We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Quaint Old World Charm, Peaceful Place to Rest"”
Review of Hotel Ca' d'Oro

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Ca' d'Oro
Ranked #89 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 May 2014

We spent only one night here on a two day visit to Venice. This hotel is off the beaten path which is wonderful after maneuvering through the crowds of the far more popular places. The hotel has charm of several centuries ago. Loved the beamed ceilings, the shutters on the windows were cool as they turned down and gave the room a very charming effect. The air conditioner worked well which was surprising in such an old hotel. We arrived slightly after check in time and were given the key to the room immediately with no wait. We had a canal view on a lower floor and could see the boats from our room. Breakfast was adequate and nice that it was provided in the downstairs area and was offered as late as 10:30. The room was quiet and we were not interrupted as we slept even though our room was located directly off of the elevator. The staff was very helpful in allowing us to leave our bags there the next day so we would not have to carry them around with us while shopping and sightseeing. We picked them up only before we headed to the Train Station which was not a long walk. The staff also allowed me to use an electrical connector since our camera ran out of battery. We charged it enough to get those last minute pictures along the canal. They were very helpful and their service was much appreciated.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank cphilpot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (722)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

207 - 213 of 722 reviews

Reviewed 9 May 2014

A haven of peace in the wonderful madness and charm of Venice. This was the first time we'd been to Venice and the hotel was just what we wanted. Our view from room 204 was absolutely perfect overlooking a quiet back canal with picturesque houses, bridges and boats, and our shared water taxi from the airport was able to drop us off right outside. My only gripe was that the breakfast coffee was tasteless and the orange juice way too sweet - both from a machine - but the fresh fruit and buffet made up for it and we stopped for some great coffees around Venice. It's a short walk to the vaporetto stop, the Rialto bridge and lots of trattorias.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with canal view - 204/206 great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jinny H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2014

had a wonderful stay over the Easter Holiday weekend!
our room overlooked the canal with four single beds, large enough 4 of us, a couple and 2 DD 9 and 18.
helpful and friendly staffs.
great location, a short walk to Ca' d'Oro and F. Nuovo stops for water buses.
wifi was susprisingly good; breakfast was just ok!
definetly come back!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cecenick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2014

My husband and I spent three nights here. We had a room overlooking the canal. What a sight! The room was large with a large bathroom for European standards. We had no problems with check-in, front desk staff were friendly. The hotel offers breakfast in the morning. It was nice to not have to search for breakfast. Just go downstairs grab a croissant, fruit and espresso and out the door for the day! Location is ideal. Off the beaten path a bit so very quiet at night time. The rooftop terrace is two tables but a great view of the sky and canal below. We would definitely stay here again!!

Room Tip: Spend the few extra bucks for a canal side room...you won't be disappointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jet-and-Jupo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2014

I'm not sure what a previous reviewer means about being 'charged for things they don't tell you about' - utter hogwash. You get charged for a room and the Venice tax and any extras you have like a glass of wine. Service is fine, just not OTT, and the beds are normal beds; perhaps 'larger' people would find them problematic, but not the majority I'm sure. Breakfast is standard but not over wide in the range of things available, but it does fine. Location is good and as always in Venice it's surrounded by interesting calle etc.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John1967-York
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2014

My husband and I spent 3 nights here in a room overlooking the canal. The room was quite small but well equipped. We were given a bottle of Prosecco as we were celebrating a birthday and anniversary. The staff were most obliging and friendly. Breakfast was adequate consisting of cereals, toast, cheese, ham etc and juices along with hot beverages. Only a short walk from the water bus stop and the station could be reached within a quarter hour. Overall very good.

Room Tip: Try to get a room overlooking the canal
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tufty59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2014

The property Improperly described hotel rooms ....service was rude they charge you for things that they do not tell you about and they have unsafe practices with room keys. Beds are very small not what Americans will be use to.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Hotels2585
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
Cannaregio
Hotel Hesperia
Hotel Hesperia
#88 of 385 in Venice
1,023 reviews
Cannaregio
Foscari Palace
Foscari Palace
#83 of 385 in Venice
1,123 reviews
Castello
Hotel Canaletto
Hotel Canaletto
#113 of 385 in Venice
1,164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Castello
Rio Venezia Hotel
Rio Venezia Hotel
#84 of 385 in Venice
458 reviews
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Hotel Tiziano
Hotel Tiziano
#64 of 385 in Venice
537 reviews
Castello
Hotel da Bruno
Hotel da Bruno
#48 of 385 in Venice
1,083 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ca' d'Oro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ca' d'Oro

Address: Corte Barbaro, Cannaregio 4604, 30131 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Cannaregio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#80 Family Hotel in Venice
#110 Romantic Hotel in Venice
Price Range: £47 - £217 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Ca' d'Oro 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , LoveHolidays, Expedia, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Ca' d'Oro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Ca d Oro
Ca d Oro Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing