We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Romantic few days away in Venice”
Review of Hotel Tiziano

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Tiziano
Ranked #68 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 March 2014

This Hotel is off he beaten track, not far from the bus station. However, it is not too far from the main attractions of Venice. If you have a good map you will find this Hotel without difficulty as we did. The Hotel is immaculate, and in a quiet area of Venice. The rooms etc. spotlessly clean. The staff welcoming, friendly and very helpful. Nothing was too much trouble. Breakfast was continental style, but offering the guests a large selection to choose from, all freshly made. (Bread, meats, cheese cakes, Fruit Salad, yogurts, juice). We would highly recommend this Hotel, it is a hidden jewel. We would definitely book here if we return to Venice.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tiziano V, Responsabile reception at Hotel Tiziano, responded to this reviewResponded 2 March 2014

Thanks for the nice review.
We're really happy that you enjoyed the time spend in our hotel and that we left a good memories of us.
Best Regards
The staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (522)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

197 - 203 of 523 reviews

Reviewed 24 February 2014

This is a perfect little hotel, very neat, quiet, affordable and friendly. I've stayed there 4 times over the last 6 years and it had never crossed my mind to look for a different hotel next time around.

Room Tip: Avoid taking a room on the ground floor - there's a quite a bit of noise from comings and goings...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mkachman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tiziano V, Responsabile reception at Hotel Tiziano, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2014

Thanks for the review.
We hope you will come to visit us again soon then!
Best Regards
The staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2014 via mobile

I've stayed at this hotel with my wife for a short weekend break. We were pleased with the hotel and the service.

Location
The hotel is 30 minutes walk from the Piazza di San Marco but you can take a water public transport which takes you directly to the Piazza in 10-15 minutes. The closest stop is S. Basilio, 5 minutes walk from the hotel. Btw, you can buy the tickets on the boat but it costs you €7 one way. It is much better to buy a 24h ticket for €20 and you can use the boat for one day in Venice. There are other travel cards available for two and three days. On the boat you can only buy single trips or 24h cards.
The hotel is also 15 minutes walk from Piazza de Roma, where buses from airports arrive. If you are landing at Marco Polo airport you can take a boat to Venice. From Treviso airport you can take the bus. It costs €10 single or €18 return.
Water taxis are extremely expensive. It can easy cost €70-€80 for 10-15 minutes ride. Public water transportation is good and runs all night too.

Note: bring a GPS with you to walk around in Venice, otherwise you will be lost all the time!

Rooms
The rooms was very clean and comfortable. This is a historical fashion hotel very well maintained. You can notice that everything looks new. The room was not big though but enough for a weekend. The TV was very small and it wasn't working. But we didn't bother to ask the reception. I'm sure they would come to fix it straight away.
The bathroom was new, very clean and the shower with hot water in seconds and working very well. Sometimes this is important after walking all day. Nothing better than a good shower :)

There was no kettle in the room to make a coffee or tea. That would be my only suggestion to the manager.

Breakfast
The breakfast was good. Different jams, cereals, yogurt, ham, cheese, two types of bread only and different cakes... And Apple strudel, which I love! Coffee and teas. Not a great variety but good enough. Breakfast runs until 10am but they are flexible and you can stay much longer.

Service
Excellent. Very friendly and helpful giving tips about what to visit in Venice and making sure we didn't want anything else for breakfast before taking the food to the kitchen.

Overall the experience was very good and we would stay again in this hotel. If you are looking for something more central, then this is probably not the best option, but we wanted something quite and that's why we chose this one.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Fjeron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tiziano V, Responsabile reception at Hotel Tiziano, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2014

Thanks for the good and very detailed review.
We do a lot of maintance every year for let you find a nice room and if we notice that something looks old we replace it with a new one. Our staff is really proud for what you write in this review.
We don't have any kettle in the room and we're gonna discuss to put one in the rooms, but for the moment we have a bar in the hall and our staff is gonna be happy to prepare a pot of hot water for the tea or a coffee.
Thanks for let us know about the tv, we already fixed the problem.
Best regards
Riccardo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2014

We stayed at the Tiziano for three nights in February. Could not fault the hotel. Excellent service, friendly staff, our room was lush without being over the top - very comfortable. Breakfast was simple but plentiful and tasty. The walk from the bus station was a bit difficult as the hotel is tucked away but it only took us 20 minutes or so to find it. And when you know where you are going, the walk is quicker. I would strongly suggest you get a good map of the city before you arrive as this will make all the difference to finding your way. Whilst not in a central location the area where the hotel sits is full of character and the walks to the major sites are fabulous.

We would have no hesitation in returning to Venice and to the Tiziano.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vaseylady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tiziano V, Responsabile reception at Hotel Tiziano, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2014

Thanks for the good review. We're happy to hear that you enjoyed the time spent here.
We usually send a map and some information to reach us by email, i said usually because not all the agency let us know the email of our guest. I suggest to our future customers to write an e-mail to us a couple of day before the arrival (if they not already receive one from us) and we're gonna send the information to reach us.
Best Regards
Riccardo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2014

We stayed for four nights over new year with the hotel Tiziano and couldn't be happier with the service and the quality of the room for such an affordable rate.
The hotel once found is extremely near the bus station and the vaporetti and is in a quiet situation.
The staff are all extremely friendly and the room was light and large for the price we paid. Would recommend the hotel to anyone.
Just wish we had stayed a bit longer in this wonderful city

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank l0zzab0zza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2013

The Hotel Tiziano is located quite a distance from the train station in Venice for walking to. During our 7 day trip in Italy we never got lost in any of the cities until Venice. The challenge is that the streets are poorly marked even for being in Italian and then there's the water. When we arrived, it was pouring rain and the water taxi's were packed to the extent that it was bursting with people. The kids were getting out of school and didn't seem to care as they tried to pry themselves on board rather than wait for the next taxi. I really didn't want to be part of an international story about people drowning on a water transportation craft. After not getting to the hotel for over an hour I finally called for directions as we were on the wrong taxi. The manager from the hotel met us at the stop and lead us to the hotel which was still a considerable distance.

The hotel is quite quaint, no elevator and the breakfast area is small as well. The staff was very friendly The room was clean and small. There were so many people walking around lost and walking around lost with luggage it was ridiculous. I helped a lady and her daughter carry their bags over a very steps intensive bridge. GPS is spotty at best on my iPhone and the hotel manager told me it only works periodically. It makes no sense to me why there would not be better directions for the labyrinth city of Venice. Lost people don't usually spend much money while lost. We didn't get the back way to the bus station until we left and it was still no cake walk to get there. The taxi to the airport is expensive and taking the bus can save you considerably.

Room Tip: If you don't like stairs request a room on the lowest floor available. There is no elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kevin C P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2013

Delightfully quiet - no thronging tourists, just students passing the end of the street twice a day and the occasional local resident, which gave much relief from the bustle of central Venice. Easy walking distance to the mainland bus and train stations (15 minutes), the San Basilio vaporetto stop and several of the best restaurants in Venice. Difficult to find at first, not helped by the fact that the hotel was misplaced on Google Maps (now fixed) and the topology of the local footways was also wrong on Google Maps (reported but not yet fixed). Once you get there, the hotel has an excellent printed map with the best route marked - I wish a version of that map was on their website.

We stayed for eight nights in one of the two "deluxe" rooms; it was spacious, clean and pleasant, with a comfortable king-size double bed (plus a single bed at the far end). There was a fair-sized television (which we didn't use) and a stocked mini-bar fridge (which we used only as a fridge for our own beer and water after the first night). Wi-fi is logged into using a username and password for each device issued by reception; speed is adequate rather than speedy, and some applications refused to transfer data through it on grounds of poor security. Didn't have any need to try the air conditioning. Bath was a good size and shower was vigorous. Main hazard was mosquitos from outside, which gave a lot of bites, but didn't seem to cause as much swelling and discomfort as our British fenland ones.

There are fourteen rooms and only space for six breakfast tables, so it pays to be early or late for breakfast, though they will get everyone through in the end. Breakfast was of a high quality, with a good range of fruit juices, cereals and meusli, yoghurt (plain on request), cold meats and cheese, brown and white rolls, preserves, butter and various cakes to finish with. Coffee was good.

Apart from the local bars and restaurants, there is a local pizza takeaway which will deliver to the hotel; a sizeable supermarket near the San Basilio vaporetto stop, and a pharmacy close by.

I mention that last because on our first night in Venice my wife was laid low with shigella food poisoning by a rogue crayfish in one of the better restaurants. The hotel staff responded with huge care and consideration, plying her with regular pots of lemon tea, and repeatedly checking if there was anything they could do for either of us. They could not have been more helpful.

What could be improved? Access to a facility to make tea or coffee throughout the day would be a real boon. Proper drinking glasses in the rooms rather than flimsy plastic ones would be nice (though they happily lent us some). Otherwise, not much.

All in all, a wonderful stay, and would certainly return to this hotel if the opportunity arose. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RogFCambridge_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Arlecchino Hotel
Arlecchino Hotel
#88 of 385 in Venice
1,091 reviews
Santa Croce
Hotel Al Duca di Venezia
Castello
Hotel da Bruno
Hotel da Bruno
#48 of 385 in Venice
1,058 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cannaregio
Hotel Hesperia
Hotel Hesperia
#84 of 385 in Venice
1,014 reviews
Santa Croce
Hotel Ca' Zusto Venezia
Hotel Ca' Zusto Venezia
#54 of 385 in Venice
845 reviews
Dorsoduro / Accademia
HOTEL OLIMPIA Venice
HOTEL OLIMPIA Venice
#31 of 385 in Venice
2,193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Tiziano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Tiziano

Address: Sestiere Dorsoduro 1873 | Sestiere di Dorsoduro, 30123 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Dorsoduro / Accademia
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#29 Business Hotel in Venice
#36 Best Value Hotel in Venice
#73 Romantic Hotel in Venice
#139 Family Hotel in Venice
Price Range: £71 - £264 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Tiziano 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Nozio Netplan srl, Odigeo, Agoda, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Tiziano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tiziano Hotel Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing