We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Tiziano”
Review of Hotel Tiziano

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Tiziano
Ranked #74 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Austin, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Beautiful Tiziano”
Reviewed 15 March 2012

We stayed at the Tiziano with our two teenaged sons in Spring 2010. We thoroughly enjoyed staying at this beautiful hotel. Lovely accommodations -- we were traveling on a moderate budget and it was the nicest hotel by far that we stayed at in Italy. A travel company booked our hotels, so we didn't research it much, but we were very satisfied. It apparently was built as a home in the 1500s, was apartments, and then renovated as a hotel about 5 years ago. It's in the Dorsodoro area, so is a bit off the touristy area, but we enjoyed the quiet location and got to see areas that we might not have otherwise. Large windows look over an open area and a small canal. Getting there was a little tricky rolling our suitcases behind us! (We got to use the "Universal language" in asking some locals how to get there--we had good directions, but missed a turn and went too far). If you go, download a map and look for detailed directions ("streets" are often very narrow passageways between buildings). Note: Google maps may not show the exact location of the hotel. Nice friendly service. Delicious breakfast goodies served on fine china. A true Venetian elegance.
We found a couple of good restaurants nearby (although most close during the afternoon.)
I will add what I tell anyone who goes to Venice -- be sure to visit the Gesuiti church (Santa Maria Assunta). It's not on most of the "must sees" but is simply breathtaking. It's clear on the other side of the island near the Fondamente Nuove vaporetto stop (where you get on the water bus to Murano) in northern Cannaregio. It was the last church we visited -- sort of a last minute decision -- and our favorite in Italy!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HM--traveling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

492 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    257
    175
    44
    7
    9
See reviews for
104
279
16
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
salt lake city, ut
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2012

The Hotel Tiziano describes itself as "close to the train station," but it was a bit of a hike (over 6 bridges) with our bags. Still, once we found it, we were delighted. The hotel itself was beautifully restored, on a quiet residential street. The breakfasts were great - better croissants than we had in Paris! The staff spoke excellent English and were very helpful (my husband hurt his knee and we had to buy a cane, and they directed us to a place where we could find one). It was also quite cold when we visited Venice, but the room was snug and warm. Wifi service was good, too. We would definitely recommend the hotel, or use it again if (when) we return to Venice.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank barbizondamazon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2012

Lovely quiet hotel with excellent rooms and breakfast. Staff are really helpful and free wifi is available. Quiet location on edge of Dorsoduro means that some walking is needed if only to vapourer to station. Not too far from P.le Roma if arriving from airport by express coach. We visited when very cold (canals frozen)but it was warm and comfortable inside.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SteveAndJac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orange, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2012

Stayed for 2 nights in a family room 100 mtrs from hotel, room was modern and clean, staff were friendly.
Only issue was location as we had too many bags after a long holiday and had to lug them though the streets to reach the hotel.
Positive side was it was away from st marcos square which was v v touristy! Next time may look to a hotel closer to a ferry stop.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spaniard in UK
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 December 2011

We had an issue in our room with flying ants. Just imagine flying ants getting everywhere in your room (into your bed linen, bags, clothes, bath, etc). Ok, I know that it may be quite normal in Venice depending on the season. However you would expect a more decent and proactive response from the staff of a 3-star hotel. Instead we only got rude answers from most of the staff, making you feel that you were just trying to be annoying. I later found out that by the time I had first reported the issue they still had an available room with no issues at all. However they decided that instead of offering that room to us it would be much more profiteable to keep the room still on the market and fumigate our room instead. After a day of exploring Venice by the time we got back in our room we found out that it had been fumigated with strong ant killers and that they did not even bother cleaning the room after that. Result: smelly room, smelly clothes, dead ants everywhere and my wife suffering asthma issues (enough to file a Health & Safety complaint). By that time the empty room had been booked to someone else. They offered us a tiny discount but, to be honest, we could have slept in a 1* hostel for half that price and our stay in Venice would still have been much more comfortable.
On the positive side, the location of the hotel is very good. All the character of Venice but without all the crowds of tourists that are found around St. Marco.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HectorG_80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2011

This hotel is very old and romantic. I loved our room - very spacious and clean. Our window's opened out overlooking a canal. Great AC. Clean bathroom. Nice breakfast. Staff at the front desk were not very friendly - but maybe that is their custom.

Location is fairly close to the train station. If you have a lot of luggage you may want to take a water taxi as there are many bridges and the roads are cobblestone.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lissea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hays, Kansas
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2011

My experience in Hotel Tiziano was a positive one.

The hotel is located in a quiet residential neighborhood of Venice. As much as this could be of benefit, this is also the ONLY drawback of this hotel. As it is located fairly in the interior of one of the six districts of Venice, getting there on foot could be a hassle if you don't have a comprehensive map of Venice. If you don't mind spending, you could take Venice's water-taxi and easily get there from Venice's train or bus station. If you travel from the airport by the Ali-Laguna boat, you need to get off at the stop called "Zattere." From there it is about 10-15 minutes by walk, provided you don't get lost in the smaller side-streets. These side-streets could be tricky for first-timers as you could either be going round and round without making any progress or reach a dead-end and may need to walk all the way back or you could be walking in a totally different direction. Barring this shortcoming, this is truly a great hotel to stay.

The lobby itself suggests that it is a cosy place to stay. The room was very comfortable and clean. The bath/toilet was fairly spacious. The small drawback of the bathtub is its half-door (a door that extends from one end of the wall to half the length of the tub) causing water to spill out of the tub when you shower. Staff was extremely friendly and helpful. They were nice enough to make free print-outs of some reservations that I had made after I reached Venice. I know many places in Europe where they charge a minimal fee for similar services. Internet was free and came in handy to make museum reservations online.

Their breakfast is awesome. This came in handy as I was mostly traveling seeing places. After a good breakfast, I could postpone my meal until early in the evening concentrating more on sight-seeing and worrying little about where or when I would eat next. If I needed, I could grab a quick bite and go on. However, eating in Venice was not at all an issue as there are plenty of places with a wide range of prices!

Overall, this was a pleasant and memorable stay, worth the price I paid for, barring the tedious walk to the hotel from the pier (upon arrival) and from the hotel to the train station (when I departed) carrying my bags across the numerous bridges of Venice (bridges connect to sides of a district as Venice is built on water).

Room Tip: All rooms are equally good. All attractions in Venice can be reached by walk from this hotel. The...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NYPhysician
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
Castello
Hotel da Bruno
Hotel da Bruno
#48 of 385 in Venice
1,011 reviews
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Arlecchino Hotel
Arlecchino Hotel
#81 of 385 in Venice
1,029 reviews
Castello
Hotel Casa Verardo - Residenza D'Epoca
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Castello
Rio Venezia Hotel
Rio Venezia Hotel
#86 of 385 in Venice
419 reviews
Santa Croce
Hotel Al Duca di Venezia
Santa Croce
Hotel Ca' Zusto Venezia
Hotel Ca' Zusto Venezia
#54 of 385 in Venice
821 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Tiziano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Tiziano

Property: Hotel Tiziano
Address: Sestiere Dorsoduro 1873 | Sestiere di Dorsoduro, 30123 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Dorsoduro / Accademia
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#29 Business Hotel in Venice
#74 Romantic Hotel in Venice
#140 Family Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Tiziano 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Nozio Netplan srl, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Priceline, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Hotel Tiziano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tiziano Hotel Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing