We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best place to stay in San Marco”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Venice
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Al Teatro Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #4 of 458 Venice B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Minnesota
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Best place to stay in San Marco”
Reviewed 4 July 2014

Terrific location on a quiet back canal, reasonably priced for the area, good breakfast, incredibly comfortable bed. Balcony overlooking the canal is lots of fun. Eleonora gave us indispensable advice about dining and transportation options. Be sure to ask, as there are lots of mediocre, overpriced restaurants in the area. Spacious room for three and newly renovated bathroom, plus extras you don't always get, such as racks for our suitcases and reading lamps on both sides of the bed. Our only quibble is that the excellent air conditioning beeps three times every time it turns on or off, which interrupted our sleep many times! We found San Marco too overrun with tourists, but if you do want to stay in this area, you can't do better than this B&B. Book early, as it is booked through November and already taking reservations for next summer.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kittypye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

828 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    720
    89
    12
    6
    1
See reviews for
181
471
18
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (171)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014

My wife and I spent two nights here at the tail end of our Disney Cruise.

The ship kicks us off at 830am and our check-in was for the afternoon, we had time on our hands to explore. It took us about 40 minutes from the cruise ship terminal to arrive at the B&B. We didn't take the most optimal route.

We took the water bus from the ship terminal and got off at the San Marco stop. The B&B was about a 10 minute walk from there. There is a better way and I highly recommend you consult with Eleonora (the Hostess) prior to your arrival for best directions.

Even though we arrived early, and interrupted everyone's breakfast, we were warmly greeted. Eleonora was busy serving guests at the time and requested we leave our bags and go have fun exploring for a couple hours while the rooms was made up. She handed us a map, which she would later go through in great detail marking attractions, favourite restaurants etc.

Venice is a truly unique place. The buildings are old, the corridors are narrow and my wife and I admittedly got lost a number of times. Eventually you learn to take note of the landmark stores/shops. There are so many shops and so many restaurants to choose from.

We noted the locals spoke enough English that language was never a problem. That said, I felt we were taken advantage of in one restaurant of our own choosing near the Realto Bridge. The waiter brought me two dishes, neither of which I ordered and made us pay. It was quite an argument. I would highly recommend dining at the restaurants Eleonora suggests.

Our room was exceptionally clean and featured the usual amenities of a hotel including A/C. Windows need to be close for the A/C to work. Free WiFi is also included. (1Mbit connection which was fast enough). We had the Green room (The Amber room was booked). The room featured three windows to the canal: 1 from the bathroom and two from the bedroom.

Pro Tip: The wooden shutters close in addition to the windows for a dark night's sleep. You'll hear boats and Gondoliers from early morning to late evening but that's just part of the experience. .

We paid 80 Euro for a 40 minute Gondola ride. Prices seemed to be fixed and not very negotiable.

We needed to get to Marco Polo airport and Eleonora helped us with two options: either by the public transport which was the cheapest at 16 Euro each but would take two hours OR via private taxi which cost 125 Euro but only took 1/2 hour. We opted for the private taxi because it picked us up right at the B&B and took us directly to the Airport. No stops. Eleonora phoned the day prior to book the taxi.

All told, it was an enjoyable experience. There is so much to see/do that we didn't even scratch the surface while we were there.

I went through some of the old reviews that gave an average or poor rating. I want to note that Eleonora now lives with her family in another home now. Those staying at the B&B are guests. Contrary to those reviews, my wife and I found Eleonora to be a friendly person who was extremely helpful.

Thanks Eleonora!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lagin_Vancouver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
O'Fallon, Missouri
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

My husband and I stayed at Al Teatro B&B for 2 nights in June 2014 and had a great experience. Eleonora is a wonderful host. Her family has owned the home for 5 generations so she is very knowledgeable and extremely willing to help. The house is gorgeous and has a beautiful ceiling fresco in the breakfast room. Breakfast was very good as well. Unfortunately, we were only able to enjoy it once though, since we left at 7:30 on the day we were departing (breakfast starts at 8:00). We stayed in the Amber Room, which was spacious, clean, comfortable, and had an awesome balcony overlooking the canal. It was so romantic laying in bed with the windows open and listening to the songs and music of the passing gondoliers. The location is also fantastic. It is a minute walk from the Giglio vaporetto stop and just a short walk away from St. Mark's basilica. We would recommend this B&B to anyone!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jacqueline L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 5 Contributor
27 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014

My husband and I chose Al Teatro primarily because of the excellent reviews on TripAdvisor and also because of it's location. It's a 5-10 minute walk to St. Mark's Square and yet still away from the crowds. Eleonora was a great hostess. She provided us with a map and marked off the main locations. She also marked some of her favorite restaurants (we ate at three of them and they were all great!). She gave us recommendations for sites to see as well. The room was clean and spacious. The bathroom was pretty small but that's to be expected in Italy. We enjoyed having a room that looked onto the canal because we could watch (and hear!) the gondolas go by. The wi-fi worked very well. I highly recommend this B&B!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Suzanne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Forsyth, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2014

I recently traveled to Italy with my daughter. We stayed at Al Teatro Bed & Breakfast for our two nights in Venice. Eleanora is wonderful! She was so helpful and friendly, made the best breakfast, made sure we were comfortable and told us places to go the locals frequented. Our room was clean and spacious enough for the two of us. We had a canal view and loved listening to the singing as the gondolas passed below.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank aderieux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Macungie, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014

We were in Venice for 3 nights at Al Teatro and enjoyed delicious breakfasts, spacious accommodations, and the charm of being right on a canal with gondolas passing by, plus attractions and restaurants all within walking distance. Our hostess, Eleanora, was so helpful in every way!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jeanmachamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Eleeonora was a top class host, he showed us how to experience the real Venice by straying off the beaten track to eat and drink with the locals. Lovely, tidy, air conditioned, ensuite b&b, centrally located, great breakfast. We will be back!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank David K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
Santa Croce
Hotel Moresco
Hotel Moresco
#2 of 385 in Venice
1,889 reviews
San Marco
Locanda Orseolo
Locanda Orseolo
#3 of 385 in Venice
2,000 reviews
San Marco
The Gritti Palace, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Charming House DD724
Charming House DD724
#4 of 385 in Venice
767 reviews
Castello
Hotel Ai Cavalieri di Venezia
San Marco
NH Collection Venezia Palazzo Barocci
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Al Teatro Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Al Teatro Bed & Breakfast

Property: Al Teatro Bed & Breakfast
Address: Sestiere San Marco 2554, 30124 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Marco
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 458 B&Bs / Inns in Venice
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Al Teatro Hotel Venice
Al Teatro Bed And Breakfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing