We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unacceptable for the money”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Il Mercante di Venezia
Ranked #215 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Reviewed 10 November 2013

When we showed up, they said they did not have our Expedia booking and for us to get our room, they increased the price and wanted cash, half up front! We had to find an ATM and withdraw a large amount of extra cash (I'm stuck paying the ATM fees, too, of course), and it was not the best start to our Venice getaway. - The claim of a buffet breakfast is just that... not true. They offered croissants, ham, cheese, and yogurt, none of which was of any decent quality. Extremely sugary, stale, and dry. Not even any fresh fruits. EXTREMELY DISAPPOINTING! - The hotel facility, especially the first floor, stinks. - Internet costs extra... even after the extra hassle they put us through, they charged us for this. - Cleaning staff did not properly clean our place. They did not replace our sheets and instead just made the bed. They also left the windows open which let in several mosquitoes - we have the bites to prove them! - The bathroom has black mold on the walls - Bed was very uncomfortable and pillows are old and no support. PROS - Good location about 200m from the train station and roughly 70m to the Grand Canal - One staff member, Fabiola, is very helpful and nice. - Room decor and wallpaper are of an old Venetian period and is interesting. None of the pros outweigh the cons - this property was an extremely poor experience and the management did nothing to make our experience better, rather, they exploited us by charging us more and demanding cash.

Room Tip: Rooms have good decor; breakfast is horrible and poor quality so find another place to eat your firs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank KoosKoos23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (328)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

71 - 77 of 328 reviews

Reviewed 25 October 2013

Good value budget hotel, rooms are clean & tidy, close to train & vaporetto. Staff helpful & friendly to ensure you enjoy your stay in Venice. With good advice on restaurants & locations, would highly recommend.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Donna4059
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2013

We spent couple of nights in this hotel in August. This is not first our visit to Venice and mostly we stayed in Budget hotels - therefore, I can consider myself as good expert in the hotels of this class. I can say that this one was the best. Located just 500 m away from Railway station (this is very important for the guests arriving by train - you don't need to carry your heavy luggage far away by vaporeto). Rooms were very well dressed. Free WiFi in the rooms. Good breakfast (due to Italian standards) and what is the most important, very friendly service team. I fully recommend this hotel for budget travelers.

Room Tip: quite close to the railway station
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Colour-Tour-Georgia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2013

I booked this hotel in Venice because of all the good reviews but were disappointed. We need a hotel not far away from train station without crossing any bridge and this is only 5 mins walk away so the location is really awesome. It is not hard to locate with the GPS in our phone. We didn't lose our way and were in the hotel 10 mins after we arrived in Venice, which is around 12 pm. We were brought to our room immediately. Though we noticed that the floor was very dusty but we quickly forgot about it. We are not very fussy travelers and after all, it's just for one night.

It was a room for four people and has a double and two singles. Satisfied with room size and the big and spacious bathroom plus the A/C, we headed out to explore the island. The front desk gave us clear instructions on where and how to go. We ended up walking all the way to St Mark's Square. It was a thirty minutes journey according to the hotel but we took 2 hours, slowly taking in the sights along the way. Coming from Milan, which was quiet and life-less (the hotel told us it's because of non-peak period), we fell in love with Venice instantly. Beautiful and vibrant, and even though it is touristy, it is still magical.

Unfortunately, our 'beautiful' Venice trip was somehow tarnished by our choice of hotel. We only realized that the hotel is not so well cleaned up the next morning as we headed down for breakfast. The breakfast area is old and stuffy, the tables and chairs are worn out and when we observed more closely, the stairs leading to our bedroom are filled with thick layers of dust. Signs that they have not been vacuumed in ages. The breakfast has the basics but tastes bad.

It's really disappointing. Otherwise, we all love Venice and would love to go back there sometime!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank chriskoh7770
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2013

After 18 hours traveling, it is so wonderful to enter a quaint little hotel and the receptionist greets you by name. It was easy as we were the last ones to check in, but it sure was a nice touch from a smiling face in a foreign place. Our room was small and the bathroom was across the hallway, but we knew that going in as we booked the least inexpensive room. It was all fine...clean, comfortable and quiet. The included breakfast was good.
The hotel is a bit hard to find as it's in an alley. I had google earthed it several times before we left and thought I knew just where to go...got close but missed the alley, as it is very narrow and easily passed. We just asked the locals at the outside cafes and they pointed it out. We were going on a cruise and the hotel is only a 10 minute walk to the People Mover that takes you to the cruise terminal. The Vaporetto...water bus that goes along the Grand Canal is located 2 minutes from the hotel. Rialto Bridge is a 10 minute walk and from there it's only another 10 minutes to San Marco Square, St. Marks and the Doge's Palace...providing you don't get lost. If you do, it won't be for long as all you do is look up on the sides of the buildings and the streets and places are marked there.
Our stay in Venice was perfect...the Il Mercante di Venezia hotel helped make it that way.

Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank baink1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2013

The hotel is a great small lodging located very conveniently in the proximity of train Venice station and not far from the bus station. Yet your Venice experience will be truly genuine. The hotel was a bit hard to locate. You need to follow Rio Terra Lista di Spagna street (the street that leads from the stations towards Venice without crossing the bridge over the canal on the left) and then turn left into a very narrow street next to a small coffee (excellent spot for an Italian style breakfast!) and continue couple of meters. Hotel entrance will be on your left. The people at reception were friendly and rooms nice. We had room with a little balcony connecting to an opposite room and nice view into a green, bit wild, garden. It was very nice but one should not forget mosquito repelent. All the glory of Venice is just steps away from the hotel. You can walk the whole city (distance to St. Mark's square approx. 20 minutes once you know the way;)). Shops, restaurants and even minimarkets are close.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Pavel K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2013 via mobile

The staff were very helpful and nothing was too much trouble. Great location within a minute's walk to restaurants shops and the vaporetto. Spotlessly clean room whilst not huge have everything you need. Would definitely recommend

2  Thank gillik1925
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
Cannaregio
Hotel Villa Rosa
Hotel Villa Rosa
#182 of 385 in Venice
531 reviews
Hotel Canal
#246 of 385 in Venice
1,350 reviews
Cannaregio
Hotel Agli Artisti
Hotel Agli Artisti
#297 of 385 in Venice
577 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cannaregio
Hotel Nazionale
Hotel Nazionale
#251 of 385 in Venice
426 reviews
Cannaregio
Hotel Minerva & Nettuno
Hotel Minerva & Nettuno
#338 of 385 in Venice
371 reviews
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Pantalon Hotel
Pantalon Hotel
#334 of 385 in Venice
255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Il Mercante di Venezia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Il Mercante di Venezia

Address: Cannaregio 379 | Calle della Misericordia, 30121 Venice, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Cannaregio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #215 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Price Range: £44 - £156 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Il Mercante di Venezia 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
he Merchant of Venice is a splendid and completely refurbished hotel, graceful and warm with Venetian furniture of the 700. Our hotel is situated in the heart of the city, just 200 metres from the railway station and 5 minutes from the airport. All rooms are clean and cosy with bath or shower in each room. Amenities include: air conditioning, satellite TV, minibar and internet access. We offer a rich buffet breakfast and excursions to the island of Murano From the railway station S.Lucia walk down Lista di Spagna for about 100mt. Turn left at Calle della Misericordia (the 2nd one). From the autopark Tronchetto and Piazzale Roma :busboat and get off at Ferrovia (rail station) or 5 minutes walking crossing the brandnew Costituzione's bridge and then passing by the railway station. Walk down Lista di Spagna and oyu'll find us in Calle della Misericordia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Il Mercante di Venezia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Il Mercante Di Venezia Hotel Venice
Il Mercante Di Venezia Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing