We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very poor and dirty hotel”
Review of Hotel Belle Epoque

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Belle Epoque
Ranked #189 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Reviewed 23 October 2013

We stayed at this hotel for 3 nights in October. The first impression that greeted us was a rather rude man on reception who we seemed to inconvenience by wanting to check in. When we finally got to our room, first impressions were small, bizarre curtain decor on the walls, but okay for the price. After spending more time in the room we realised a rather unpleasant damp odour, and upon lying on the bed found it also to be damp. The next morning we returned to the aforementioned receptionist to ask why the room smelt damp and the bed appeared to be wet. We were greeted by his first smile and a response of 'this is Venice, everywhere is damp'. We returned to the damp room later in the evening, it smelt considerably worse, and we realised the smell was emanating from the dirty carpet. It was not easy to sleep in this room with the constant attack of what we assumed were mosquitos buzzing around our heads the whole night. We returned home to the UK with many souvenirs of bites. Needless to say, I would not return to this hotel. Ever.

Room Tip: I would suggest choosing a room in another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Emma1977123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (981)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

209 - 215 of 981 reviews

Reviewed 22 October 2013

Stayed here one night. in room 116. I was pleased enough with it. I loved the location and proximity to all the necessary transportation. The room was big enough, uniquely decorated in a pretty way, the bathroom was small, but nothing to get worked up over. Perhaps my wife would beg to differ but we got by fine. The shower head was broken, but otherwise everything worked fine. I sleep with ear plugs so I didn't hear anything but my wife said it was pretty noisy. People are 100% accurate with the customer service. The old man at the front desk was basically irrelevant and generally rude. The staff were better but still didn't go out of their way to be warm and hospitable. The breakfast was basic but again good enough to get us through to we had lunch somewhere else. If you need a place to stay for a night or two, you should be fine. I wouldn't plan an extended stay here though.

Room Tip: Try to be away from the street side
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jesse C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2013

We were shifted to this hotel when the one we booked was overbooked. The room was ornate but the TV didn't work, it wasn't even connected. You had to close the bathroom door or the AC wouldn't work. While I am used to small European bathrooms, this one was very cramped. The hotel was clean and had a decent buffet breakfast. There is a charge to use the WiFi which is only available in the lobby but good luck getting a seat when the tour groups are in.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JimKal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2013

If you don't fancy lugging heavy luggage in and out of water taxis, or over Venetian bridges, the Belle Epoque is an excellent choice. There is a bit of a contrast between the opulence of the lobby and breakfast room, and the small rooms with (at the time of our stay) the smoke alarms neatly removed. However, for the price, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The modern glass lift has a lovely mosaic floor, which in our eyes made up for the fact that the lift did not actually go up to our floor, the 4th. The toilet by the breakfast room has a washbasin with an aquarium in its frame, featuring 2 reasonably sized fish. Some of the staff were helpful.
Wifi was extra, and only available in the lobby. They also charge for maps of Venice

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2013

I spent just one night here before taking a cruise. The lobby was quite spectacular compared to the rest of the hotel as it was somewhat rundown. I arrived quite late and asked the receptionist to recommend a restaurant. He couldn't! Room was small but very fancy but the bathroom was quite basic. I flung back the curtains to see the view and unfortunately opened the window to take a foto. Not a good idea. The view was another wall and the smell was horrendous. At one point the key would not work in the door and it took them nearly half an hour to get it sorted out. Annoying as my time was limited. I was carrying a heavy suitcase and overnite bag so asked how I could get to the cruise port without going over a bridge. I couldn't I was told. So I then asked if I could book a WATER taxi and he said yes and it would cost 68€. A porter came to take my cases round the corner to the railway station!!! No bridge!! Where an obviously unregisted white van was waiting !! He went over the railway tracks, through all the back streets then out of Venice to the mainland and then back again. It was very unnerving and I was quite frightened and very disappointed with the hotel receptionistfor ripping me off. This incidient unfortunately marred my very first stay in Venice. I cannot recommend this hotel at all. Disappointed.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TootsieTenerife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2013

Belle Epoque is an older hotel amongst many that provided us with a bed for one night in Venice. The room was beautiful and clean, the bathroom small but usable. The location can't be beat! Just a block from the train station or over the tall bridge and down the street from the bus/parking area at Piazzale Roma. The water taxi stops in front of the train station and will take you anywhere you want to go in Venice! The street where the hotel is located is lined with shops, restaraunts and vendors. The hotel desk clerk recomended a place to eat which was very nice and reasonably priced. The only downside (sort of) was no free internet access, and the only access you could pay for is in the lobby. Venice has a "free" wi fi system that visitors can pay a one time fee for a length of time, then you can use it throughout. Many resteraunts had signs for free wifi. Although it was on a busy street, the room was very quiet and easy to sleep. The AC worked great. Breakfast was included in the price of the room, which was very reasonable for Venice.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank debinnh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2013

The hotel has its good points, it is in a great location near the train station. Just walk out and turn left and look for the hotel sign, we winged it and had no issues. The rooms are clean but tiny. And not well maintained, they had masking tape over holes in the tiles in the shower and other areas. Our air conditioner was so loud and gurgly, it was flashing 'change filter'. My husband asked for this to be fixed and was initially told no, but his reaction got them to change the filter the next day, which didn't fix the noise, it sounded like we were in a fish tank! Average hotel, average service n a good location. It was not worth what we paid.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CloverJ77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
Cannaregio
Hotel Florida
Hotel Florida
#242 of 385 in Venice
681 reviews
Cannaregio
Hotel Il Mercante di Venezia
Cannaregio
B4 Bellini Venezia
B4 Bellini Venezia
#111 of 385 in Venice
1,638 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cannaregio
Hotel Agli Artisti
Hotel Agli Artisti
#297 of 385 in Venice
577 reviews
Cannaregio
Universo Nord Hotel
Universo Nord Hotel
#262 of 385 in Venice
850 reviews
Cannaregio
Hotel Atlantide
Hotel Atlantide
#347 of 385 in Venice
330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Belle Epoque? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Belle Epoque

Address: Canareggio 127/128, 30120 Venice, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Cannaregio
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #189 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Price Range: £46 - £197 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Belle Epoque 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Belle Epoque overlooks Lista di Spagna and offers rooms in tipycal ambience who dates back to 1700. The furniture recalls the venetian style in two colours: red or green and feature Murano glass chandeliers. All the rooms are equipped with soundproof, bathrooms in white marble with shower, air conditioning, satellite television, safe and internet connection. A panoramic elevator will take you up to the floor to your room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Belle Epoque reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Belle Epoque Hotel
Belle Epoque Malcesine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing