We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tremendous value and convenient”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Residenza La Campana
Ranked #343 of 476 Venice B&B and Inns
Reviewed 21 May 2014

Rooms in Venice are expensive. This one is more than I would normally spend but compared to the rest I shopped, a tremendous value. Even so, the facility is clean and well maintained. Bed was comfortable. Bathroom was clean with a large shower. We even had a very nice loft in our room. It gave me a place to go in the morning before my wife woke up.

The front door of the inn is secure with an electronic hob needed to enter. The breakfast is good. Staff is friendly, although not the best English speakers I met in Italy. We still were able to communicate. They gave us a good map and told us how to get to the best spots. They also asked us what we wanted to see and made sure we knew how to get there.

Location was a little hard to find initially. The map at the vaporetto stop was wrong. I walked the wrong way. Place is marked, but no more than a door. Once we found it, we were very happy with the location.

There are steps involved. We do not mind and Enrico helped us get our bags to and from the room. Just know that if you cannot handle steps, this may not be your place.

Location is very convenient. Short walk to the Rialto Bridge and vaporetto stop. Short walk to St Mark's Square. Good restaurants close-by. Just across the Rialto Bridge is an area full of Venetian natives, cichetti and wine bars, and shops.

Just a suggestion...don't sleep in Venice with your windows open. Mosquitoes ate us up. Not a problem with Residenza La Campana as the air conditioning was fine.

Room Tip: Ask for the room with the loft
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rankin2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (127)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

30 - 36 of 127 reviews

Reviewed 3 May 2014

Coming from the airport we took the Alilaguna waterbus to Rialto and went down the street of the hotel. It was initially hard to find, just a discreet door on the street, no other hotel signs. Then a couple of steep flights of stairs up to the reception. Our room was right next to the reception desk.

The room itself was perfectly adequate but on the small side. The bathroom was spotlessly clean though the shower water pressure was low and the temperature could have been hotter. The TV shows only Italian channels and reception isn't always great. The area is fairly quiet at night but by keeping the window open I was constantly bitten by mosquitos.

The staff were friendly and helpful, though there isn't always someone on the reception desk so if you need something at certain times of day this could be a problem. The breakfast was adequate but dull, the usual continental fare, no eggs, and reasonable coffee.

By far the best thing about this place is its location, just a couple of minutes from Rialto and 5 minutes from San Marco's, it really couldn't have been better. And the street itself is full of restaurants and shops and is pleasant to wander through.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank suedebicycle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2014

Absolutely reccommended to everyone! The room was big, clean, with a modern bathroom and very closed to Rialto and San Marco, so perfect location to go walking around Venice.
The staff was really helpful with a lot of suggestions on where to have aperitivi, dinner and local area (not tourist). Breakfast was good too: croissants, eggs, jam, bread, Italian biscuits, tea, coffee, juice and more. Price is good (double room booked though Venere was 100€) and absolutely good value for the place and the location. I'll come back again at some point!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dangiapedia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2013

My wife and I stayed here as the first stop on our tour of Italy and found this B&B to be a fantastic center from which to explore Venice. The room was clean and spacious, bathroom was nicely updated, and the location was perfect- nestled only a few minutes from the Rialto and maybe a 10 minute walk to San Marco's Square. Breakfast isn't anything to get excited about, but it is standard for what you will get in Italy. Wherever you are you are going to want to skip the breakfast and go find a pasticerria with a good cappuccino anyways. The staff was very helpful when needed and pointed out several good restaurants to eat at in the city. We had a room that was on the street, so we did have some noise from people walking around at night, but it was only obnoxiously loud on one of the nights we were there due to one loud group of people hanging out late at night. Maybe rooms on the backside are quieter? We will definitely stay here again if we ever make it back to Venice (hopefully)!

Notes- There is an osteria next door, and when we walked in there was a bit of a fishy smell in the hallway, but we never noticed this in our room, so don't worry if you walk in and notice this. Also, don't sleep with the windows open, or you will end up with a lot of mosquito bites!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WarEagleInVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2013

Our first trip to Venice could not be better. When we arrived Emanuela upgraded us from a double room to an apartment as we were staying 5 nights, what a wonderful surprise!
The apartment was right on the canal with the gondolas gliding past all day, very romantic!
The apartment and the Residenza La Campana was all very clean and well kept and all staff very helpful and friendly. It was nice to have Wifi in the breakfast room.
I will definetly reccomed La Campana to people who want to stay in Venice, it is very well situated near Rialto and San Marco, a clean and well run establishment where you get value for money.
We hope to coma back one day! Maarten & Janine, Cape Town

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MaartenvB_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
henry p, Proprietario at Residenza La Campana, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2013

Dear Maarten and Janine, thank you for leaving your review and we are glad that your stay at the Residenza La Campana was comfortable.
If you want to return to Venice we will be happy to host you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2013

We were gratefully welcomed by friendly staff. They offered us an upgrade to an apartment which was even closer to St Marks square. The apartment was superb.

Hospitality was amazing. They couldn't do enough for us. Highly recommended - would definitely stay again.

Nigel & Lee NZ

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Lee T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
henry p, Proprietario at Residenza La Campana, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2013

Dear Nigel and Lee, Thank you for taking the time to leave your review. We are delighted to learn that you enjoyed your stay and also that you appreciated the accommodation offers. Looking forward to welcoming you soon. Best regards, Henry.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2013

It is a great hotel with great staff. Location is also great - 5 min to Rialto and 10 min. to San Marco square. The room was nice renovated with a quite big bathroom. Breakfast was standard - baking, jams and butter, as well as ham, cheese and boiled eggs. Also I want to note a very friendly and responsive staff. I guess it is the best variant for this money in Venice.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DmytroSK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
San Marco
Bel Sito e Berlino
Bel Sito e Berlino
#72 of 385 in Venice
768 reviews
Giudecca
Generator Hostel Venice
Giudecca
Casa Genoveffa
Casa Genoveffa
#259 of 476 in Venice
30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Novotel Venezia Mestre
#158 of 385 in Venice
2,168 reviews
Hotel Laguna Residence
#266 of 476 in Venice
50 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Colombina
Hotel Colombina
#51 of 385 in Venice
1,911 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residenza La Campana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residenza La Campana

Address: Calle Dei Fabbri San Marco 4719, 30124 Venice, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Marco
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #343 of 476 B&Bs / Inns in Venice
Price Range: £48 - £259 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Residenza La Campana 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just a few footsteps from the greatest tourist attractions, La Campana offers the most modern comforts surrounded by the charm of Venetian style furniture.During your stay you will feel the pleasure of the characteristic chatting of this unique city in the world and at the same time you will be surrounded by the elegance of the damask covered walls, the lamps and chandeliers in glass and the elegantly decorated furniture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers and HotelsClick so you can book your Residenza La Campana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing