We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Well priced but watch out for the annex rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Ca' Dogaressa
Ranked #74 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
120 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Well priced but watch out for the annex rooms”
Reviewed 31 July 2014

Booked on hotels.com, lured by its VERY low price which includes breakfast and is only a few convenient steps from the Guglie stop on the airport water taxi. Everything was clean, pretty and charming, from having an ample breakfast outside by the canal, very pleasant staff, a welcome bottle of cold water upon arrival, and the stunning Murano glass ceiling light in reception. My only complaint is that my solo traveller room was in their Annex up the street. There was no desk to work at, only a straight-backed wood chair to sit on, and the minuscule bathroom did not have a proper shower but only a hand-held spray nozzle with a drain hole in the floor. The toilet, walls....everything was thoroughly soaked by the time I finished showering, not to mention how dangerously slippery the linoleum was afterward. I nearly fell twice. I'd make sure my room was in the main building before staying with them again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Phillyjanie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,132 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    808
    256
    47
    13
    8
See reviews for
182
687
42
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014 via mobile

For the price we were not expecting a great deal, but it is surprisingly great! Definitely worth it, really good rooms with air control, a big and confortable bed and a nice quietly room to rest in. The receptionist was really nice and helped us in everything that we needed. I would recommend this hotel for sure!

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank João Gabriel E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014

We stayed in this hotel for 2 nights and were surprisingly happy with it. Though it is a very small hotel, the room was very nicely decorated and the bathroom clean and modern. It has a rooftop for a higher view of the canal. Breakfast was basic but was served outdoor. We enjoyed tremendously sipping our coffee quietly in the sun with breezes while watching the water traffic. It is wonderfully situated in a quiet area of Venice, away from the crowd. It is considerably convenient as there is a water bus stop nearby. Also it is close to the railway station which is good for travellers by train. The owner is a kind elder gentleman who recommended us a nice restaurant and told us to avoid some tourist traps. It took us some 40 mins walking to San Marco but on the way there were countless shops so it was not a boring journey.

This is a gem in Venice and I will definitely come back for my next stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Oi Mei O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dongguan, China
Level Contributor
669 reviews
105 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2014 via mobile

Another nice surprise by booking app.
Some steps far from train station, this kind of apart hotel is a great concept if you wish to stay more than a couple days everybody stay in Venice
You'll have to share bathroom with your neighbor apartment, and that fir me is a real issue. However we had different timing ...
New and clean rooms, friendly staff and nice furniture style
After writing this, I'm just increasing one more star

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Ivan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile

We only stayed one night in venice and choose a hotel close to the train station for convenience. I will say for us this was the better choice but for others staying for longer period of time, San Marco area is where you want to be. This is where the famous piazza is and many restaurants by the water. Our room is great. Spacious and clean with a spacious bathroom. My only issue was the "shower" was really just a tub with a handheld attachment which is quite difficult to use if you're trying to wash your hair. Also no curtains so water went everywhere. For this reason alone I would not stay her again but I'm very particular about showers so you can make your own decision. Otherwise it was a great hotel and a place to consider if you'd like to be close to the station, about a 10 minute walk.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank persiandoll150
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, Michigan
Level Contributor
67 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014

Extremely clean and quiet, this hotel is small and has only about a dozen rooms. I paid about a hundred a night which for Venice in late June and early July is a bargain. Important point: this hotel is easy to find, which is rare for Venice. Ten minutes walk at a normal pace from the train station, the route is simple and I did not get lost. There is a kosher restaurant about 100 meters away, even if you don't keep kosher this restaurant is one of the few in Venice that serves good food, so it's a key point. The breakfast was a bit basic but it's not a problem. The room was very modern and the staff is very friendly and happy to help with whatever you need. The bed was good and the air conditioning was powerful. The wifi worked well.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Geoffrey R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KOLKATA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014 via mobile

We, a family of 3 stayed 3 nights in ca dogaressa in end may/ early June. We had booked the suite with the canal view and it was really nice. Quite opulently furnished with 2 bathrooms one of which was really large and very high tech!
It was spotlessly cleaned every day.
The hotel is in cannaregio which is a nicer and quieter area of Venice and located very close to a vaporetto stop and is well connected to all areas of Venice including the islands of murano and burano.
Both the owner and the manager ,Danielle was extremely friendly and helpful and made us feel very much at home and gave us useful information.
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would definitely recommend the place.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BRATATI K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
Cannaregio
Hotel Hesperia
Hotel Hesperia
#90 of 385 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 969 reviews
Castello
Ca' dei Dogi
Ca' dei Dogi
#25 of 385 in Venice
5.0 of 5 bubbles 767 reviews
Castello
Rio Venezia Hotel
Rio Venezia Hotel
#83 of 385 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Croce
Hotel Dalla Mora
Hotel Dalla Mora
#75 of 385 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 550 reviews
Santa Croce
Hotel Ca' Zusto Venezia
Hotel Ca' Zusto Venezia
#52 of 385 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 809 reviews
Cannaregio
Hotel Al Mascaron Ridente
Hotel Al Mascaron Ridente
#39 of 385 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ca' Dogaressa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ca' Dogaressa

Property: Hotel Ca' Dogaressa
Address: Fondamenta di Cannaregio 1018, 30121 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Cannaregio
Amenities:
Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #74 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Ca' Dogaressa 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Ca' Dogaressa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing