We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Funky hotel in the centre of Venice - cool!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Belle Epoque

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Belle Epoque
Ranked #184 of 386 Hotels in Venice
Oxford, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Funky hotel in the centre of Venice - cool!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

My partner and I really enjoyed our visit to Venice and having the option to stay in a characteristic three star hotel in the centre of Venice definitely helped. Our room had great decor, a view overlooking the rustic buildings of Venice and provided a peaceful contrast to the buzzing streets outside. The unique glass elevator took us up to the third floor in style and all in all we had a pleasant, hassle-free stay here. Breakfast in the morning was varied and fresh. Only points for consideration really were the lack of inclusive wi-fi and lack of security for baggage drop - we left our bags with about two dozen other suitcases in an unsecure area - in reality there is nothing stopping bags from walking out the door, sans owners.

Room Tip: Try to choose a room at the back of the hotel - away from the busy streets.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RussiB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

882 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    131
    375
    240
    79
    57
See reviews for
157
464
48
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary
Level Contributor
54 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2013

The location is perfect, only a couple of blocks from the train station. I parked my car in Mestre for 26 euros per day and took the train to Venice for 2 euros. This hotel is also about 10 minutes from Piazza Roma and not too far from Piazza San Marco. It's on a busy street, lots of shops and restaurants and less than a block from the main canal.
THE FRONT DESK
The decor is impressive, the lobby is narrow and very long. The check in was fast. You can buy a map for 1.20, which I really would recommend. I walked for 6 hours that day and never got lost.
THE ELEVATOR
It's an external glass elevator. This was added as part of the renovations.
THE ROOM
Small comes to mind. The view was mostly rooftops from the 4th floor, which is the top. Lots of large windows that can be opened. There are also good curtains to black out the light. The bathroom is large, it has a bidet as well as a shower, no tub. The room also has a desk and a small chair in the corner. The walls are covered with a cloth material. Wi-fi only in the lobby and it's not cheap, so I didn't use it. The bed was mainly 2 single beds placed together, it was fairly comfortable as long as I didn't get too close to the center. The antique style decor seems to be fairly new. Everything is very clean and smells fresh. The central air conditioning was quiet and worked very well. You get a big key that you leave at the front desk when you go out.
THE BREAKFAST
It was just OK. Continental style, the buffet area is very narrow with counter along both walls and it can get crowded. In between all that they have someone making special coffees. They had warm plain croissants, jams, fruit salad with yogurt topping, cold cuts and cereals.

I would go back, mainly for the location and price.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CDNchicken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, South Australia, Australia
Level Contributor
101 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2013

Stayed one night at this small hotel and were satisfied with the experience. Hotel decor is quite cool with glass lift and a fish tank built into the handbasin in the lobby toilet. Room was small for 4 of us with two sleeping on a sofa bed that wasn't particularly comfortable. Air conditioning was pretty feeble but luckily it wasn't hot. Location is excellent at just 50m from the train station, and we only needed the one night was was a stopover on the way somewhere else.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Simon-from-Adelaide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eugene, Oregon
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2013

Pros: the location. A/C. Our room had a tiny balcony with a cool view. The room itself was fine.
Cons: The man who "greeted" us was grumpy and not helpful. The website is misleading regarding wifi. There is no wifi in the rooms only in the lobby and costs several euros an hour. They had told me it had an internet cord to hook up to my laptop in the room but it did not...and would have still cost several euros per hour. I had requested a room that was accessible by the elevator/lift (having had surgery on both knees). the room we were given still had a half a flight of stairs to access it. Which wasn't a huge deal but we had already been traveling for 2 weeks and were planning on walking all over Venice...I was saving my knees for other things NOT hotel stairs. The breakfast had meats and cheeses and these weird mayonnaise& meat on bread things. The breakfast area was so hot that I would not have wanted to try those! They did have fruit and the coffee machine.
There were also signs posted in the room stating that we were not to use a hair straightener in the room. And to use only their hair dryer. Weird.

The location was great but I would not stay there again. I got a great rate by paying in full at booking otherwise I would have paid more and gone elsewhere...well that and the fact that we arrived at almost midnight and it was HOT!

Room Tip: If stairs are an issue you may want to choose another hotel. There are 3 stairs once you get past r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank OreGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Venice hotels

Albinyana, Spain
Level Contributor
251 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2013

We didn't actually stay here but sneaked a peak as we were passing by, so earmarking it as a place we would like to try in the future, mainly for it's art nouveau style and also for it's great location right in the centre of Venice.

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank 428chris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kitchener, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2013

We booked two 3-bedded rooms. One was large and the other very adequate. Strong air conditioning, which was a blessing in the July heat. Rooms were clean and adequately decorated. Minimal noise in larger room which faced the street- not bothersome at all. Staff at front desk were polite and helpful. Continental breakfast was included- coffee, tea, juice, fruit, cereal, sweets. Great location near train station and parking. Excellent compared to other three star hotels we have stayed at. Good value for Venice.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debraleeann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Western Ireland, Ireland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2013

Location to train/ bus station is very good. Only a five minute walk and don't have to travel over bridges which is a big thing when you are trying to drag bags around Venice.
A long way away from some attractions such as St Marks square but water bus stop is nearby.
Breakfast was ok
Smell of damp in room 103 was horrendous!
Staff typically Italian (not overly friendly or helpful).
Air conditioning worked thankfully

If you get this hotel at good value then ok, but I would not want to be paying a lot of money to stay in a room that is this smelly. Didn't even bother to complain as staff are not helpful

Room Tip: Have not seen other rooms but room 103 smells terrible! I could still get the smell of my clothes w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelaholic7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
Cannaregio
Universo Nord Hotel
Universo Nord Hotel
#252 of 386 in Venice
3.0 of 5 bubbles 747 reviews
Cannaregio
Hotel Continental Venice
Hotel Continental Venice
#162 of 386 in Venice
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,259 reviews
Cannaregio
B4 Bellini Venezia
B4 Bellini Venezia
#107 of 386 in Venice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,523 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cannaregio
Hotel Florida
Hotel Florida
#222 of 386 in Venice
3.5 of 5 bubbles 635 reviews
Cannaregio
Hotel Il Mercante di Venezia
Cannaregio
Hotel Agli Artisti
Hotel Agli Artisti
#273 of 386 in Venice
3.5 of 5 bubbles 544 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Belle Epoque? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Belle Epoque

Property: Hotel Belle Epoque
Address: Canareggio 127/128, 30120 Venice, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Cannaregio
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #184 of 386 Hotels in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Belle Epoque 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Belle Epoque overlooks Lista di Spagna and offers rooms in tipycal ambience who dates back to 1700. The furniture recalls the venetian style in two colours: red or green and feature Murano glass chandeliers. All the rooms are equipped with soundproof, bathrooms in white marble with shower, air conditioning, satellite television, safe and internet connection. A panoramic elevator will take you up to the floor to your room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Belle Epoque reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Belle Epoque Hotel
Belle Epoque Malcesine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing