We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location with great staff”
Review of Hotel San Salvador

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel San Salvador
Ranked #108 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 July 2014

We stayed 2 nights here and really enjoyed the experience. Thanks to the advice and photos here we found it relatively easily and feared we would drag the bags up lots of stairs but were relieved to find it was only one flight. We arrived at 12.30 and were told the room would be ready in about half an hour - we were able to use the bathroom and leave our bags while we popped out for some lunch then returned to be shown Room 20. I think it must have been an upgrade as there was the double bed and another single and it was a lot more spacious than we expected. It was spotlessly clean and functional - especially pleased to find we had a fridge. The terrace was nice and it was no trouble to borrow a bottle opener and drink a bottle of local wine sourced from the deli shop a few minutes away. The girls were very helpful and annotated our map with recommendations of cafes, bars and restaurants to visit - we particularly enjoyed the Bacaro Jazz for happy hour cocktails which was only a few steps away from the hotel. Would definitely recommend this hotel for a value for money base in the centre of Venice with great homely service.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank LancashireLisa6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (437)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

144 - 150 of 437 reviews

Reviewed 14 July 2014

The hotel is, as others have mentioned, in a very convenient location just behind the Rialto Bridge. There are plenty of places close by to eat and drink, and being central nowhere is too far to walk.

Check in was very good, Ambre the receptionist very helpful and informative.

We were in room 16, which was a very decent size for Italy (larger than our rooms in Florence and Rome). The bathroom is indeed small but i had no issues despite bring over 6 foot. The double bed is actually 2 singles pushed together but was comfortable and as such wasn't a problem.

The only thing I'd recommend is to bring ear plugs as the walls are quite thin and there is a reasonable amount of outside noise.

For the price we paid (100 euro a night) I would happily stay here again.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Y0rkshire_Matt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2014

San Salvador is a couple of minutes walk from Rialto. We arrived by shared water taxi and had a little map - simple and clear per those on the San Salvador web site. If you do get lost, ask for the Disney store and it's up the alley to the left. Ambra and her sister did check in and are really helpful with suburb English. Prior to arrival they'd assisted me with restaurant recommendations so I could book ahead. Rooms are per the photos - Very small but quaint and spotlessly clean. Ours had en suite shower room. They have a hair dryer and fridge/mini bar but bring your own shower cap! Walls very thin and some guests forget this so you can hear conversations next door. Would certainly recommend. Some lovely restaurants close by too!

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Wayleybird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014

This hotel is very small, with small rooms, but no one comes to Venice to sit in the room. The staff are very helpful and courteous.

This hotel doesn't have fancy decor or plush fixtures. It is very basic, but clean and safe.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kelley I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2014

We stayed at Hotel San Salvador in June for 2 nights what a fantastic hotel great location only 5 minutes from Rialto Bridge in the heart of Venice but a quiet location. Ambra at the hotel is amazing nothing was too much trouble for her she is so friendly and made several useful suggestion of places to visit and eat. Room was nice and big and very clean air con worked well as did the wifi. I researched many hotels in Venice prior to staying and found this was the most reasonably priced and I was not disappointed could not recommend enough would definately stay here again.

Room Tip: Go to hotels website for excellent directions to hotel there are a few steps to climb to the rooms w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank suzanne s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

The location of the hotel was great, just behind the Rialto Bridge, but our room 14 was a tiny double bedroom with an equally tiny ensuite - we had just enough space to place both our medium/large suitcases on the floor. The room was situated right next to the reception, so conversations from the front desk were literally outside our door and we didn't feel there was any privacy, especially also not with the street noise outside our window. The receptionist was very friendly however, and recommended some wonderful traditional restaurants which we will revisit next time we're in Venice.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ellesecho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

We really enjoyed our stay. This place really is a hostel (room in a 3 bed flat) in a little alley very close to the Rialto bridge. Perfect location to get to the major sights and to the train station. The room we got was really nice, large and clean, with air con. There was a nice living room. It all felt secure - there were 3 locks between us and the outside world. Finally, the manager was a real sweetheart and very helpful. One suggestion I would make is to have a fridge, that would make it perfect.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mmm__paella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
San Marco
Hotel Casa Petrarca
Hotel Casa Petrarca
#120 of 385 in Venice
449 reviews
San Polo
Pensione Guerrato
Pensione Guerrato
#155 of 385 in Venice
596 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Orion
Hotel Orion
#106 of 385 in Venice
833 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
Hotel San Samuele
Hotel San Samuele
#97 of 385 in Venice
504 reviews
Castello
Rio Venezia Hotel
Rio Venezia Hotel
#84 of 385 in Venice
458 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Bartolomeo
Hotel Bartolomeo
#146 of 385 in Venice
454 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel San Salvador? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel San Salvador

Address: Calle Galeazza Sestiere San Marco 5264, 30124 Venice, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Marco
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#33 Best Value Hotel in Venice
#42 Family Hotel in Venice
#116 Romantic Hotel in Venice
Price Range: £69 - £143 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel San Salvador 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel San Salvador is a small 2 stars hotel, located in the tiny alley called Calle Galeazza in San Marco District, 1 minute by foot from the Rialto Bridge. All rooms are quite small, No smoking, basic or standard, nicely decorated. San Marco Square is 5/10 minutes by foot. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, HostelWorld and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel San Salvador reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Salvador Hotel
San Salvador Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing