We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location with canal views”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Venice
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Al Teatro Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #4 of 474 Venice B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 June 2014

My husband and I chose Al Teatro primarily because of the excellent reviews on TripAdvisor and also because of it's location. It's a 5-10 minute walk to St. Mark's Square and yet still away from the crowds. Eleonora was a great hostess. She provided us with a map and marked off the main locations. She also marked some of her favorite restaurants (we ate at three of them and they were all great!). She gave us recommendations for sites to see as well. The room was clean and spacious. The bathroom was pretty small but that's to be expected in Italy. We enjoyed having a room that looked onto the canal because we could watch (and hear!) the gondolas go by. The wi-fi worked very well. I highly recommend this B&B!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Suzanne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (842)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

215 - 221 of 842 reviews

Reviewed 20 June 2014

I recently traveled to Italy with my daughter. We stayed at Al Teatro Bed & Breakfast for our two nights in Venice. Eleanora is wonderful! She was so helpful and friendly, made the best breakfast, made sure we were comfortable and told us places to go the locals frequented. Our room was clean and spacious enough for the two of us. We had a canal view and loved listening to the singing as the gondolas passed below.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank aderieux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014

We were in Venice for 3 nights at Al Teatro and enjoyed delicious breakfasts, spacious accommodations, and the charm of being right on a canal with gondolas passing by, plus attractions and restaurants all within walking distance. Our hostess, Eleanora, was so helpful in every way!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jeanmachamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Eleeonora was a top class host, he showed us how to experience the real Venice by straying off the beaten track to eat and drink with the locals. Lovely, tidy, air conditioned, ensuite b&b, centrally located, great breakfast. We will be back!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank David K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014

We stayed for 3 nights at Al Teatro B&B and it was wonderful.

Our room: opens to 2 canals with 3 windows and the view is lovely. The canals are frequented by gondolas and in the late afternoons, we often opened the windows to enjoy the arias sang by singers on the passing gondolas, and waved at the tourists sailing pass. I occasionally sat on the wide window ledge to enjoy the view with a cup of tea. Our room is roomy and clean. Wonderful!

The location: very easy to get to from the waterbus stop, even with our luggage. The B&B is very near to St Mark’s square, Rialto Bridge, Dosoduro, Musica a Palazzo (which we enjoyed very much) and other major Venice attractions, and we walked everywhere. We usually woke up at 6am each day, walked to St Mark’s square or other campo to enjoy Venice as it was waking up (and experiencing Venice without hordes of other tourists is magical), then went back to the B&B for breakfast and lively conversations with Eleonora and other tourists staying at B&B, before heading out again.

The hostess: Eleonora is gracious, informative and friendly. Breakfast is good with a wonderful selection of fruits. Fruits and a small selection of biscuits are left in the breakfast room, in case we needed a snack during the day. She gave good recommendations for restaurants in the neighborhood we wanted to visit, as well as good advise on our itinerary. As we were leaving on the 4pm train on our last day, she readily agreed to us leaving our bags at the B&B, and gave us an access pass to get into the B&B to retrieve our bags, and even showed us a bathroom we could use after check out. Very organized and generous.

Thanks, Eleonora, we had a wonderful time in Venice, and staying at your B&B added to the magic 

Room Tip: Book early to choose the room with 3 windows over looking the canal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Leong48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2014

We spent two nights at Al Teatro B&B. Like most tourists, we got lost trying to find the place. :-) But with a bit of help from some friendly people, we located it. We then called Eleanora from a nearby hotel because we hadn't been able to give her an arrival time because we were driving from Pompeii. She arrived a few minutes later, helped us haul our heavy bags up a long flight of stairs and got us settled in. Our room with balcony overlooking the canal was amazing. It was huge and had a lovely large bathroom. Everything was immaculate.

Eleanor provided us with recommendations for restaurants and things to do. The restaurants were amazing! We can't remember the names of the two where we had our dinners, but one is a tiny little place where you have to wait outside if there's no room to wait inside (they gave us a little glass of wine and an appetizer while we waited). The other is one of Eleanora's favorites. Wonderful food and wine at both.

Breakfasts were very good. Our favorite part of breakfast was that Eleanor made "American coffee." It was good and strong, so we told her it was really "Canadian coffee" since we love strong coffee in Canada. :-)

The location was ideal. We walked almost everywhere and took the water buses when we got tired. (Note for tourists: Don't have your backpack on your back on the water buses - you might get yelled at by the locals! :-)

Of course we took the requisite gondola ride. It's pretty expensive - 80Euro - but go during the day. You'll pay more in the evening and the canals will be very congested. We actually saw a "traffic jam" one evening.

The funniest part of our stay in Venice was when we met another North American tourist on one of the 400+ bridges. He looked at us and said, "What's with all these bridges!?" My response was, "Well, I guess it beats the alternative of swimming?"

We loved Venice and we loved Al Teatro B&B.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Laurie-Dan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2014

We just spent 4 nights at Al Teatro Bed & Breakfast and it was wonderful. From the moment Eleanora opened the door, welcomed us and helped us with our luggage up the flight of stairs, we were thrilled. Our room with the balcony overlooking the canal was spacious, clean, comfortable, and may I add, entertaining, with the gondoliers below the balcony singing and playing their accordions -- what fun! Breakfast was delicious and we looked forward to Eleonora's tips each day on where to eat and the best way to see the sights. We loved Venice, and Al Teatro Bed & Breakfast, just across the canal from the opera house and very close to San Marco, met our needs perfectly. Also, it was very easy (and cheap) to use the #1 Vaporetto from the train station to the San Giglio stop and walk to the B&B with our luggage....and we are not young.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Debbie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
San Marco
Locanda Orseolo
Locanda Orseolo
#2 of 385 in Venice
2,041 reviews
Santa Croce
Hotel Moresco
Hotel Moresco
#3 of 385 in Venice
1,948 reviews
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Charming House DD724
Charming House DD724
#4 of 385 in Venice
803 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
The Gritti Palace, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Castello
Hotel Ai Cavalieri di Venezia
San Marco
Hotel Colombina
Hotel Colombina
#52 of 385 in Venice
1,880 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Al Teatro Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Al Teatro Bed & Breakfast

Address: Sestiere San Marco 2554, 30124 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Marco
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 474 B&Bs / Inns in Venice
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Al Teatro Bed And Breakfast
Al Teatro Hotel Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing