We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Safe bet, but no frills”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Palazzo Vitturi
Ranked #34 of 384 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 July 2014

We stayed in Mid June 2014. The young lady that checked us in was great. She coordinated a free tour of a glass factory, free transportation, free refreshments while we waited for the private water taxi, and even arranged for our party to have coffee and breakfast on the second floor balcony overlooking the square out front. She deserves 6 stars. The room was big & nice, nothing spectacular. Then the night crew showed up, and service went to pot. All he wanted to do was not be disturbed as he watched the soocer games one night, and talked to his young daughter on his cell the second night. They literally locked the front doors to both entry & EXIT at night rather than watching for concerns. Darn Glad we did not have to evacuate for any reason as we would have had to jump from the windows on the second floor. Positive note: It was a clean hotel and good location near both Rialto and San Marco square.

Otherwise, with more personnel like the lady when we checked-in it was a reasonable price for the location.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Gary1932
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (989)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

375 - 381 of 989 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
Dittelsheim-Hessloch, Germany
21
Reviewed 24 June 2014

we had a very pleasant stay, the old Palazzo is very nicely renovated, room #21 with 2 little balconies and a very nice view over the piazza. We were welcomed with a Bellini cocktail on the house, served on the terrace/small balcony on the 2nd floor while we were waiting for our luggage to be brought to the room. The hotel team is very friendly and Michele, the manager, gave us lots of tips for to do.
The hotel also provides a free ride on a private water taxi to the island of Murano with a private tour through one of the glass factories. They also made a reservation at a garden restaurant nearby for the first evening.

In summary we recommend this hotel for a stay while in Venice. It is in a 5 minuties walking distance to the St. Mark Square. Check it out, it's worth it.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2014

My wife and I spent three nights at Palazzo Vitturi in May 2014, and had a thoroughly enjoyable stay. It's well situated in the Campo Santa Maria Formosa, equidistant from the San Marco and Rialto vaporetto stops (about a 5-7 minute walk).
We arrived early, so our luggage was taken and we went up to the balcony overlooking the campo where we were treated to bellinis. We then took a brief stroll and when we returned our room was ready. It was a beautiful room (21, I believe), with high, frescoed ceilings and large windows with small balconies overlooking the campo. My wife particularly loved the terrazzo floor. It has to be one of the largest hotel rooms we've ever had in Europe. There was a problem with the doors to the shower (they had come out of the track), but when we came back from dinner that evening everything was fixed.
If you happened to walk in from the campo, you might not be impressed. The lobby of the hotel is rather unprepossessing, with its worn (but clean) carpeting -- it really does need to be updated. But don't let that put you off, as the rest of the hotel is beautifully decorated.
The breakfast is better than average, and served in a room on the level of the piazza, with large windows and a glass door, so there's lots of light. It's not the dungeon in the basement where so many smaller hotels serve breakfast.
One other asset of this hotel that I can't fail to mention is the manager, Michele. He's a charming and hard-working man who did everything he could to ensure that we had a pleasant stay at his hotel.
Recommended.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Beppo52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014

Our family liked a lot to stay in a real Palace of thirteenth century :-) Large rooms and very good situation near San Marco or Rialto. View to local square. Friendly and helpful staff. Bufe-breakfast was ok.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Gorba63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2014

This hotel was a great choice. We've stayed in the room overlooking Santa Maria Formosa. The view was great, the room was really nice and clean and the hotel personnel was kind and helpful. The restaurant they recommend for dinner - Al Giardinetto - was also very good.
I would choose this again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andreea H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014

We stayed in this Hotel in 2012, but this time the service has dropped. As a return customer we were offered a free drink on the balcony... this never happened! Our room wasn't ready when we arrived back after 2:00pm and once it was it took far too long for our bags to reach our room. The guy on night reception needs to learn some customer service and also how to smile! We would stay here again....no!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Torana2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vitturi, Direttore at Hotel Palazzo Vitturi, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

I was here during the first stay in 2012 AND luckily I was at the desk during the recent stay: we remembered eachother shaking our hands upon check-in and smiled.

Since guests arrived before check-in time, I remember they accepted my offer for an aperitive on the balcony. A few minutes later, when we were reaching the balcony with 2 fresh 'Bellini' they went out because they were hungry. So I personally pointed the way to a good place for lunch (Al Giardinetto). I didn't feel or realized they were upset.

After their first holiday here (the management hasn't changed in the meanwhile) we did some improvements that I was proud to mention to them (for example NEW breakfast room with more space, light and better selection on the Buffet). For this reason I'm even more sorry for not having been able to meet their right expectations.
The night staff have also been reported about this complaint and for the mentioned not speedy delivery of the luggage, for which I personally apologize.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

We stayed here for three nights when we were in VenIce celebrating our 25th Wedding Anniversary. We stayed in room 11 which had wonderful views over the square. We had breakfast on the terrace and presecco in the room. The staff were terrific and couldn't do enough for us, in fact everything was very special indeed. Wonderful memories.....

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dnallot18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
Castello
Ca' dei Dogi
Ca' dei Dogi
#19 of 384 in Venice
846 reviews
Castello
Hotel Sant'Antonin
Hotel Sant'Antonin
#29 of 384 in Venice
1,040 reviews
Hotel Antiche Figure
#9 of 384 in Venice
3,783 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Castello
Ruzzini Palace Hotel
Ruzzini Palace Hotel
#45 of 384 in Venice
1,424 reviews
Castello
Hotel Le Isole
Hotel Le Isole
#14 of 384 in Venice
1,015 reviews
Cannaregio
Hotel Palazzo Abadessa
Hotel Palazzo Abadessa
#18 of 384 in Venice
774 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Palazzo Vitturi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Palazzo Vitturi

Address: Castello, 5246 | Campo Santa Maria Formosa, 30122 Venice, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Castello
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Business Hotel in Venice
#26 Family Hotel in Venice
#29 Best Value Hotel in Venice
#33 Romantic Hotel in Venice
Price Range: £77 - £260 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Palazzo Vitturi 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A BOUTIQUE HOTEL WITH A PERFECT LOCATION The Bizantine-Gothic Palazzo Vitturi is known as one of the most ancient and historical Palazzo in Venice The authentic well, the Murano chandeliers, the typical venetian flooring, the frescoed cealings, the capitals and decors.. PRIVILEGED AMBIENTS AND UNFORGETTABLE VIEWS On the first floor, you'll find a precious balcony with remarcable views: a privilege that few hotels in Venice can offer. Palazzo Vitturi features also stunning Venetian Gothic windows on the 2nd floor, opening directly onto a marble balcony overlooking the picturesque Santa Maria Formosa square. Elegant Rooms + helpful & polite staff Free and very stable wi-fi everywhere Hearty buffet breakfast in a marbled room with views on Venice. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Palazzo Vitturi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palazzo Vitturi Venice
Palazzo Vitturi Hotel Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing