We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”
Review of Hotel Belle Epoque

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Belle Epoque
Ranked #192 of 387 Hotels in Venice
Reviewed 10 July 2014

Stayed here for two nights as a couple between July 6th - 8th 2014 in room 103. The hotel is in a fantastic location. We caught the shuttle bus from Marco Polo airport to Piazzale Roma bus station and was surprised at how close the hotel was. We walked across the main bridge, past the train station and saw the hotel sign straight away on the left, it's literally a straight road.

The room was very clean, looked nice and the air conditioning was fantastic throughout (it was 30 degrees for the duration of our stay so this was welcomed!). However, the 'double bed' claimed in the booking was simply two single beds pushed together with double bed sheets over the top of them. The shower was also very temperamental - it would be hot for 5 seconds, cold for 10 seconds, hot for another 5 seconds... etc. The breakfast was fine but we were not expecting much anyway.. plenty of bread, cheese, fruit etc. which was ideal as my girlfriend is a vegetarian.

The hotel is a 30 second walk from Ferrovia water bus station and Santa Lucia train station.

Be wary of the 'baggage room' if you arrive early, it is literally a gap underneath the stairs and not actually a room.

The hotel lobby is nice and the decor gives the hotel a nice touch. But WiFi is 3 euros an hour and only works in the lobby, not your room.

We paid 180 euros for 2 nights which I think was very reasonable for the location and I would recommend this hotel for those travelling on a budget.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank rpfranks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (988)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

183 - 189 of 988 reviews

Reviewed 30 June 2014

We found the room comfortable for the price, The hotel is within walking distance to everything including the bus drop off point so we didn't have to wheel our luggage far. The breakfast was adequate and the staff did their job. Having to sit in the foyer near the front desk after paying extra for wi fi is not very convenient, but overall our stay was pleasant.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank emanddeebee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Hotel Belle Époque has a very good location, within walking distance to everything you would like to see in Venice. And that's it. Service, rooms, condition, expensive wi fi, everything was below the level of the 3-star European hotel. Wouldn't recommend!

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank YanaSosna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

This hotel has a great position if you need to base yourself close to the railway station or the taxi drop off point both are within easy suitcase carrying distance. Pay no attention to the frontage, it's very nice inside, comfortable rooms, excellent shower. Only downside was the breakfast which qualifies as the worst I have had anywhere in Italy. Desk staff very pleasant and attentive, resturant staff not particulary helpful.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

During the Venice Biennale I stayed at the Hotel Belle Epoque. I had a very well appointed single room with a small but nice bathroom en suite. The room was very clean, the bed really comfortable, and it was in a great location right by the train station. Normally, I don't like most places located close to the station but this was the exception. It was a great deal at a great price.
The breakfast was perfect for me and the reception was warm. The room was small, but so am I. I would definitely go back to this hotel and I recommended it to my friends.

Room Tip: I think there might be a newer part and an older part to this hotel, just from what others have writ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank smsan1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2014

Despite of the good localization and good bedroom/breaskfast, I definitely not recomend this hotel at all !
I´ve never been so mistreated at an hotel´s reception. The front desk receptionist was extremely rude, she has misunderstood my reservation and instead of trying to solve the problem she told me to claim with booking.com. And after realising the mistake was hers, she didn´t even apologize herself.
Total Absurd.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank elaine h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2014

We chose this hotel for its location close to the train station and within the city of Venice. It is located in a busy section of Venice which we enjoyed. We came to Venice to experience all its activity and were not disappointed. We also chose it for its typical Venetian style. We knew the rooms were small but for a couple we found it very cozy. We had no problem with the size. The small bathroom was adequate and typical of many European bathrooms. It was comfortable for us as we were expecting it to be small.
The breakfast was included and more than satisfactory for us. Especially loved their croissants and unlimited cappuccinos. The breakfast staff were very congenial and attentive.
The hotel is staffed 24Hrs and secuer in the evening.
We loved the fact that we could open the windows. We found everything very clean. Desk staff was very attentive to our needs and check in very easy. The night front desk gentleman was especially nice and answered all our questions. Excellent value for the price. We will stay there again

Room Tip: Very small Rooms but very cozy for a couple. Bed was very comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AJ0222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
Cannaregio
B4 Bellini Venezia
B4 Bellini Venezia
#109 of 387 in Venice
1,645 reviews
Cannaregio
Hotel Il Mercante di Venezia
Cannaregio
Hotel Florida
Hotel Florida
#239 of 387 in Venice
689 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cannaregio
Hotel Agli Artisti
Hotel Agli Artisti
#295 of 387 in Venice
582 reviews
Cannaregio
Hotel Villa Rosa
Hotel Villa Rosa
#184 of 387 in Venice
534 reviews
Santa Croce
Hotel ai Tolentini
Hotel ai Tolentini
#208 of 387 in Venice
259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Belle Epoque? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Belle Epoque

Address: Canareggio 127/128, 30120 Venice, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Cannaregio
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #192 of 387 Hotels in Venice
Price Range: £44 - £208 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Belle Epoque 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Belle Epoque overlooks Lista di Spagna and offers rooms in tipycal ambience who dates back to 1700. The furniture recalls the venetian style in two colours: red or green and feature Murano glass chandeliers. All the rooms are equipped with soundproof, bathrooms in white marble with shower, air conditioning, satellite television, safe and internet connection. A panoramic elevator will take you up to the floor to your room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Belle Epoque reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Belle Epoque Hotel
Belle Epoque Malcesine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing