We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel in an uncrowded part of Venice”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Ca' Dogaressa
Ranked #81 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 June 2012

Last time we were in Venice the crowds gave us headaches. We choose the Jewish Ghetto area because of Trip Advisor feedback. Were glad we did. Its far enough away from the crowds but still near everything. There is a water bus stop 500 feet away. The rooms are clean and spacious and decorated in tradtional Venictian theme. Bathrooms are huge with a great shower. There are several restaurants nearby that were excellant and cheaper than the toursty part of Venice. Breakfast is served in your room or on the canal. Pay in cash and get a 5 percent discount. The hotel is family run so you are treated really well.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CherylGlendaleAZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,169)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

417 - 423 of 1,169 reviews

Reviewed 2 June 2012

A little off the beaten path, but close to the train station. Although our room and the bed was tiny, it was very clean and the bathroom was spacious. We liked staying away from the tourist mobs bc it was quiet. Breakfast in the morning outside was outstanding. Would stay at this hotel again if we ever return to Venice. Would probably bring my own pillow though (theirs were uncomfortable for us but we are not used to European ways)

Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank Amy E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2012

It was though we had come home to relax.
The owners & staff are so friendly & helpful from check in to check out.
We arrived by train & it was only a 10 min walk to the hotel with only one bridge to cross, when you cross the bridge & head for the hotel it's like another world as you leave the crowd behind.
On arrival we were offered cold bottled water, a great gesture. It's the little things that make one hotel better than another. This time we had the Green Junior Suite, last time the Yellow. Less stairs to climb. Room was immaculate again & they have upgraded the TV since our last stay which is good. The room is huge for Venice & the view is superb with three windows on the canal to choose from.
I love coming back to the room after a long day & opening all the windows, laying on the bed & listening to all the sounds outside. (No Cars)
Breakfast on the canal of course, every morning. Great to watch how jobs are carried out on the water while having breakfast. We saw boats removing sand & rubble, another delivering a coke machine, linen boats & much more.
There are some very good restaurants & bars in this area, just take a wander, & a lot cheaper than the St Marcos / Rialto area.
The ferry to the Airport is only 3 minutes walk from the Hotel, what more can you ask for.
We would recommend this hotel to everyone. We will be back.

Room Tip: Well worth the extra cost for a Junior Suite which are on the canal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ledj2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2012

Delightful, hotel in the ghetto area. The rooms are clean with extremely tasteful furnishings and with very modern bathroom amenities. The service is friendy and assisted us with all our queries. We enjoyed our breakfasts each morning by the canal and would not hesitate returning to stay here for the great overall value. .

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NosfromMaroubra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2012

This was our third time saying at this hotel and it never ceases to disappoint. My wife and I stayed in the junior suit with our daughter and mother in-law, it was cosy and wonderful. Many upgrades since the last time we were there including sat tv, wifi, and a great pub next door. The owners constantly exceed expectations when it comes to satisfying their guests. We refuse to say anywhere else.

Thanks again

Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
1  Thank knoxieboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2012

We loved this place. Rooms were small, but very clean. The washrooms were nice and clean and big. The hosts were very nice and helpful. The breakfast was pretty nice as well. The hotel is 10 min walking from the train station, and you get to walk past a whole lot of shops and restaurants.

There is the water bus stop right next to the hotel (guglie) and you can buy 24 hour tickets for 18 euros and go to San marco square and rest of venice using the water bus.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bhaskie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2012

This hotel has a beautiful design and convenient location. You can spend your night in a calm situation.

Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank indivara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
Cannaregio
Hotel Hesperia
Hotel Hesperia
#85 of 385 in Venice
1,014 reviews
Castello
Ca' dei Dogi
Ca' dei Dogi
#19 of 385 in Venice
846 reviews
Santa Croce
Hotel Dalla Mora
Hotel Dalla Mora
#88 of 385 in Venice
583 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Arlecchino Hotel
Arlecchino Hotel
#90 of 385 in Venice
1,093 reviews
Santa Croce
Albergo Marin
Albergo Marin
#108 of 385 in Venice
845 reviews
Cannaregio
Ai Mori d'Oriente Hotel
Ai Mori d'Oriente Hotel
#33 of 385 in Venice
2,418 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ca' Dogaressa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ca' Dogaressa

Address: Fondamenta di Cannaregio 1018, 30121 Venice, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Cannaregio
Amenities:
Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #81 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Price Range: £75 - £154 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Ca' Dogaressa 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Ca' Dogaressa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing