We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely modern hotel in Venice”
Review of Ca' Pozzo Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ca' Pozzo Inn
Ranked #20 of 474 Venice B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 November 2013

We stayed here for two nights as part of our honeymoon and were delighted with our choice of hotel. Many hotels in this price range looked rather small and old fashioned so it was a real surprise when we came across this modern hotel for the same price.

First of all, getting there. We arrived by train and contrary to some reports on here the hotel was very easy to find. Basically, once you exit Santa Lucia station ignore the first bridge outside the station and turn left and walk past the shops and restaurants until you reach another bridge. Cross the bridge and turn immediate left along the canal. Look for an alleyway on your right (almost immediately) with a small "Pozzo" sign above it. The hotel is at the end of this alleyway.

The hotel itself is spotless. The room is spacious and there is a fridge containing 2 bottles of water which are free to guests. Further drinks can be purchased from the mini-bar at very reasonable prices. The bathroom was spotless, as was the room and a nice little touch was receiving a little box of chocolates on the pillow when we arrived.

Customer service from the hotel was also excellent. The guy that greeted us on the front desk was very friendly and had a lot of advice for us. He seemed very proud of the hotel. The night porter was also friendly and whilst his English was probably not as good he still tried to help as much as he could.

Breakfast was great and the girl serving coffees was also friendly. There is a lot of choice here and was perfect for setting us up for a full day out in Venice.

Although it was the beginning of October, we ventured up onto the roof garden which would be great to sit out in the summer I would imagine. It's so peaceful away from the hustle and bustle of the Venetian streets.

Although Venice is not a huge place, it seemed bigger once we got there due to the many twists and turns through the streets to get to the main attractions. Although further out than most of the main areas, I think this hotel is in a perfect location as it is peaceful and quiet but at the same time, near to plenty of shops and restaurants and right next to one of the Vaporetto stops.

Overall, a great hotel and a fantastic experience which I would fully recommend.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank m1ster_wolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VandenBoer, john at Ca' Pozzo Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 December 2013

Thanks for the compliments!many thanks for giving very good street directions too!
all the best
john

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (771)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

221 - 227 of 771 reviews

Reviewed 22 October 2013

We were here for two nights in October before our cruise. We walked from Piazzale Roma, the bus station just across the bridge from Venice (taking an inexpensive bus from the airport) to the hotel following their excellent directions. It is a few minutes off of the beaten track of huge crowds in Venice and around the corner from a fun neighborhood with great shopping and fun restaurants. Samantha was so helpful at this small hotel, answering our questions and helping us get around with her very good English. Our room was big enough, spotless with a modern bathroom and comfortable beds. We had our own small patio which we couldn't use due to some rain but we would have enjoyed coffee and breakfast out there, weather permitting. Our room included a delicious breakfast and coffee to order. I had two cappuccino's both mornings and we even had a complimentary bottle of cold prosecco waiting for us when returned our first evening.
Contacting the hotel directly will get you a better price! We were even upgraded. I would recommend this hotel to anyone and the location was perfect with the vapparetto about a 1 minute walk from the hotel. After we checked out, the hotel manager told us to stop by and use the internet and have a complimentary coffee if we were feeling tired and needed a rest during the day. I left my cell phone and we were called telling us they had it within 30 minutes of checking out! Kind, nice, helpful people!

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the first floor so you don't have to carry up your luggage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank photojunkie25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VandenBoer, Front Office Manager at Ca' Pozzo Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2013

thank you so much for the compliments you pay to me but it is quite easy the job when we have very nice people to discuss with. it is true that booking an hotel directly by official website, telephone or e-mail is always a very method to save money. you can easily negotiate the rate or get a very good deal! I wish you all the best and hope i will see you next year !samantha

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2013

What a wonderful surprise to reach the end of the alley and find this gem of a hotel! We had a lovely room with welcome heat after a lot of cool, rainy weather. Breakfast was fabulous and the staff were warm and welcoming. We loved the neighborhood and location - an easy walk from the train but also easy access to foot/boat travel to San Marco or the Rialto. I would go back in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Margaret S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VandenBoer, Manager at Ca' Pozzo Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2013

thank you so much for the review you posted for us! come and visit us very soon .all the best john

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2013

At the end of a visit to Bologna we decided to stay in Venice for two nights since we had to fly from Venice airport to get back home. We wanted a hotel that was near the bus station and the train station but not too near. Looking
at the map Ca' Pozzo seemed to fit the bill. We made the right decision since the hotel was perfectly situated for the stations and was an excellent base for exploring Canareggio and indeed the rest of Venice. Our only regret was that we only had two nights at the hotel.

The hotel is at the bottom of a narrow alley off the canal front. There is no sign pointing to it but the alley has the name Sottoportego Ca' Pozzo written over it. Although the alley can smell a bit fishy at times because of the fish stall that is set out in front of it each morning there is certainly no smell once you get to the hotel at the end of the alley. It is a true gem that only reveals itself once you reach the gates.

The hotel is very modern and clean. The staff are very welcoming and helpful. To catch our flight we needed to make an early start (because of a 24hr transport strike) and so, since we had to miss breakfast, we were provided
with a very nice picnic to take with us to the airport.

The room was large enough for our needs with plenty of room for our clothes and other bits and pieces. It was clean and comfortable and very quiet. The WiFi signal in our room (202) was strong so there was no problem getting on the Web.

The bathroom was also spacious with plenty of shelf space. There was no window but that was not a problem since the light switch also turned on an extractor fan.

Breakfast was excellent - the usual selection of meats, cheeses, pastries, and fruit. We were sorry we had to miss breakfast on our last morning.

We would strongly recommend the hotel to anyone wanting a convenient base that is comfortable and relaxing.

Room Tip: Our room was on an upper level. There is no lift and so that might be a problem for some people. T...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Seemakell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VandenBoer, Manager at Ca' Pozzo Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2013

thanks for coming to our small inn!!!nicola

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2013

Don't let the alley way put you off, at the end is a very modern hotel, especially for Venice. We were given a private suite which was very nice. View only of an internal courtyard but the room is great and very private with lots of space. After being in old buildings with period Venetian rooms, this was a pleasant change to have something modern. Breakfast however is not the high point. Very standard italian continental Buffett. If you are looking for somewhere quite then this is the place for you

Room Tip: Try for private suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nowweare4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VandenBoer, Front Office Manager at Ca' Pozzo Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2013

Good morning, I'm sorry for the view but ca' pozzo is located in an inner courtyard so it is a very quiet area but no canal view.
all the best samantha

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2013

The hotel was in a fantastic location and the room was spacious and very clean. The breakfast was great and there was plenty of choice. The staff were really friendly and really went out of their way to find us another hotel for our extended stay in Venice in early October. I highly recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ramila P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VandenBoer, Front Office Manager at Ca' Pozzo Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2013

Good afternoon, it was a pleasure to help you! we are glad you enjoyed the extended night in the lovely hotel we found you!!!!we hope we will see you very soon. all the best samantha

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2013

This hotel has the perfect location, right around the corner from shopping and restaurants, and only a 10 minute walk from the train station. Although I read online reviews before I booked the hotel that it's located inside a smelly alleyway and it was hard to find. It was not true at about the stinky alley, it was actually quite a lovely alley that even drew in some people passing by to come in and take pictures. Since I google-mapped it ahead of time, I didn't have any problem looking for it. The sign above the alley entrance is not that big, but it was not hard to see if you were looking for it. If it helps future visitors, the alley is right near the Guglie bridge and water bus stop. As I walked over from the train station, there were written signs on the walls pointing to the "Ponte Guglie".

The rooms are clean, modern, and at a good size. Very friendly staff at the hotel, they were very helpful in answering my questions for getting around, and made sure to check with water taxi before providing an accurate quote. Breakfast selection was good, and the server was very friendly. Although I didn't use the airport water bus, but the hotel is also located very convieniently near the Guglie water bus stop, which has a water bus that goes to the airport.

The only problem I had was that the wifi signal was weak in our room, we have to stand next to the door to get a stable signal. Other than the wifi issue, this hotel was pefect, and at a good price. I'll definately stay in this hotel again if I ever visit Venice for a 3rd time. We stayed in a room on the ground floor, so we didn't have problems with carrying luggage to our room, but the hotel doesn't have an elevator for those carrying their luggage to the upper floors.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank didarx79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VandenBoer, Front Office Manager at Ca' Pozzo Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2013

Thank you so much for your review! We perfectly know that it is not so easy to find us but there is a very useful pdf map on our official website. it would help you a lot!

We do apologize for the wi fi signal !
the wifi connection usually works in a proper way but I suppose that sometimes it could happen that the signal is quite weak.
all the best samantha

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
Cannaregio
Hotel Al Mascaron Ridente
Hotel Al Mascaron Ridente
#46 of 385 in Venice
233 reviews
Cannaregio
Hotel Filu
Hotel Filu
#12 of 474 in Venice
156 reviews
San Polo
Residenza degli Angeli
Residenza degli Angeli
#17 of 474 in Venice
645 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Croce
Ca' San Giorgio
Ca' San Giorgio
#6 of 474 in Venice
1,112 reviews
Cannaregio
Ca' Gottardi
Ca' Gottardi
#32 of 474 in Venice
655 reviews
Santa Croce
Ca dei Polo
Ca dei Polo
#14 of 474 in Venice
587 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ca' Pozzo Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ca' Pozzo Inn

Address: Cannaregio 1279 | Sotoportego Ca' Pozzo, 30121 Venice, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Cannaregio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 474 B&Bs / Inns in Venice
Price Range: £63 - £172 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ca' Pozzo Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The peace and harmony provided by a minimalist design, together with the convenience of a Venice inn located in the historic center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and HotelsClick so you can book your Ca' Pozzo Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ca` Pozzo Hotel Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing