We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good price and location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Locandiera

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
La Locandiera
Ranked #213 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Toledo, Ohio
Level Contributor
28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Good price and location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2011

We stayed here for 2 nights, and we had no complaints. The hotel was nicely decorated and had everything we could want. The AC worked great, a nice bed, wifi available. The location was great also, a quick walk over to San Marco and plenty of shopping and restaurants all around. I would recommend this place to anyone and would stay again.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank masontitus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

257 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    132
    98
    20
    5
    2
See reviews for
69
117
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
44 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2011

We stayed here for 3 nights this October.
It's in a brilliant location, literally a stones throw from San Marco and therefore very easy to find in the maze of streets.
The staff were great. Very friendly and suggested we attend one of the Vivaldi concerts which was well worthwhile. They also were happy to recommend restaurants, tours etc if wanted.
The room was nice and clean, with aircon (which we didn't expect to use in October, but it was very welcome).
The breakfast was basic but plentiful.
Taking into consideration the cost of hotels in Venice, this was very good value for money and would not hesitate to recommend staying there, providing you are looking for a base and not a full hotel experience. We really did miss a bar to come back to and end the evening with a night-cap.

Room Tip: facing the square gave a good view, but a little noisier
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hewlster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
S.E. PA
Level Contributor
306 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2011

The hotel is a short walk from the San Zaccaria boat stop. We arrived by train and took a water taxi to the San Zaccaria boat stop. Booking a water taxi online is about the same price as paying at the train station the difference being that a pre-paid water taxi is tough to find as they don’t go out of their way to identify themselves. We didn’t want to negotiate the public water transport after first arriving in Venice. It was about 70 euros for the water taxi. Using the directions from the website we found the hotel fairly easily. It helped that we looked at the exterior photos of the hotel before going to Venice as it’s easy to walk by the front entrance. The hotel is in a really convenient location. Located about 3-4 blocks from Piazza San Marco, it’s about a 5 minute walk to the square. It’s located on a small square with residences and a small church. There are plenty of restaurants and shops within a few minutes of the hotel.
It’s a small hotel with something like 12 or 15 rooms. After searching many websites and comparing hotels I booked the hotel’s “quad” room. Located on the 3rd ½ floor the room was composed of two adjoining hotel rooms. The TV’s are tiny and there are only 5 channels (one is CNN). The quad is at the back of the hotel over a small canal and a neighboring hotel. The air conditioning was excellent and kept the room very cool on the hot late June days. There was a bathroom in each room. One included only a tub and the other only a shower. Our rooms were on the top floor and down the hall from the breakfast area. So in the morning it could get a little noisy when people arrived for breakfast. We placed hand towels at the bottom of the door and this help cut down on the early morning noise. The breakfast consisted of some cereals, breads, juice and coffee. It was enough to give you something to fill tummies before heading out. They also provided us with electronic mosquito repellent devices. We used them the first two days but found that with the windows shut there were no issues with bugs or pests. The beds were comfortable. Housekeeping kept the room very clean.

Afternoon attendant (from Croatia) was very helpful in helping us understand the area and steer us in the right direction. The staff was helpful and attentive.

The hotel was very quiet. It was a very pleasant stay and we’d stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LuvDaSun222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buffalo, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2011

This hotel is a great find, and fantastically located close to San Marco Square. The staff is very very helpful (Marianna was wonderful). Our 2 day stay, which we booked on their website, included 3 hours of free internet. The breakfast was very nice as well. We reviewed other hotels for twice the price (assuming you are booking this room at around 125 Euro) that were not as nice. Would definitely stay there again!

Room Tip: Try to avoid the 3rd floor (where breakfast is served).
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NewYork117
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2011

We stayed at La Locandiera for two nights during a short stay in Venice. It can be tricky to find, but with the map provided by the staff and on the website, it's not too bad. It is close to St. Mark's Square and is situated in a quiet courtyard.

The staff was courteous and helpful, especially in providing simple directions to get to specific restaurants and attractions. Our room was comfortable, and had a nice window opening out to a canal below. The bathroom was great, with a waterfall shower head. I was impressed at the cleanliness of the hotel and the rooms. The hotel offers an hour of free internet access, but if you need more, its about 3 Euro for extra time.

The breakfast was good, being a typical European style breakfast. The breakfast room is a bit small, and if it is crowded, I can imagine it being uncomfortable. But, we didn't experience any problems.

I would recommend this hotel for couples or small groups looking for a good, central location for staying in Venice.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brooke W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kozani, Greece
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2011

We've stayed two nights in La Locandiera on July.

It's a very nice hotel in a good location, close to St. Mark's Square but far enough so that the crowds don't bother you at all.

The room was spacious and comfortable. Although it's equipped with A/C we didn't use it. Unfortunately the hotel didn't provide Wi-Fi for free.

The breakfast buffet was half decent. No hot meals, only croissants, cereal, yogurt etc. However, what annoyed us more than the not so rich breakfast, was the noise coming from the breakfast room which is close to every room on that floor, making it very hard to sleep past 8 o clock in the morning! We could hear every plate and glass clanging, even as the staff set the tables.

There's always someone at the reception desk but at night the front door is closed and you have to buzz yourself in.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Syrah-Viognier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Grinstead, England
Level Contributor
56 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2011

The Hotel is only 8 mins walk from St Marks square and within a short distance from all the other sights. The hotel is situated in a quiet square and is small, decorated to a high standard and very comfortable. The staff are all very friendly and extremely helpful.

Room Tip: We had rooms a the rear which were very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mackgrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
Castello
Rio Venezia Hotel
Rio Venezia Hotel
#78 of 385 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 381 reviews
San Marco
Hotel San Luca
Hotel San Luca
#187 of 385 in Venice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 298 reviews
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Locanda Ca' Zose
Locanda Ca' Zose
#145 of 385 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 626 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Castello
Hotel Casa Verardo - Residenza D'Epoca
Castello
Hotel Campiello
Hotel Campiello
#95 of 385 in Venice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 789 reviews
San Marco
Hotel do Pozzi
Hotel do Pozzi
#144 of 385 in Venice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 514 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Locandiera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Locandiera

Property: La Locandiera
Address: Campo San Giovanni Nuovo 4432, 30122 Venice, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Castello
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#95 Family Hotel in Venice
#148 Romantic Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — La Locandiera 2*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your La Locandiera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Locandiera Venice
La Locandiera Hotel Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing