We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Venice hideaway”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Al Gazzettino
Ranked #202 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 July 2014

Quaint little place not to far from the Rialto Bridge. My 10 trip to Venice but my first time actually staying on the island and so much fun to have this hotel as home base. Centrally located between the Rialto and Piaaza San Marco with plenty of shops and restaurants around it. Room was spacious, try to get a canal view to add to the ambiance. The complimentary bottle of prosecco was a nice touch. Breakfast was standard European, cheese, meats, breads, etc., and plenty to give you the energy to tackle the canals of Venice.

Room Tip: Request a canal view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BaDnEwZz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (373)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

87 - 93 of 373 reviews

Reviewed 14 July 2014

This was the third different hotel we have stayed at in Venice in the past year. Overall, this one was the best. The entry way is nothing special, but the minute we opened the door to the room we knew we had made the right choice! Traveling with 2 teen daughters, the quad room was more than spacious for our needs. The bathroom actually had a full sized shower, which was a very pleasant surprise! Windows overlooking a canal made for some great down time people watching. Excellent location central to the Rialto and St.Marco, with little noise at night due to location.

Very hearty breakfast and super friendly staff!!

Room Tip: The pictures on the website are spot on accurate!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joanne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2014

Our family of 4 stayed here for two nights. It was easy to access by foot with our suitcases in tow from the Rialto Bridge. Our room was large with 2 single beds and a queen. The beds were firm and very comfortable. The bathroom was newly remodeled and had an awesome "rain" shower head. Everything was super clean and well maintained. We had a beautiful view of one of the smaller canals from our window. However, there was a lot of noise coming from the canal even with the windows closed. We were awoken both mornings around 5am by the loud honking of the delivery boats. The Wi-Fi and AC both worked great.

The staff were super friendly and helpful. The young lady at the front desk went out of her way to help us with anything we needed.

Breakfast was served at the restaurant next door. It was good, but not great. My son did love the hot chocolate and the Nutella stuffed pastries.

The only down side is there is no elevator. We were lucky to be on the first floor. The front desk did offer to help carry our luggage up the stairs for us.

I recommend this place for families and couples.

Room Tip: Ask for room on the first floor so you don't have to climb all those stairs. Ask for a room with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank mammaricco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

We stayed here for one night before a cruise. We came in by train from Lecco on Lake Como and the directions the hotel sent us were perfect. The room and bath were small but very clean and the size is adequate. Space is at a premium in this lovely boutique hotel - it is Venice, after all! The room is decorated in a lavish style which really makes you feel like you are in Venice. The room windows opened onto a small canal which was great for people and gondola watching. It was very quiet at night but the bed, which was a nice size, was so uncomfortable that sleep was difficult. This was the only negative. There was a bottle of prosecco when we arrived and the staff was very friendly and helpful with recommendations for restaurants. Breakfast was included and served in the the restaurant next door. It was delicious and plentiful with lots of choices. We really enjoyed our stay and would recommend it for all travelers.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mimi5636
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

The hotel was in an excellent location, one alley removed from exclusive stores in Venice and close to both St Marks and the Rialto Bridge. The staff was pleasant and helpful and quickly responded to my email inquiries. The room was small, as expected, but beautifully decorated in Venetian style and immaculately clean. We had a fabulous view and even a balcony to stand out and watch the gondolas below (we were in a quad room, 212). The continental breakfast was delicious with good variety and excellent quality, perfect for our taste. We chose to take a water taxi to and from the hotel, which left us just a short walk to the hotel doorstep. For a reasonable price, as far as Europe is concerned, this was a good choice for our families needs.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank theeptraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2014

Stayed here for three nights with my boyfriend in the deluxe double room with a balcony overlooking the canal (room number 212). We searched the streets of Venice for a very long time before giving up and using our phones to get Google maps to direct us to the hotel, but once we arrived we were greeted by a friendly lady on reception who showed us to our room. It was spotless and very spacious, the interior is lovely and the bathroom is modern with a great walk in shower. We were also provided with a bottle of prosecco which went down a treat! The balcony overlooking the canal was a lovely touch and really added to our great visit here.
Our whole experience at Al Gazzettino was perfect – I have to say the location is amazing… right inbetween San Marco and the Rialto bridge, a couple of minutes walk from each (if you walk the right way!)
The breakfast variety was huge – cereals, yoghurts, croissants, cold meats, tea, coffee, toast, and even bacon and eggs.
The staff were also very attentive and friendly, I felt like they went the extra mile to help us. On our last day we had to check out by 11am but our flight wasn’t until 9pm. We asked if there was any chance we could leave our suitcases somewhere in the hotel for a few hours so we didn’t have to carry them around with us all day, and they let us do so with no problem at all.
As you can imagine there are endless amounts of hotels in Venice, but after 3 full days of walking around I genuinely did not see one hotel I thought looked better than the al gazzettino and that I would have preferred to stay at. For the price we paid I was not expecting such an experience as amazing as the one we got. I would absolutely recommend anybody to stay at the Al Gazzettino if they are hoping for a perfect location, service and overall experience.

Room Tip: If you have the chance, book the deluxe canal view room - you will NOT be disappointed!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Mgnlj2112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2014 via mobile

Amazing little hotel. Beautiful view, nice and clean rooms, friendly staffs. I will come back soon, for sure. This hotel is near to San Marco square. You can walk in neighborhood at night, there are so many things to do in this area. You'll love the gazettino, I promise.

Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Bruno M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
San Marco
Antica Locanda al Gambero
Antica Locanda al Gambero
#124 of 385 in Venice
614 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Noemi
Hotel Noemi
#200 of 385 in Venice
423 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Casa Petrarca
Hotel Casa Petrarca
#131 of 385 in Venice
439 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
Hotel San Salvador
Hotel San Salvador
#98 of 385 in Venice
431 reviews
San Marco
Bel Sito e Berlino
Bel Sito e Berlino
#73 of 385 in Venice
750 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Orion
Hotel Orion
#105 of 385 in Venice
817 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Al Gazzettino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Al Gazzettino

Address: Sestiere San Marco 4971, 30124 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Marco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#128 Romantic Hotel in Venice
Price Range: £65 - £300 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Al Gazzettino 3*
Number of rooms: 1
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Al Gazzettino is located in a building of 1700, overlooking a characteristic canal, fascinating during the day for the hustle and bustle of the gondolas, magical at nightfall with the lights of the surrounding buildings that reflect on its waters.It is located in the historic center of Venice, close to Piazza San Marco and 3 minutes walk from Rialto Bridge and Grand Canal.It is the ideal place for those who wants to find the ultimate in comfort and to live the historicity of the Venice.The Palace has always had the function of giving hospitality: first as a guest-house for wayfarers and then, at the time of the Venetian Republic "Serenissima" to give rest to the wealthy Turkish merchants.Become one of the historic hotels in Venice, it has been restored its splendor with the last recent renovation that has brought it back to the original beauty, enriched with precious damask fabrics, lamps, mirrors and Baroque style furniture’s .From the reception, going up the wide staircase decorated with precious Murano Glass lamps,you have direct access to hotel rooms. Here, after the initial contact with the rooms,you can perceive to be in a refined and superior ambiance; fabrics on the walls, Venetian Baroque style furniture, Murano Glass mirrors and chandelier. Everything is organized to make the rooms comfortable and to provide our customers with maximum comfort.Our hotel offers 3 different types of rooms:The Classic rooms, located on the fourth floor, even the simplest, are an excellent housing solution and offer the convenience of an elegant ambiance, embellished with red damask fabric on the walls, Baroque-style furniture, WiFi, mini bar, electronic safe, air conditioning and satellite television.The "Superior" located on the third, will be targeted to the most demanding customers.Offers a room more spacious in a refined setting and furnished with wooden furniture in '700 Venetian style, mirrors and lamps in Murano glass, comfortable sofas for a pleasant moment of relaxation, in addition to WiFi, mini bar, electronic safe, air conditioning and satellite television.Instead, for those who prefer the maximum, our structure, offers 4 beautiful "Deluxe" Rooms on the first and second floor with a breathtaking view of one of the most characteristic and typical canals of Venice.They are our most prestigious and spacious rooms, embellished with a sumptuous canopy and entirely decorated with precious tissues that recall the splendor and elegance typical Venetian.In addition to the many services available in all our rooms (WiFi, mini bar, electronic safe, air conditioning and satellite television), the hotel offers, to the most demanding customers who choose this type of room, a special Welcome, characterized by a bottle of Prosecco DOC, served in two beautiful flute, to make their stay even more romantic.Check-in time is From 14.00Check - Out Time is at 11.00If necessary, it is possible to leave your luggage at Reception.A rich Buffet Breakfast is included in the price of the room and it is served every morning between 8.00 am and 10.00 am. The varied breakfast includes traditional Italian coffee, breads, freshly baked croissants, 3 different types of jams, honey, biscuits, cakes and savory options such as cold cuts,cheese, eggs and bacon. We offer also a gluten free breakfast for a celiac. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Al Gazzettino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Al Gazzettino Venice
Al Gazzettino Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing