We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrific Stay-Great location”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Venice
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Al Teatro Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #4 of 457 Venice B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Manahawkin, New Jersey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Terrific Stay-Great location”
Reviewed 13 June 2014

We just spent 4 nights at Al Teatro Bed & Breakfast and it was wonderful. From the moment Eleanora opened the door, welcomed us and helped us with our luggage up the flight of stairs, we were thrilled. Our room with the balcony overlooking the canal was spacious, clean, comfortable, and may I add, entertaining, with the gondoliers below the balcony singing and playing their accordions -- what fun! Breakfast was delicious and we looked forward to Eleonora's tips each day on where to eat and the best way to see the sights. We loved Venice, and Al Teatro Bed & Breakfast, just across the canal from the opera house and very close to San Marco, met our needs perfectly. Also, it was very easy (and cheap) to use the #1 Vaporetto from the train station to the San Giglio stop and walk to the B&B with our luggage....and we are not young.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Debbie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

823 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    715
    89
    12
    6
    1
See reviews for
177
471
18
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (170)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 June 2014

We had a wonderful 3 night stay at Al Teatro in May. The room with balcony was spacious and since this was our first trip to Venice, waking up to the singing gondoliers was really special.
Eleanora was a perfect host and provided us with a delicious breakfast along with good conversation and information about what to do and where to go.
We would definitely stay there again, and will recommend it to our friends.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Amber room and it was quite comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Frelley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2014

We had the pleasure of staying here for three nights and it was simply amazing. The views and breakfast alone would be enough, but it was Eleonora that was such a hospitable and a wonderful host that made our stay simply amazing. Thank you!!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Z T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australind, Australia
Level Contributor
56 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014

We were there 4 nights in Venice and stayed at the Al Teatro Bed & Breakfast. The location was perfect, was close to all the attractions (When you are not Lost)! Accommodation was great woke up to gondolas and singing each morning and
the afternoons, the room on the corner was fantastic. Elleanora the owner was fantastic with some great recommendations for dinning and traveling around Venice. Was always nice to go down to breakfast in the morning for what ever coffee style you wanted and a nice chat, very nice to sit around and chat with the other people staying at the same time from around the world. Could not fault and suggest you listen to the owner she will give you some great tips. Would recommend to all friends coming to Venice for the first time. only suggestion would be is the beds are hard, but then again all the beds in Italy we had were hard lol.Thanks for a great time regards Ron & Ros

Room Tip: I would book into the room on the corner to get the gondolas and the views when they go past. great...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RonChell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Augustine, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 June 2014

My husband and I have stayed at Al Teatro twice now -- once in November 2011 (romantic couple's getaway) and once in April 2014 (on a trip with my husband's parents). Before going to Italy the first time, I did extensive research on where to stay, and booked this B&B based on the recommendations in several guidebooks and the exceptional ratings on TripAdvisor. It was so fantastic that I did not look anywhere else for our second trip -- I booked Al Teatro right away! The location simply can't be beat -- you are literally a 5-10 minute walk to Piazza San Marco (St. Mark's Square), Basilica di San Marco (St. Mark's Basilica) and Palazzo Ducale (the Doge's Palace). The accomodations are awesome -- spacious rooms with en suite bathrooms and comfortable beds in an atmospheric historic building in the heart of Venice. The floors are made of beautiful marble and there is a fresco on the ceiling of the breakfast room. The house has been in the owner Eleanora's family for hundreds of year, and she is the real highlight of this place! She is a splendid host -- she is warm and welcoming and will take care of you like an old family friend. She used to live in the B&B with her family, but has recently moved to an apartment very close by. She is still available all day, and will give you her cell phone number in case you ever need anything while she is out. She provides a delicious and filling breakfast each morning, during which my family and I chatted with her extensively about what it is like to live in Venice, Italian politics, her family, etc. She remembered my husband and I from our first visit, and made my in-laws (who had never traveled abroad in their lives) feel right at home. She recommended several authentic, delicious places to eat and arranged for a private water taxi to take us to the airport (and then called and hassled them in true Italian style when they were late!). I simply can't say enough about Al Teatro -- this place is a gem, and if you stay there you will fall in love with it like we did!

Room Tip: If it is available, you definitely want to book the Amber Room! It is slightly more expensive, but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Caitlin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brampton, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Just spent 4 nights in Ve nice and stayed at this charming B&B. The location was perfect, right behind the Fenice Opera House, accommodation more than we expected..we stayed in Casa Rosa..woke up to gondolas and singing each morning and to top it all off, Elleanora, the owner who was our personal travel guide.Will recommend to all friends coming to Venice. Mary and Laura

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Mary W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2014 via mobile

We absolutely adored staying at this B&B. We are usually not the B&B type but this place is a happy medium between hotel & a B&B.
Our room was great and we were able to sit on the window ledges of our room and watch the gondola's float by. Eleonora is a wonderful host and full of local knowledge.
We would highly recommend anyone to stay here!

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Kellie-Anne T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
Santa Croce
Hotel Moresco
Hotel Moresco
#2 of 385 in Venice
1,862 reviews
San Marco
Locanda Orseolo
Locanda Orseolo
#3 of 385 in Venice
1,990 reviews
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Charming House DD724
Charming House DD724
#5 of 385 in Venice
754 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
The Gritti Palace, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Castello
Hotel Ai Cavalieri di Venezia
San Marco
Corte Di Gabriela
Corte Di Gabriela
#10 of 385 in Venice
731 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Al Teatro Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Al Teatro Bed & Breakfast

Property: Al Teatro Bed & Breakfast
Address: Sestiere San Marco 2554, 30124 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Marco
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 457 B&Bs / Inns in Venice
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Al Teatro Bed And Breakfast
Al Teatro Hotel Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing