We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Venetian Experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Al Gazzettino
Ranked #188 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
North Salt Lake, Utah
Level 6 Contributor
175 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“The Venetian Experience”
Reviewed 17 July 2013

We were pleasantly surprised how wonderful the hotel turned out to be as it was the perfect fusion of Venetian style with modern amenities. Our room looked exactly like it did on the website. We especially were impressed with the bathroom as it was modern with an enclosed-shower door with a big rain shower-head, a hair dryer, and even a supply of soap, shampoo and conditioner. The bed was comfortable and air conditioning was a plus. The hotel was beautiful, clean, and convenient as it was only a few minute walk to St. Mark's Square and the Rialto Bridge. It is located in a small alley that leads out to a quiet canal with a few gondolas stationed there. The receptionists were very helpful with information and allowed us to store our luggage before and after we checked out. The hotel provides a map on the website so we had no problems finding it. The breakfast was more than I expected with a spread of juices, cereals, pastries, meats, chocolate cake, and coffee. I'd recommend to email the hotel ahead of time to confirm how much you are paying and again when you check in since there is the room charge, city tax, and tourist tax added, which is not included in the price listed online. It's best to pay in cash since there is a discount for doing so. We look forward to staying here again on our next visit to Venice!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Laurelsan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

361 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    132
    149
    42
    16
    22
See reviews for
74
216
1
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Plovdiv
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2013

We have reserved this hotel by Booking.com and we spend 6 amazing days there.The rooms are designed in Venetian style,they are very nice ,big and clean.Its a great location ,close to Piazza San Marco,Rialto bridge,Doge Palace-everything.The staff is very friendly and helpful.They served us breakfast -croisant,ham,bacon,jam,coffee,juice,tea,yougurt,fruits-that was nice!And especially for the bathroom-was perfect-clean,new ,modern!With hot water!!!I recommend this Hotel without hesitation!Thank you!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mariq R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2013 via mobile

We stayed at Al Gazzettino for only 1 night. So I can't comment on their turn down service. The rooms were nice and large (larger than any of the other hotels we've stayed in while in Europe). Our room had a canal view. So we could see gondolas outside our window.
The hotel is located a few blocks away from rialto bridge and everything was close by.
They served us breakfast in the morning - scrambled eggs, bacon, yogurt, cereal, pastries, juice n coffee. So that was really nice. The dining room itself was a little sketchy.
Overall the place was decent and the location was excellent.
The one negative was that the reception isn't manned 24 hours. So you're given a key to the front door so you can come and go as you please. If youre out at night and you lose that key you are pretty much SOL for the rest of the night.

...oh and I disagree with some of the other reviews about the bathrooms. Our bathroom was great - looked pretty modern. We had a clean shower and everything looked new.

Helpful?
1 Thank cyberoi
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 June 2013

We have reserved this Hotel by Booking.com. We spent in this wonderful hotel a very great holiday! It is designed in a Venetian classical style. We stayed there for 1 night.
Very Great location of the hotel, really close to everything, especially near the Piazza San Marco and the Rialto Bridge. Really perfect to make all visits Venice!
If you want to fully enjoy Venice choose this hotel.
The reception staff is very welcoming, friendly and helpful.
We took a bigger room and it was so beautiful and clean and also have a Canal view!!
Breakfast is very great and delicious. This is a buffet where you can really find everything!
I recommend this Hotel without hesitation and we would definitely stay here again!!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank greg80rodriguez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salmiyah, Kuwait
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2013

The only problem is to find the hotel in between all those alleys even after having a map. Once you find it everything is piece of cake because it is just a 5 minutes walk from Piazza San Marco and another 5 minutes to reach the Rialto Bridge. The beds are very comfortable the toilet is a bit small. The staffs are very friendly. The breakfast does not have many choice could do with a little bit of upgrade. And one more thing there is no elevator so guys who cannot climb the stairs BEWARE. I love their power saving bulbs which on motion gets on and off by itself. I would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank C0linChris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salmiyah, Kuwait
2 reviews
Reviewed 25 May 2013

We recently visited Venice and were very pleased with our accommodations in Hotel Al Gazzettino. The staff was very friendly, our room was lovely, clean and nicely furnished. The bed was very comfortable. Excellent location within easy reach of St Mark's, Accademia and Rialto. Breakfast was simple but great - everything you need for a visit to Venice.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lavina F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 14 May 2013

We were very satisfied with this hotel. We stayed in a triple room during the Easter Holidays. The room was very good and the bathroom also.We were very comfortable.
The staff was very kind and welcoming. The breakfast was also good.
The best thing of all is the location: just a 5 minutes walk from Piazza San Marco and the atmosphere makes you feel you are in the heart of old Venice.
I definitely recommend this hotel to everyone with or without kids.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Flavia38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
San Marco
Hotel San Luca
Hotel San Luca
#177 of 385 in Venice
322 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Casa Petrarca
Hotel Casa Petrarca
#133 of 385 in Venice
433 reviews
San Marco
Centauro Hotel
Centauro Hotel
#120 of 385 in Venice
766 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
Hotel San Salvador
Hotel San Salvador
#100 of 385 in Venice
415 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Noemi
Hotel Noemi
#198 of 385 in Venice
410 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Mercurio Venezia
Hotel Mercurio Venezia
#112 of 385 in Venice
816 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Al Gazzettino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Al Gazzettino

Property: Hotel Al Gazzettino
Address: Sestiere San Marco 4971, 30124 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Marco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#129 Romantic Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Al Gazzettino 3*
Number of rooms: 1
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Al Gazzettino is located in a building of 1700, overlooking a characteristic canal, fascinating during the day for the hustle and bustle of the gondolas, magical at nightfall with the lights of the surrounding buildings that reflect on its waters.It is located in the historic center of Venice, close to Piazza San Marco and 3 minutes walk from Rialto Bridge and Grand Canal.It is the ideal place for those who wants to find the ultimate in comfort and to live the historicity of the Venice.The Palace has always had the function of giving hospitality: first as a guest-house for wayfarers and then, at the time of the Venetian Republic "Serenissima" to give rest to the wealthy Turkish merchants.Become one of the historic hotels in Venice, it has been restored its splendor with the last recent renovation that has brought it back to the original beauty, enriched with precious damask fabrics, lamps, mirrors and Baroque style furniture’s .From the reception, going up the wide staircase decorated with precious Murano Glass lamps,you have direct access to hotel rooms. Here, after the initial contact with the rooms,you can perceive to be in a refined and superior ambiance; fabrics on the walls, Venetian Baroque style furniture, Murano Glass mirrors and chandelier. Everything is organized to make the rooms comfortable and to provide our customers with maximum comfort.Our hotel offers 3 different types of rooms:The Classic rooms, located on the fourth floor, even the simplest, are an excellent housing solution and offer the convenience of an elegant ambiance, embellished with red damask fabric on the walls, Baroque-style furniture, WiFi, mini bar, electronic safe, air conditioning and satellite television.The "Superior" located on the third, will be targeted to the most demanding customers.Offers a room more spacious in a refined setting and furnished with wooden furniture in '700 Venetian style, mirrors and lamps in Murano glass, comfortable sofas for a pleasant moment of relaxation, in addition to WiFi, mini bar, electronic safe, air conditioning and satellite television.Instead, for those who prefer the maximum, our structure, offers 4 beautiful "Deluxe" Rooms on the first and second floor with a breathtaking view of one of the most characteristic and typical canals of Venice.They are our most prestigious and spacious rooms, embellished with a sumptuous canopy and entirely decorated with precious tissues that recall the splendor and elegance typical Venetian.In addition to the many services available in all our rooms (WiFi, mini bar, electronic safe, air conditioning and satellite television), the hotel offers, to the most demanding customers who choose this type of room, a special Welcome, characterized by a bottle of Prosecco DOC, served in two beautiful flute, to make their stay even more romantic.Check-in time is From 14.00Check - Out Time is at 11.00If necessary, it is possible to leave your luggage at Reception.A rich Buffet Breakfast is included in the price of the room and it is served every morning between 8.00 am and 10.00 am. The varied breakfast includes traditional Italian coffee, breads, freshly baked croissants, 3 different types of jams, honey, biscuits, cakes and savory options such as cold cuts,cheese, eggs and bacon. We offer also a gluten free breakfast for a celiac. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Hotel Al Gazzettino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Al Gazzettino Venice
Al Gazzettino Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing