of staying one stone's throw from San Marco Square. And enjoy our buffet-style breakfast on the Second floor of our Fifteenth Century Palace overlooking the canal of the Canonica.
Our staff is and stays always at total disposal to guarantee maimum satisfaction from a stay at the Donà Palace. Our establishment has got a private motor-boats landing-stage, as you have correctly pointed out; and, of course, this proves to be convenient when you travel with lots of bags and decide to take a water-taxi from Marco Polo airport, the railway station, Piazzale Roma or even Tronchetto.
So happy that you have enjoyed your stay with us Suzy: we look forward to welcoming you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malmesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2013

I was there for a stay with my partner, but as a hospitality consultant I like to think I could see through the romantic haze! This was not my first stay in Venice. We stayed for four nights, and on arrival were upgraded to a junior suite. The room was spotless and very large, and visited and cleaned daily, with new towels and sundries without fail. Excellently located (you could see the Campanile and Basilica from our window) and well-kept, I was impressed from the start and that didn't change. Breakfast was good and all you can eat, included in the price - a boon for Venice as if you can skip lunch you can save a considerable amount of cash! Pleasant staff and a great stay. I think some of the poorer reviews seem to be from the summer - I would recommend our time of year (Late Nov- start Dec) as there are no queues anywhere, the weather is still pretty mild and prices are far more competitive. Overall, I have given the Dona Palace 5 stars as I feel that it represented excellent value and the staff did everything we asked. I would stay again.

Room Tip: You have to ask for a room with a view if you want one - personally I say save the money and get out...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JonathanConstable
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
donapalace, Front Desk Manager at Hotel Dona Palace, responded to this review, 7 December 2013
Dear Jonathan,
first of all thank you very much for leaving your SUPER-REVIEW about the Donà Palace in Tripadvisor. It was a pleasure, for us, to upgrade your reservation to a junior-suite and we are pleased you enjoyed it. We can see you liked our 2nd floor buffet-style breakfast and enjoyed our staff too. Please think of a new trip to Venice... because everybody and everything here waits for you: from our pleasant bedrooms to our private courtyard overlooking the canal! Thank you for your custom.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
85 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2013

Note that our experience was filtered through the lens of our first visit to the magical Serenissima while celebrating our nth wedding anniversary of being it love. It helps your mood!

The hotel is a smaller, mid-range establishment, perfectly placed in a street slightly back of St. Marks Square, so near that the high tide floods creep right up to its door. Our choice of a discounted holiday led to the possibility of renting a second floor suite, which turned out to be romantic, comfortable, silent, right next to the dining room and with a wonderful view of a small canal. The nights were triple-glazed silence - except that there was no triple glazing. Every few hours the golden silence was broken by church bells calling the hours. Once all the service boats start delivering, the day starts a little more noisily, but it soon settled down,

Pre visit planning included hiring a personal water taxi from Marco Polo Airport to a street near the hotel, where the Porter collected our bags from the boat and led us to the hotel. On arrival the roses and champagne were in the room, beautifully set out, as very helpfully arranged via email beforehand by the concierge.

The buffet breakfast, although mainly cold, was excellent, varied and filling, providing the calories needed to schlep around this magnificent and strange place. Reverting to public transport (water buses) it took less than 5 minutes to reach them from the hotel, at the waters edge of St. Marks Square.

The only little defect was that we did not find the bar attractive, but hey just step out the door! Also, a critical spirit might find a little dilapidation here and there annoying, but it just seemed perfectly in accord with the faded glory of La Serenissima...

Room Tip: I can only speak for the experience of the suite "room 26", which is on the corner of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Photeinos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
donapalace, Front Desk Manager at Hotel Dona Palace, responded to this review, 7 December 2013
Dear Sir or Madam,
oh, well: what can we say? You have, onve more, experienced the "Serenissima Republic of Venice" chosing one of the Donà Family former residences: the Donà Palace in Calle dell'Angelo, just behinf San Marco's Square. And the Donàs had two Doges on their family tree! So, on such an historical holiday, you experienced one of our romantic, comfortable, silent bedrooms overlookinf the Canal of the Canonica: we are pleased you liked it. As much as we are pleased you enjoyed our buffet-breakfast, the water-taxi from Marco Polo Airport... and those roses and the bottle of Champagne you found upon entering your room. Please, Sir or Madam, do not forget that the Donà Palace always awaits for you and we all hope to have the privilege of welcoming you again. Perhaps soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Des Moines, Iowa
Level Contributor
110 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2013

Just returned from a cruise and did our stay prior to sailing for 2 nights. This hotel is a great location. The staff is very helpful. We had a junior suite over looking the chanel and with a great view. The breakfast area was quiet and the food was a nice choice. The hotel is serviced by the water taxi from the airport. Really enjoyed it.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kitty S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
donapalace, Front Desk Manager at Hotel Dona Palace, responded to this review, 7 December 2013
Dear Kitty,
thank you very much for taking your time and leaving such a nice review about our Hotel Donà Palace. Hod did your cruise go? We hope you enjoyed it as much as you enjoyed our establishment: the friendliness of our staff, the fabulous location (San Marco's Square is just around the corner!), our junior-suites canal view, our buffet-breakfast. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you again really soon... always at the Donà Palace hopefully. Thanks for your preference!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
San Marco
Hotel al Ponte dei Sospiri
Hotel al Ponte dei Sospiri
#169 of 386 in Venice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 400 reviews
Castello
Hotel Colombina
Hotel Colombina
#48 of 386 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,731 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Concordia
Hotel Concordia
#75 of 386 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 946 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
San Marco Palace Suites
San Marco Palace Suites
#262 of 386 in Venice
3.5 of 5 bubbles 202 reviews
San Marco
Duodo Palace Hotel
Duodo Palace Hotel
#64 of 386 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,421 reviews
San Marco
Palazzo Paruta
Palazzo Paruta
#70 of 386 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 831 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Dona Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Dona Palace

Property: Hotel Dona Palace
Address: San Marco 391, 30124 Venice, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Marco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#71 Luxury Hotel in Venice
#122 Romantic Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Dona Palace 4*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A classy, elegant, luxury boutique hotel, the Donà Palace is a four star property overlooking the Rio at the Doge's Palace with its famous Bridge of Sighs, just a few steps from Europe's largest drawing room, Saint Mark's Square. The Hotel Donà Palace's exclusive setting in the historic heart of Venice is favoured for its priviledged position. Though close to so many important Venetian landmarks, the hotel's luxurious lodgings and accommodation have a refreshingly intimate quiet ambience, blending perfectly with the reflecting warmth of Venetian gothic design. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Prestigia so you can book your Hotel Dona Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dona Palace Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing