We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hospitality”
Review of Hotel Caprera

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Caprera
Ranked #166 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 August 2014 via mobile

Easy access to train station comfortable and clean rooms
The owners were fantastic and gave great advice. Aircon was a great relief for the heat we had. Free wifi worked ok. Breakfast was basic. Lives upto it's rating and beyond the 2 stars.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mickyobunbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (451)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

94 - 100 of 451 reviews

Reviewed 6 August 2014

Convenient location, warm reception, clean comfortable rooms, decent breakfasts. No lift but help with baggage. Near the railway station and many reasonable restaurants. A good choice and not too expensive in a rather expensive city.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlanEUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Small but clean hotel, very close to the train station and in a nice neighborhood. No elevator. Some rooms accomodate 4 people (couple + kids). Easy access to most attractions. The staff was friendly and helpful. The breakfast was decent. Overall, a good alternative to stay in a city as expensive as Venice. Would come back in the future.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MCPSP2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014

We had a very good time at the Hotel Caprera. We were seven people, 4 older than 60 years old. It was more than expected, the hotel is not so difficult to find but ypu have to be aware of the instructions of how to arrive. They helped us with ice cubes for my aunt's knee. The breakfast is very simple, no eggs, no sausage but fruits, capuccino, coffee, yogurt and juice.

Room Tip: Since there's no elevator is better to choose a room in the lower floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank aleja2487
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014

We stayed at this hotel in July 2014, hotel charged premium but the AC and the whole room electricity worked only for 2 hours, because the breaker stripped every 2 hours, even during the night, we have to reset for it to work again for about another 2 hours? Told the staff, but they did not do anything to it. We loved Venice, will come gain, but definitely will not stay at this hotel. The hotel is closed to train station, but next time we will book another place and use water bus/taxi to get there. Breakfast was very basic. Do not stay here and then you will regret. Thanks.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank dphamxyz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelcaprera, Manager at Hotel Caprera, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2014

Dear dphamxyz from Maryland,
thanks for your review.

We apologize for this inconvenient but electrical problems can happened.
We are sorry about it and we guarantee you that we have immediately solve the problem the day after calling the AC assistance because on July 6th (when happened) was SUNDAY and unfortunately the air conditioning Customer Service on-site WAS CLOSED.
We apologize again with you and we hope to see you again at HOTEL CAPRERA.

Best regards.

Alberto

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014

If you are traveling with luggage, run from this hotel.
Location is OK. But hotel with no elevator is never a good option.
If you are traveling on summer, forget it! they don´t have air conditioning.
bugs are all over the room.
The costs are not worth it.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MarcusPaltri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelcaprera, Manager at Hotel Caprera, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2014

Dear Marcus,
thanks for your review.

We are so in grief and regret about your bad review but we would like to point out that is well specified EVERYWHERE (on official website, Booking, Expedia and all other partners) that we do not have lift or elevator.
We are asking permission to install it from many years and we are still waiting the italian burocracy that is very slow for historical palaces like our Hotel located on the Historical city center.
The lift is OBLIGATORY on 4-5 stars Hotels and I can guarantee you that in Venice are not so many the Hotels that have lift or elevator.

Please also note that, like CONFIRMED from all our other guests, if someone need a room on low-floor or with air-conditioning MUST ask it and, if is available, we will always provide it.
Our 3 TRIPLE rooms (like the room that you reserved on June that was on 2nd floor) are located on 3 different floors so was just enough ask it and we probably provided you a room on a low floor and with AC (if available).
Half of our total rooms have AIR CONDITIONING and sometimes is only sufficient to ask it.

We hope to see you in the future at Hotel Caprera.

Alberto
HOTEL CAPRERA

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Very nice and helpful people. Arranged breakfast for early check out .very near to Train station. Street with hectic activity and full of shops and restaurants. Budget hotel and good for a night stay with family.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Narendra G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
Cannaregio
Locanda Herion
Locanda Herion
#193 of 385 in Venice
373 reviews
Cannaregio
Hotel Guerrini
Hotel Guerrini
#190 of 385 in Venice
377 reviews
Cannaregio
Hotel Villa Rosa
Hotel Villa Rosa
#185 of 385 in Venice
528 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cannaregio
Hotel Il Mercante di Venezia
San Marco
Hotel Casa Petrarca
Hotel Casa Petrarca
#119 of 385 in Venice
444 reviews
Cannaregio
Hotel Hesperia
Hotel Hesperia
#86 of 385 in Venice
1,021 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Caprera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Caprera

Address: Cannaregio 219, 30121 Venice, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Cannaregio
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#78 Family Hotel in Venice
Price Range: £64 - £147 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Caprera 2*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Caprera has been managed with care and attention by the same family since 1953. It was completely refurbished in 2005 guest rooms are clean and simple. Rooms with air conditioning and a private terrace are available on request. Start your day with a buffet breakfast available from 08 until 10.ILLIMITED and FREE WiFi Internet!!!We're located in the Historical city center just 200 mt away from the Vaporetto (water bus) stop, where you can catch boats to St. Marco Square in 15 minutes. In the surrounding area of Cannaregio you can visit the Jewish Ghetto, the Frari Church, and the School of St. Rocco and many other attractions.We're located in a strategical position because in maximum 10 mins you can catch any trasportations to the Airports, port or motorways ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Caprera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caprera Hotel Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing