We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazed at all of the high ratings!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Locanda ai Bareteri
Ranked #19 of 454 Venice B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Amazed at all of the high ratings!”
Reviewed 29 October 2013

We recently stayed here for three nights. On a positive note, the rooms were clean, the location was perfect and the staff was very nice. That is where it ends. The breakfast was very poor by European standards. The three flights of steps with no lift were a concern for us with our luggage. There was no way to contact anyone at night....with no access to telephones in the room or anywhere else.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Sturgeon145
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

578 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    359
    177
    28
    9
    5
See reviews for
146
313
9
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2013

We have just stayed in room 103 for just 1 night.

Positives: friendly staff and a good location for the sights. Big room with a big bathroom and a fridge.

Negatives: mould in the bathroom, far too noisy from the street outside into the early hours so we had a terrible nights sleep. The worst thing was that the duvet at our end reeked of BO which made me actually heave. Breakfast was disappointing, mainly just packeted things. No TV but this didn't bother us.

Room Tip: This place wasn't awful but I certainly wasn't worth what we paid (EUR150). Walking back to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank thefigroll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mission Viejo, California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2013

Good:
Centrally located between Rialto Bridge and St. Marks.
Staff was friendly and spoke English.
Breakfast was nice (coffee, toast, yogurt, butter/jams).

Bad:
The good beds were hard as concrete slabs. The bad beds had springs poking up. When we asked to change rooms because of the beds, staff said they were all like that.

Showers are TINY. I'm 5'8" and I barely fit inside the curtains.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank J T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moorpark, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2013

This hotel is in the perfect spot midway between the Rialto Bridge and Piazza San Marco. It's by tons of very good restaurants and great shopping and a few hundred feet away from the famous Venice gondolas. The staff was incredibly helpful and hospitable and the rooms were a decent size and very clean.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stoc114
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ferney-Voltaire, France
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2013

The Locanda ai Bareteri is your basic, no-frills B&B in the heart of Venice about midway between the Rialto Bridge and Piazza San Marco. The staff are very friendly and helpful. The rooms are large and clean (although the town does have a mosquito problem, as one would expect, and you may notice that there are mosquito death scenes on the walls and ceilings all over the room.) The continental breakfast is okay. All-in-all, if you're just looking for a room in Venice, this is a reasonably priced hotel for a few night's stay.

Room Tip: This B&B does not have an elevator and there are many stairs. It's good for your glutes, but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jmkincaid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2013

We stayed with our teenage son in two nights during july with 35 degrees. Thanks to the AC! The triple room was perfect for us and we found the old fashioned room charming. We appreciated the beds, wifi, perfect cleaning and the friendly service. Unfortunately the hot water run out in the morning. The breakfast was ok

Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Jannalenaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abergavenny, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2013

We have just returned from 2 nights at Locanda ai Bareteri - we could not fault this stay in any way. (And yes - we are very critical people).
Excellent communication from the time of contact to book - location map supplied was very accurate.
Very warm and pleasant welcome to 4 hot tired travellers. Help given, without asking, for carrying of large suitcases. (This was the end of a longer trip). As we arrived early the bags were stored quickly and we were shown to a pleasant room and toilet facilities where we were able to freshen up before the sightseeing commenced.
On arriving back later in the day our bags were ready in our room for us and the room was spacious, clean and cool with a large double bed and 2 single beds. (Room 103) The air conditioning was excellent. The whole Locanda was very clean and decorated with a simple Italian style, unpretentious and sympathetic to the age of the building and location.
At breakfast each day we were greeted immediately and were able to help ourselves to fruit juices, yoghurts, fresh fruit etc. whilst hot drinks were made fresh to order and a generous basket of pastries and rolls etc. supplied freshly cooked and still warm.
We were given our own keys to the building and were able to treat the place as "home" during a tiring and hot 2 days of sightseeing and shopping - it was really good to be able to pop back without disturbing anyone either to drop off shopping or have a siesta or shower. The location was perfect to allow for seeing all the sights.
We would not hesitate to highly recommend this Locanda to our friends and family and look forward to being able to return.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ted_on_Tour_2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
San Marco
Locanda Orseolo
Locanda Orseolo
#4 of 384 in Venice
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,983 reviews
Castello
Ca' Bragadin Carabba
Ca' Bragadin Carabba
#22 of 454 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 912 reviews
San Polo
Residenza degli Angeli
Residenza degli Angeli
#18 of 454 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 590 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cannaregio
Locanda Ai Santi Apostoli
Locanda Ai Santi Apostoli
#21 of 454 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 441 reviews
Castello
3C
3C
#10 of 454 in Venice
5.0 of 5 bubbles 708 reviews
San Marco
B&B Fortuny
B&B Fortuny
#2 of 454 in Venice
5.0 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Locanda ai Bareteri? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Locanda ai Bareteri

Property: Locanda ai Bareteri
Address: Ponte dei Bareteri / Calle de Mezzo 4966 | San Marco, 30124 Venice, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Marco
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 454 B&Bs / Inns in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at 200 meters from S Marco square and 200 meters from Rialto bridge It is located in the heart of Venice, halfway between Rialto and Piazza San Marco in Venice Haberdashers, 3 minutes from the Rialto and 7 from the San Marco. The "Locanda" is spread over 5 floors (no elevator) consists of 6 rooms (large size) divided between double, triple and quadruple rooms and a breakfast room on the first floor. The structure is elegant yet informal meeting place for many artists who find in our guest house accommodation reserved and at the same time, central place to stay during their travels in the lagoon city. The rooms are equipped with private bathroom, hairdryer, air conditioning, some with mini bar (on request). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Locanda ai Bareteri reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Locanda Ai Bareteri Hotel Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing