We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent choice for staying in Venice”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Palazzo Vitturi
Ranked #34 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 October 2012

We loved the hotel and the staff, we would recommend this hotel to anyone of our friends or family and we know they wouldn't be disappointed.

Getting to the Hotel: If arriving from the airport then you can opt to take the water bus which is only 15 euros but have to walk a bit to the hotel. If you are not familiar with the area or have a GPS then you may have some trouble navigating the narrow corridors of Venice. We made that mistake but ended up hiring a porter for 40 Euro to take our 3 large bags and guide us to the hotel from San Marco. Leaving Venice we took a taxi to the train station and it was a much better option although pricey. Honestly after taking the water taxi it's nice to get a taste of Venice from the water.

Checking In: Michael was there on our check in. It was nice to finally arrive and Michael obviously could see that we were tired. After taking our passports he walked us upstairs to the terrace and told us to have a seat. From the 1st floor terrace we had a nice view of the square in front of the hotel and it was great to finally sit down. After all the paperwork was done he showed us to our room and minutes later they brought us our bags. Very pleasant check in experience.

The Room: The room had high ceilings and was a large size room. The bathroom was small but did the job and was clean. The beds were very comfortable and that was a blessing. We were traveling with our daughter and my mother in law and both their single beds were as comfortable as our king bed. Although we had two large windows they opened to one of the side streets so not much of a view, but it was nice to open once in a while and get some fresh air in the room.

Location: We loved the location. We love to walk and explore and from this location you can pretty much get to any of the main attractions in Venice within 10 minutes if you don't stop at the great stores getting to the attractions. Venice is not that large anyway and getting around is not that difficult once your there, but it was nice to be a bit away from the main attractions. Bonus is you get better prices on the touristy type of stuff.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mustafa R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,004)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

490 - 496 of 1,004 reviews

Reviewed 11 October 2012

Staff here are very friendly. The hotel is in a great location and there are loads of restaurants nearby. Short walk to either St Mark's Square or Rialto Bridge, not too far but still enough to experience the walkways & waterways of Venice. We had a big room with two opening doors, and also a Nespresso machine. It was very clean. Staff also brought us breakfast to our room which was a treat. There are a couple flights of stairs to this hotel. Staff will take care of your luggage. We also recommend a private water taxi. One other hand thing was there is an ATM next door to the hotel. We will recommend this hotel to others.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SRS_1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2012

It was our first trip to Venice. I've heard horror stories of accommodation in Venice so I made sure I did my research before booking. I booked the hotel based on their big rooms and hoped that I've made the right choice. We arrived by train and Venice in July was hot and crowded. We're a group of six so we chose to take the water taxi. I think you can share a water taxi if you're a smaller group. It was the right choice as we were dropped off at the stop nearest to the hotel. From the stop, it was just a stroll to the hotel. The hotel was a very pleasant surprise. It's situated in a relatively quiet big square. We loved everything about it. From the roomy reception, wide staircase, wide corridors to the big rooms and bathrooms. The beds were big and comfortable. The breakfast was adequate. The staff was lovely and very helpful especially Michael. After checking in we walked to San Marco and the main shopping area. We were amazed by the 2 ways human traffic. The crowd at San Marco was unbelievable. Then when we walked back to the hotel, the crowd thinned out as we drew near the square. For the next 2 days it was great to return to our quiet part of Venice. Hotel Palazzo Vitturi is rated 3 stars but I believe they have great potential of turning into a 4 stars hotel. We're so lucky that we chose the right hotel and got to see the busy and quiet side of Venice. If you're into classical music, I would recommend going to a strings concert...very very good. We took a day tour to the Dolomites and loved it. It was a long trip but well worth it. The scenery was spectacular and it was lovely to get out of hot Venice for a cool day. BTW take the water taxi to the airport. The hotel will book one for you. It cost €140 but loved the experience.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Christine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2012

Hotel Palazzo Vitturi was an absolute delight to stay in. We were lucky enough to be given the most beautiful and spacious room with its own twin balconies overlooking the square. My three teenagers had a triple room which was more than spacious for the three of them. The staff of Michele, Francesco and Flavio could not have been friendlier or more helpful and my family of five loved every minute of Venice. The hotel is perfectly located. Just far enough from St Mark's square and the Rialto Bridge area to be away from the crowds, but an easy walk in either direction to reach both attractions. It is a truly magical place to visit and mid-september had beautiful (but not overly hot) weather. Away from the major tourist areas there are countless quality restaurants and we didn't have a bad meal.

I would recommend taking a water taxi from the airport to the hotel. A little more expensive but you are delivered virtually to the front door and what a way to arrive in Venice after travelling for over 24 hours from Australia.

I would absolutely stay in this hotel again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ronda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2012

We loved this hotel. Michael looked after us very well indeed. He was charming and informative. The hotel is very centrally placed but away from the masses of visitors to this fabulous city. Our rooms were clean and comfortable. Breakfast was served in our suite and we were provided with ample food for the five of us. All in all good value for money and a pleasant experience.

Room Tip: We had two sets of rooms - the suite for three/family was a good size - could sleep four easily.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank suen50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2012

Highly recommended for every one especially Venice 'virgins' as the management will really look after you - centrally placed and close enough from the nearest water bus stops but well away from the main tourist areas. The decor is very much in keeping with old Venice but is in pristine condition - bedroom/bathroom immaculate .Lots of space inside and outside ( balconies overlooking the square) so if you're even slightly claustrophobic this is the place for you.
Top marks!!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 78nickJackie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2012

For the price we paid, I think the value was good. We were not "taken" with Venice, so my feelings about the hotel are colored somewhat by that. The room we had was quite large and very comfortable. The bathroom was large as well. Breakfast was adequate.
I am surprised Venice has not sunk from the tourist overload. When we visited, you could barely move, anywhere.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank freestyle27012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
Castello
Ca' dei Dogi
Ca' dei Dogi
#17 of 385 in Venice
857 reviews
Castello
Hotel Sant'Antonin
Hotel Sant'Antonin
#31 of 385 in Venice
1,068 reviews
Cannaregio
Hotel Palazzo Abadessa
Hotel Palazzo Abadessa
#22 of 385 in Venice
784 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Antiche Figure
#8 of 385 in Venice
3,838 reviews
Cannaregio
UNA Hotel Venezia
UNA Hotel Venezia
#37 of 385 in Venice
1,259 reviews
Castello
Hotel Le Isole
Hotel Le Isole
#14 of 385 in Venice
1,038 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Palazzo Vitturi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Palazzo Vitturi

Address: Castello, 5246 | Campo Santa Maria Formosa, 30122 Venice, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Castello
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Business Hotel in Venice
#26 Family Hotel in Venice
#33 Romantic Hotel in Venice
Price Range: £75 - £295 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Palazzo Vitturi 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A BOUTIQUE HOTEL WITH A PERFECT LOCATION The Bizantine-Gothic Palazzo Vitturi is known as one of the most ancient and historical Palazzo in Venice The authentic well, the Murano chandeliers, the typical venetian flooring, the frescoed cealings, the capitals and decors.. PRIVILEGED AMBIENTS AND UNFORGETTABLE VIEWS On the first floor, you'll find a precious balcony with remarcable views: a privilege that few hotels in Venice can offer. Palazzo Vitturi features also stunning Venetian Gothic windows on the 2nd floor, opening directly onto a marble balcony overlooking the picturesque Santa Maria Formosa square. Elegant Rooms + helpful & polite staff Free and very stable wi-fi everywhere Hearty buffet breakfast in a marbled room with views on Venice. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Palazzo Vitturi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palazzo Vitturi Venice
Palazzo Vitturi Hotel Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing