We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good location, nice breakfast, fridge not working”
Review of Hotel Dona Palace

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Dona Palace
Ranked #90 of 384 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Pretoria, South Africa
1 review
“Good location, nice breakfast, fridge not working”
Reviewed 18 March 2014

THIS VENUE IS STUNNINGLY LOCATED HOWEVER EXTREMELY DIFFICULT TO FIND ON THE DIRECTIONS PROVIDED BY THE HOTEL. The breakfast is one of the best we had in Europe. The fridge in the room is not working at all! It is in a cupboard with no air circulation! I will definately recommend this Hotel!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Galahotels.com

Helpful?
Thank MarleneSmg123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
donapalace, Front Desk Manager at Hotel Dona Palace, responded to this review, 27 March 2014
Dear Sir/Madam,
thank you so much for leaving a review about our Donà Palace here, in Tripadvisor. We are sorry you had difficulties in finding our hotel and we would like to recommend all of our potential guests that with a quick telephone call our staff can guide you to the hotel with much pleasure. We are sorry about your fridge too and we hope you reported that to our Front Desk so that our engineering could have changed and/or repaired. Instead, we are glad to read you enjoyed our rich buffet-breakfast and that you will recommend us: thank you. But we hope to see you again as well... always at the Donà Palace!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

699 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    333
    272
    56
    22
    16
See reviews for
124
400
31
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
MUNICH
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2014

We stayed here as a couple for five nights in March 2014, room 31. The staff was very friendly and helpful, the cleanliness satisfying except for various housekeeping hairs left in the bathroom and once even on a pillow. There could be more space for clothes storage (drawers instead of hanging space) but our room was adequate for the two of us with a side view of the canal behind the Doge's Palace. The bed was comfortable with enough pillows and bedclothes, an extra blanket was in the wardrobe. The breakfast buffet was abundant - fruit cocktail, three kinds of cereal, four kinds of yoghurt, ham, cheese, scrambled eggs (possibly made from powder!), bacon, rolls, bread, four kinds of juice (with pulp), and several kinds of cake - and the breakfast room itself a charming setting with lofty raftered ceiling, marble floor and glassed off balcony with Byzantine arches. The location is optimal, two minutes' walk from St. Mark's Square and five minutes walk to the vaporetto stop San Zaccario. There are several restaurants close by as well as souvenir shops with decent quality merchandise and a Co-op store where you can pick up your bottled water or soft drinks and fresh fruit. Sometimes you can hear the boat traffic around St. Mark's Square or the garbage boats and taxis but that's only to be expected if your room is towards the canal.I can recommend this hotel and intend to return on my next trip to Venice.

Room Tip: Our room had a side view of the canal, others can offer a full canal view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sara W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
donapalace, Front Desk Manager at Hotel Dona Palace, responded to this review, 28 March 2014
Dear Sir or Madam,
we would like to thank you for your nice comment about our Donà Palace. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us in room #31. Our staff is well trained to make our precious guests feel fine and comfortable, starting from the friendliness, helpfulness and, of course, cleanliness of the bedrooms. We read about the hair wich you found in the bathroom and on your pillow: please accept our sincere apologies and we are investigating about that with the chambermaid who took care of your bedroom while you stayed with us. Also, thanks for giving our buffet-style breakfast a good comment: we have our own bakery and we home make/bake cakes and breads on a daily basis! Last, but not least, our location: we are one step's throw from San Marco Square! What else can we say... if not that we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you again at the Donà Palace very soon in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Battle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
171 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2014 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel for 2 nights in March 2014. We had two rooms booked, I had previously requested them be next to each other and on a higher floor and our request was met. We arrived 3 hours early for check in but our rooms were available.

We had room 46 which was one of the few rooms to have massive floor to ceiling windows, with a view of the canal below, it was spacious & had a nice comfy bed.

The hotels reception staff were all very helpful & nothing was too much trouble, they even phoned to confirm a restaurant booking I had made from home.

The breakfast was good, not a massive selection but enough to keep you full till lunch.

The location is excellent just a couple of minutes from st marks square, however some people may prefer a hotel a bit further away from the bustle of it all.

I would defiantly stay here again.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Kevin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
donapalace, Front Desk Manager at Hotel Dona Palace, responded to this review, 27 March 2014
Dear Mr. Kevin,
thank you very much for taking time and leaving a nice review on Tripadvisor. We are glad you enjoyed your bedrooms and that we did what we could to help you and make your stay a good experience. We then hope to have the pleasure to meet you again... always at the Donà Palace. Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thorrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2014

This hotel is in a central location, just outside St Marks square, perfect base to explore all that Venice has to offer. The hotel is in need of a lick of paint but the rooms are clean and the breakfast buffet was more than adequate. The concierge were helpful and happy to recommend restaurants to eat in.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ange_Sept_1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
donapalace, Front Desk Manager at Hotel Dona Palace, responded to this review, 27 March 2014
Dear Sir/Madam,
thank you so much for leaving your review about the Donà Palace: we were pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us, appreciating our central location (we are a stone's throw from San Marco Square!), the cleanliness of you bedroom and our buffet-style breakfast. We wait and hope to welcome you again at our hotel soon in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
Reviewed 28 February 2014 via mobile

Front of house staff were very nice and helpful. Sadly Room 33 (Feb 25-27 2014) it was meant to be deluxe we doubt it really... Stains and cracks on ceiling, shabby bathroom mastic and holes in walls.( not even tea or coffee making facilities in the room)? At 0715 approx each morning the kitchen and catering team banged and crashed into action which woke as up both days they seemed to have no care or self awareness about guests resting. We had little and often no WIFI so don't be fooled by the promise of a service. Breakfast stale, dry and lack lustre ( we should have listened to Tripadvisor) originally? They had good intentions and were trying to be a high quality hotel but unfortunately they missed the mark ... It's not an awful place -it's just a bit sad and tired and needs a bit of TLC :0(

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Al O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Selsey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2014

I stayed here with my niece for 4 nights in February. We had a lovely stay, the room was perfect with a view of the canal, a very nice bathroom, and very comfy beds. The position of the Hotel barely 3 minutes from St Mark's Square is superb, despite being so close to everything it was wonderfully quite inside the hotel. Breakfast was a buffet style with hot food as well as a wide selection of cakes and rolls, tea and coffee. We really loved the front desk staff who were very efficient and at the same time very friendly and helpful, we had learned quite a bit of Italian by the time we left. The wi fi was apparently a bit slow, but hey its a very old building. We plan to stay here again!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mollymum_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
donapalace, Front Desk Manager at Hotel Dona Palace, responded to this review, 28 February 2014
Dear Sir/Madam,
thank you for leaving a nice review about our Donà Palace on Tripadvisor. We are really pleased you and your niece enjoyed your 4 nights stay with us! Like many other valued guests of ours you enjoyed our very central location, a nice room with a comfortable bed, our buffet-style breakfast and our service. We hope to welcome you again. Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2014

We arrived for a four night break and were delighted to discover just how well located this hotel is - just a minute from St Marks square. We were upgraded on arrival from a junior to a full suite which included a spacious lobby, lounge, bathroom and bedroom. We looked forward each morning to the ample breakfast buffet and the staff were always friendly and obliging. There is a delightful small garden adjoining a canal and the breakfast area is delightful too.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RVB2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
donapalace, Front Desk Manager at Hotel Dona Palace, responded to this review, 28 February 2014
Dear Sir/Madam,
thank you for taking your time to leave such a wonderful review about our nice Hotel Donà Palace. We thank you, also, for choosing our hotel for your four nights break, enjoying this way our very central location (we are one stone's throw to San Marco's Square!) and an upgrade to a suite which is a real pleasure for us. Also, you had the chance to try our buffet-style breakfast on the noble floor of our Donà Palace and to discover our canal-side, private garden. We hope all this, along with our service, was up to your standards. And we sincerely hope to get the pleasure of welcoming you again, ion the future... perhaps soon. Thanks, once again Sir/Madam!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
San Marco
Hotel al Ponte dei Sospiri
Hotel al Ponte dei Sospiri
#176 of 384 in Venice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 419 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Concordia
Hotel Concordia
#74 of 384 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 967 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Colombina
Hotel Colombina
#51 of 384 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,778 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
San Marco Palace Suites
San Marco Palace Suites
#263 of 384 in Venice
3.5 of 5 bubbles 206 reviews
San Marco
All'Angelo Hotel
All'Angelo Hotel
#227 of 384 in Venice
3.5 of 5 bubbles 840 reviews
San Marco
Duodo Palace Hotel
Duodo Palace Hotel
#68 of 384 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,469 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Dona Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Dona Palace

Property: Hotel Dona Palace
Address: San Marco 391, 30124 Venice, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Marco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#57 Luxury Hotel in Venice
#122 Romantic Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Dona Palace 4*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A classy, elegant, luxury boutique hotel, the Donà Palace is a four star property overlooking the Rio at the Doge's Palace with its famous Bridge of Sighs, just a few steps from Europe's largest drawing room, Saint Mark's Square. The Hotel Donà Palace's exclusive setting in the historic heart of Venice is favoured for its priviledged position. Though close to so many important Venetian landmarks, the hotel's luxurious lodgings and accommodation have a refreshingly intimate quiet ambience, blending perfectly with the reflecting warmth of Venetian gothic design. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Dona Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dona Palace Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing