We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Historic palazzo in central Venice” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Dona Palace

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Dona Palace
Ranked #134 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
North York Moors National Park, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Historic palazzo in central Venice”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2014

We found this hotel via Easyjet Holidays, and were not disappointed. Good value for money, great location, comfortable and elegant. No restaurant, but plenty of eateries nearby, although we had to search Tripadvisor long and hard for genuine places that weren't just out to rip off the tourists. They can be found! Breakfasts in the 'piano nobile' were perfectly adequate. Our room on the second floor was very quiet for four of our five nights, our peace being shattered one night by a large family of noisy italians taking up several rooms. At least the receptionist apologised next day. Would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SJSYorks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
donapalace, Front Desk Manager at Hotel Dona Palace, responded to this review, 3 May 2014
Dear Mr./Ms. Bucks,
we have just read the review you left on Tripadvisor: thank you so much! We are glad to read that our excellet cooperation with Easyjet brought the chance to meet and accommodate you in our establishment. Instead, we are again sorry about that large, noisy family: respect and politness seem to be so difficult to find, much to our regret. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you again, here at the Donà Palace! Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

644 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    301
    254
    53
    20
    16
See reviews for
109
379
23
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2014

Stayed three nights in March for a weekend and the hotel was lovely, reception staff were also nice. We were given a free upgrade to a lovely large room. Staff at breakfast were abrupt however not offensive. On check out, the hotel added 120 euros on our bill, which we had not spent after 5 mins of discussion this was rightly taken off our bill. Great location.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank M-C-C-V2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
donapalace, Front Desk Manager at Hotel Dona Palace, responded to this review, 20 April 2014
Dear Sir/Madam,
Forst of all... may we... well: HAPPY EASTER!
And a heartful thank you for your very nice review on Tripadvisor.
We are happy you enjoyed your week-end with us and we sincerely hope to welcome you again, in the future... always at the Donà Palace of course!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2014

Had an amazing stay at this hotel. We were upgraded to their version of the "penthouse" suite, an attic suite with a separate sitting room, private access to our own rooftop balcony and hot tub.

Great service by the hotel staff.
Key central location, walking distance to San Marco, Rialto Bridge and Doges Palace.

Excellent restaurant recommendations from the front desk.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marissa G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
donapalace, Front Desk Manager at Hotel Dona Palace, responded to this review, 20 April 2014
Dear Marissa,
HAPPY EASTER TO YOU AND TO ALL OF THOSE YOU LOVE!
We thank you for leaving a review on Tripadvisor about our nice Hotel Donà Palace: "amazing" is, actually, the adverb you used... are we really? We always try our best to please our clientèle. Then we are pleased you enjoyed your bedroom, our services, our location and every effort we made to make your stay at the Donà Palace an unforgettable one. Come visit us again, if you'll have a chance!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stourbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2014

Excellent attentive staff who go out of their way to please guests,this is a lovely period property tucked away just off St Marks square. We stayed on the fourth floor in a comfortable room with no intrusive noise.
Fully recommend a stay at this hotel none of the standard corporate looks here. Thank you for a great stay.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank paul021964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
donapalace, Front Desk Manager at Hotel Dona Palace, responded to this review, 27 March 2014
Dear Sir/Madam,
thank you for taking time to leave a review about our Donà Palace. What a pleasure it was for us to read that you appreciated the service provided by our attentive staff and our very central location! We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you again very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pretoria, South Africa
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2014

THIS VENUE IS STUNNINGLY LOCATED HOWEVER EXTREMELY DIFFICULT TO FIND ON THE DIRECTIONS PROVIDED BY THE HOTEL. The breakfast is one of the best we had in Europe. The fridge in the room is not working at all! It is in a cupboard with no air circulation! I will definately recommend this Hotel!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Galahotels.com

Helpful?
Thank MarleneSmg123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
donapalace, Front Desk Manager at Hotel Dona Palace, responded to this review, 27 March 2014
Dear Sir/Madam,
thank you so much for leaving a review about our Donà Palace here, in Tripadvisor. We are sorry you had difficulties in finding our hotel and we would like to recommend all of our potential guests that with a quick telephone call our staff can guide you to the hotel with much pleasure. We are sorry about your fridge too and we hope you reported that to our Front Desk so that our engineering could have changed and/or repaired. Instead, we are glad to read you enjoyed our rich buffet-breakfast and that you will recommend us: thank you. But we hope to see you again as well... always at the Donà Palace!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MUNICH
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2014

We stayed here as a couple for five nights in March 2014, room 31. The staff was very friendly and helpful, the cleanliness satisfying except for various housekeeping hairs left in the bathroom and once even on a pillow. There could be more space for clothes storage (drawers instead of hanging space) but our room was adequate for the two of us with a side view of the canal behind the Doge's Palace. The bed was comfortable with enough pillows and bedclothes, an extra blanket was in the wardrobe. The breakfast buffet was abundant - fruit cocktail, three kinds of cereal, four kinds of yoghurt, ham, cheese, scrambled eggs (possibly made from powder!), bacon, rolls, bread, four kinds of juice (with pulp), and several kinds of cake - and the breakfast room itself a charming setting with lofty raftered ceiling, marble floor and glassed off balcony with Byzantine arches. The location is optimal, two minutes' walk from St. Mark's Square and five minutes walk to the vaporetto stop San Zaccario. There are several restaurants close by as well as souvenir shops with decent quality merchandise and a Co-op store where you can pick up your bottled water or soft drinks and fresh fruit. Sometimes you can hear the boat traffic around St. Mark's Square or the garbage boats and taxis but that's only to be expected if your room is towards the canal.I can recommend this hotel and intend to return on my next trip to Venice.

Room Tip: Our room had a side view of the canal, others can offer a full canal view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sara W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
donapalace, Front Desk Manager at Hotel Dona Palace, responded to this review, 28 March 2014
Dear Sir or Madam,
we would like to thank you for your nice comment about our Donà Palace. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us in room #31. Our staff is well trained to make our precious guests feel fine and comfortable, starting from the friendliness, helpfulness and, of course, cleanliness of the bedrooms. We read about the hair wich you found in the bathroom and on your pillow: please accept our sincere apologies and we are investigating about that with the chambermaid who took care of your bedroom while you stayed with us. Also, thanks for giving our buffet-style breakfast a good comment: we have our own bakery and we home make/bake cakes and breads on a daily basis! Last, but not least, our location: we are one step's throw from San Marco Square! What else can we say... if not that we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you again at the Donà Palace very soon in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Battle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
170 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2014 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel for 2 nights in March 2014. We had two rooms booked, I had previously requested them be next to each other and on a higher floor and our request was met. We arrived 3 hours early for check in but our rooms were available.

We had room 46 which was one of the few rooms to have massive floor to ceiling windows, with a view of the canal below, it was spacious & had a nice comfy bed.

The hotels reception staff were all very helpful & nothing was too much trouble, they even phoned to confirm a restaurant booking I had made from home.

The breakfast was good, not a massive selection but enough to keep you full till lunch.

The location is excellent just a couple of minutes from st marks square, however some people may prefer a hotel a bit further away from the bustle of it all.

I would defiantly stay here again.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Kevin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
donapalace, Front Desk Manager at Hotel Dona Palace, responded to this review, 27 March 2014
Dear Mr. Kevin,
thank you very much for taking time and leaving a nice review on Tripadvisor. We are glad you enjoyed your bedrooms and that we did what we could to help you and make your stay a good experience. We then hope to have the pleasure to meet you again... always at the Donà Palace. Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
San Marco
Hotel al Ponte dei Sospiri
Hotel al Ponte dei Sospiri
#175 of 385 in Venice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 399 reviews
Castello
Hotel Colombina
Hotel Colombina
#48 of 385 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,728 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Concordia
Hotel Concordia
#76 of 385 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 945 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
San Marco Palace Suites
San Marco Palace Suites
#262 of 385 in Venice
3.5 of 5 bubbles 202 reviews
San Marco
Duodo Palace Hotel
Duodo Palace Hotel
#64 of 385 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,416 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Royal San Marco
Hotel Royal San Marco
#197 of 385 in Venice
3.5 of 5 bubbles 953 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Dona Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Dona Palace

Property: Hotel Dona Palace
Address: San Marco 391, 30124 Venice, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Marco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#70 Luxury Hotel in Venice
#122 Romantic Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Dona Palace 4*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A classy, elegant, luxury boutique hotel, the Donà Palace is a four star property overlooking the Rio at the Doge's Palace with its famous Bridge of Sighs, just a few steps from Europe's largest drawing room, Saint Mark's Square. The Hotel Donà Palace's exclusive setting in the historic heart of Venice is favoured for its priviledged position. Though close to so many important Venetian landmarks, the hotel's luxurious lodgings and accommodation have a refreshingly intimate quiet ambience, blending perfectly with the reflecting warmth of Venetian gothic design. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Prestigia, Priceline, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Dona Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dona Palace Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing