We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, charming view of small canal and gondolas, large comfortable room for family of four in small hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Al Gazzettino
Ranked #207 of 387 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 October 2009

I requested a lovely, spacious room for a family of four with daughters, after selecting this hotel for the look of the rooms in pictures. I believe that my request was honored and we had the best room in the hotel! The bathroom was huge with 2 sinks and large mirrors. The room had a door that opened onto a small balcony overlooking a canal with gondolas and a view of the surrounding buildings & shops with a pedestrian walkway and bridge. A lovely continental breakfast was included. It was a short walk to the Grand Canal, Rialto Bridge, and St Mark's Square.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ChloeAnn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (382)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

171 - 177 of 382 reviews

Reviewed 18 October 2009

This is a good no-frills, mid-range hotel. Rooms are relatively small but clean and nicely decorated. Bathroom was large and clean except for mould in shower. Staff helpful and pleasant. Breakfast was disappointing, but adequate. Restaurant did not look very appealing for lunch or dinner. Good location near Rialto Bridge and not far from San Marco. Our room had a small balcony from which we could watch the gondoliers cruising by.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Familyof5help
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2009

My husband and i have just returned from a long weekend in Venice. We travelled from Shannon with Ryanair and flew into Treviso airport just outside Venice.

The transfers were smooth and effortless, We caught the Airport shuttle which leaves after each ryanair flight arrival and got off at the last stop which was Pizzale Roma Bus Terminal, it was then just a short walk accross the bus park to catch the No 2 Vaparetto { water bus in italian} down the grand Canal to the Rialto Bridge.Bus and Vaparetto tickets can be purchased in advance in the arrival hall at the airport, we purchased 36 hour vaparetto tickets which mean you can take as my trips on the water bus as you like, they cost 18 euro each which is brillant as 1 single trip costs 10 euro! Print the map from the hotels website and you will find the hotel without any problems, like we did.

We were very hungry as we had a 0400am start for the airport and arrived at the Rialto Bridge approx 1100am, we deceided to have lunch, which was very reasonable a large Slice of Veggie Pizza, a bottle of cold water and a Yummy Lemon Italian Gelato {Shave Ice} for less than 10 euro each!

It takes less than 5 mins to walk to hotel from the Rialto Bridge and we found it without any problems, We were checked in straight away and show to our room by the friendly staff, We had the blue and gold room and it is exactly as pictured on the website. Our windows had old fashioned wooden shutters and the view of the canal below with gondala's and singing gondaliers was breath taking! The bed was very comfy and we slept for 2 hours that afternoon before heading off and taking in the sights of Venice.

The streets of venice in July were buzzing with tourists,{which normally i do not like!} but it didnt bother me it really added to the venetian experiance. Its was very warm 30 degrees, and every took advantage by sitting along the river in San Marco having there picnic lunch or Gelato to cool down.

You cannot visit venice and not take a Gondala ride, although they are very expensive at 80 euro for a 20 min ride, they are actually worth every penny. We both thoroughly enjoyed the experiance! We boarded our gondala just outside our hotel, the gondalier is actually sort of a tour guide and filled us in on the history of Venice, showing us the home of famous venetian residents from the past like Casanova and Marco Polo, and famous buildings before bringing us down the grand Canal and back to our hotel.

The streets around the hotel are very reasonable and have 3 couse options for 18-20 euro per person which again for venice is very reasonable.

Any one taking a long break in Venice and wanting to get out of the city should visit the Lido, its a Vaparetto ride from the Rialto bridge and in approx 45 mins can have you at the beach, which wasnt crowded at all, you can also hire wooden beach huts, loungers and umbrellas. Its worth it for the ferry ride alone, its breathtaking on the journey back to venice.

Overall i would rate venice as a must see, i have been put off the past by people saying its expensive, smelly and dirty! I can assure you it is none of that, its water was a beautiful blueish green colour and even though the weather was really hot, there was no sewerage smell anywhere in the city, i would be the first to say if it stunk!

Meals are reasonable and so are drinks most place's. If you are eating at Hotel Danieli terrace or Cafe Florian in San Marco, they are obviously not cheap based on there locations and views.

Dont miss having a "Bellini" in venice its a mixture of Peach juice and champagne and was invented in Harry Bar { vaparetto stop San Marco}. Its yummy!

Just go, you will have a wonderful time. I actually had to rub my eyes, upon first sight of beautiful venice from the vaparetto on the grand canal, i though i was dreaming. It is just like being in a fairytale!

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Alison G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2009

I had the opportunity of staying at this nice small hotel with a group of friends as a weekend getaway during our Italian vacation in Tuscany. I would strongly recommend a superior room with canal view, the room was very clean, beds comfortable, nice furnishings, and a spacious bathroom nearly the size of the room itself, a feature usually not found in most European hotels. Staff was also very friendly, the gentlemen at the Front Desk were always friendly and helpful with requests and questions, the hotel appears to be run by a family giving it a nice touch. The location is also unbeatable, right smack in the middle of San Marco, a minutes walk away from both the Rialto bridge and the world famous St. Marks Square. The only minor downside is the tiny lobby and noisy gondoliers in the canal below in the morning, however it was always quiet at night in time for sleep, no biggie. Venice is by far one of the most beautiful cities I have ever experienced and this hotel just makes everything better.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank orlandohelper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2009

This hotel was located right in the middle of everything near San Marco. (a little hard to find, just ask merchants in the area) The rooms over look a canal and we had a small little balcony. The rooms were impeccably clean and the bathroom was huge. The staff were extremely helpful and accomodating. The was our last stay after traveling through out Italy for two weeks. What a great place to end a great trip. The only downside is that there is not elevator. We were on the 2nd floor so it wasn't too bad for us. Breakfast was okay.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tampatraveler89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2009

My family of 5 stayed here and were overall very happy. Staff is WONDERFUL -- so helpful and just really nice people! Room was spacious and clean -- we had 1 queen and 2 singles and one single/sofa bed -- all comfortable. Bathroom was spotless EXCEPT for the shower - mold in grout. Odd, because everything else was SPOTLESS. A bit noisy until about midnight because its on a canal and you could hear a restaurant, but I suspect most hotels on canals experience this. Our windows opened up onto a canal, so each morning we'd see the gondolas going by - beautiful. The morning breakfast was great -- good food, coffee. Location was fantastic!!!! While hotel seems a little dated, overall it was a great deal for my family of 5.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eileen62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2009

We stayed at this property one night as party of a quick run up to Venice. Very nice staff who showed us to small, but nice room over looking one of the canals. We we four in the room (they have a pull out sofa that converts into 2 beds) so it was a bit cramped. For 2 people the room would have be good. Location is very good with easy access to restaurant, shopping and the water taxi. Place is clean and Wi-Fi worked well in the room. I would recommend this property for a younger couple looking for a decent place at a reasonable price in this otherwise outrageously priced city.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank antacids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
San Marco
Hotel Noemi
Hotel Noemi
#202 of 387 in Venice
438 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Ca' Fortuny
Hotel Ca' Fortuny
#201 of 387 in Venice
333 reviews
San Marco
Hotel do Pozzi
Hotel do Pozzi
#157 of 387 in Venice
576 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
Alcyone Hotel
Alcyone Hotel
#290 of 387 in Venice
533 reviews
Castello
Hotel Canaletto
Hotel Canaletto
#115 of 387 in Venice
1,172 reviews
San Marco
Centauro Hotel
Centauro Hotel
#122 of 387 in Venice
813 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Al Gazzettino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Al Gazzettino

Address: Sestiere San Marco 4971, 30124 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Marco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#128 Romantic Hotel in Venice
Price Range: £58 - £335 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Al Gazzettino 3*
Number of rooms: 1
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Al Gazzettino is located in a building of 1700, overlooking a characteristic canal, fascinating during the day for the hustle and bustle of the gondolas, magical at nightfall with the lights of the surrounding buildings that reflect on its waters.It is located in the historic center of Venice, close to Piazza San Marco and 3 minutes walk from Rialto Bridge and Grand Canal.It is the ideal place for those who wants to find the ultimate in comfort and to live the historicity of the Venice.The Palace has always had the function of giving hospitality: first as a guest-house for wayfarers and then, at the time of the Venetian Republic "Serenissima" to give rest to the wealthy Turkish merchants.Become one of the historic hotels in Venice, it has been restored its splendor with the last recent renovation that has brought it back to the original beauty, enriched with precious damask fabrics, lamps, mirrors and Baroque style furniture’s .From the reception, going up the wide staircase decorated with precious Murano Glass lamps,you have direct access to hotel rooms. Here, after the initial contact with the rooms,you can perceive to be in a refined and superior ambiance; fabrics on the walls, Venetian Baroque style furniture, Murano Glass mirrors and chandelier. Everything is organized to make the rooms comfortable and to provide our customers with maximum comfort.Our hotel offers 3 different types of rooms:The Classic rooms, located on the fourth floor, even the simplest, are an excellent housing solution and offer the convenience of an elegant ambiance, embellished with red damask fabric on the walls, Baroque-style furniture, WiFi, mini bar, electronic safe, air conditioning and satellite television.The "Superior" located on the third, will be targeted to the most demanding customers.Offers a room more spacious in a refined setting and furnished with wooden furniture in '700 Venetian style, mirrors and lamps in Murano glass, comfortable sofas for a pleasant moment of relaxation, in addition to WiFi, mini bar, electronic safe, air conditioning and satellite television.Instead, for those who prefer the maximum, our structure, offers 4 beautiful "Deluxe" Rooms on the first and second floor with a breathtaking view of one of the most characteristic and typical canals of Venice.They are our most prestigious and spacious rooms, embellished with a sumptuous canopy and entirely decorated with precious tissues that recall the splendor and elegance typical Venetian.In addition to the many services available in all our rooms (WiFi, mini bar, electronic safe, air conditioning and satellite television), the hotel offers, to the most demanding customers who choose this type of room, a special Welcome, characterized by a bottle of Prosecco DOC, served in two beautiful flute, to make their stay even more romantic.Check-in time is From 14.00Check - Out Time is at 11.00If necessary, it is possible to leave your luggage at Reception.A rich Buffet Breakfast is included in the price of the room and it is served every morning between 8.00 am and 10.00 am. The varied breakfast includes traditional Italian coffee, breads, freshly baked croissants, 3 different types of jams, honey, biscuits, cakes and savory options such as cold cuts,cheese, eggs and bacon. We offer also a gluten free breakfast for a celiac. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Al Gazzettino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Al Gazzettino Venice
Al Gazzettino Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing