We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Alex

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Alex
Ranked #321 of 386 Hotels in Venice
Level Contributor
67 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Great hotel!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2013

I stayed at hotel Alex for only one day but had a great experience and would definitely go back. It is situated at a great location, near the rialto bridge and piazza S .Marco. It is at a walking distance from the train station so the use of the expensive vaporetto is not needed to get to the hotel as well as get around Venice. The hotel room was very cosy and basic, which is what we payed for, our room also included a private bathroom which was very practical rather than having a common bathroom. The breakfast was small but pleasant, enough to get us through the day. The owner of the hotel was very friendly and helpful. We had reserved a gondola ride at a place 30min away from the hotel and the lady was very nice in giving us exact directions on how to get there. I would anyways advise asking around for directions in Venice whether it's to get the hotel or anywhere else as the maps tend to not match the confusing streets of Venice. All in all I really recommend going to this hotel, it is worth the price and a nice place to stay in, especially if you're only going for a few days.

Room Tip: Pick a room with a private bathroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank _Michelle_ML56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    17
    50
    31
    21
    15
See reviews for
28
46
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
143 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2013

I will start with the few positives; the breakfast was great (rolls, croissants, yoghurt, and tea/coffee/hot chocolate), and the lady running it was very friendly. Unfortunately the negatives well and truly outweighed the positives. Our room had bedbugs, the shower is absolutely tiny and had a lot of mould in it. We also had an issue with the key once we locked the door from the inside, and we ended up locked in. Luckily a traveler in another room heard our lock clicking and making noise and woke up and realized what was going on and got me to pass the key through so he could unlock it for us. It was also really noisy at night even when you had ear plugs in. The hotel is ridiculously overpriced for what it is and the terrible problems there. I would recommend looking elsewhere and avoiding this nightmare. I stayed in other b&b's while in Europe and this is the only one I had a problem with.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank quiet_traveller_2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Venice hotels

Grass Valley, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2013

Hotel Alex has many positives - a nice location that is walkable to/from anywhere in Venice, including the train station and San Marco; a manager that is knowledgeable and very helpful (she can seem a little formal at first, but she is actually very warm and friendly); a free breakfast (yogurt, a croissant, rolls, and coffee or hot chocolate); some rooms with balconies; a very friendly price tag for Venice.

On the down side, while all rooms have a sink and bidet, for the best prices you have a shared bathroom, 1 per floor, which means it's shared by 3 or 4 rooms. This arrangement works OK, and the bathrooms are reasonably clean and functioning, but at "popular" times, you may need to wait or go to a different floor. The shower stall/room (1 per floor) is very tight, with not much space to hang a towel or clothes. Also, beware - there is no elevator, so if you have heavy luggage or mobility issues, that may be of concern. Finally, like almost everyplace in Venice, if there's much action/voices/noise on the stone-canyon-like streets and alleys below your room, you will hear it. Unavoidable and part of the charm of this historical city.

Overall, the rooms are somewhat small and functional, but one shouldn't expect the Ritz at these prices. Our room had a small balcony that was charming, and we hung out there for a while in the evening with a bottle of wine, listening to the sounds of the people in the street and the cafe below. Hotel Alex is a comfortable place to stay in a convenient area of Venice, and is definitely worth the price.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank change4abuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2013

My husband and I spent 4 nights at the Hotel Alex, the perfect location to see Venice. The bonus is Señora Fiorentini, the owner...she is gracious, kind and helpful...a nonna away from home. Our room was on the 3rd floor with a terrace....perfect! We used it every morning and every night. We loved overlooking the street and watching the early morning and late night activities of living happening right below us. Señora Fiorentini helped us with directions and vaporetto stops and anything else we needed. The hotel is very close to the San Toma stop. There's an excellent restaurant right across the street, a convenience store, a grocery store and lots of gift shops. We met so many lovely people in the Rio Tera area. The San Polo district is close to everything. We easily walked everywhere we could and took vaporettos everywhere else. The area is full of interesting people, stores, bakeries, restaurants, churches, campos and bars. We had the best meal ever in the area. Our room was clean and comfortable which is all we needed since we were exploring until late at night. The area is safe. This is not a 2 or 3 star hotel, more like a bed and breakfast, but we'd stay here again.

Room Tip: Some people might not like the noisy street like we did so a room in the back would be a better idea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2013

Fairly Spartan but a good location right in the heart of Venice.
The elderly proprietor is very welcoming and friendly.
The hotel hasn't been updated in decades but it does have a certain charm.

No air-con as you might guess but a large electric fan is provided.
Because of the old style windows and shutters the passing tourists/locals can be easily heard to the front of the hotel and be warned of clashing bedroom doors in the early hours.

Shared shower/wc facilities on each floor but there are some rooms with en-suite showers.

Also be aware that credit cards are not taken!! We had to find a cashpoint on the morning of our departure.
Finally the room rates are frankly ridiculous for this standard of hotel.
No room in this establishment is worth more than a maximum of £50/60euros per night b&b.
Central Venice or not/high season or not!

Room Tip: See review!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stepnfetchit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2013 via mobile

We recently stayed at Hotel Alex and would stay here again. The lady was very welcoming and like a nonna :) the only fault was no air conditioning which made it a little uncomfortable sleeping, but not uncommon for Europe. We opened the window but got bitten alive by Mosquitos lol. Otherwise a great cozy place and would recommend staying here.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Breezer7Perth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2013 via mobile

My dad had recommended this hotel as he had stayed here once while travelling through Italy. W booked the hotel the night before we were flying out to Venice due to issues with Expedia and our other booking. We got the slightly before check-in but the lady was very welcoming and explained that the room we were in was quite small but she would change it for the last two nights of our stay. When we got up to the room we were pleasantly surprised. The room was quite small and the major drawback was the small double bed as it was a bit to hot to share, however it had a balcony which was a big bonus.

On the second day when I went down for breakfast the lady told me she had a surprise for us, and asked us when we wanted to change room. Later that morning she actually informed us that she had upgraded us to a room with a private bathroom for free! The second room was much bigger and so was the bed. The bathroom was nice and clean and so was the room.

We didn't spend much time in the hotel for the whole trip but it was nice and ideal for Venice. Rooms were very quaint and decorated how I would expect for this area. It was about a 5 minute walk to the Rialto once you actually work out where you're going and 10 minutes to st marks and allows you to see a side of Venice that you probably wouldn't if you didn't stay out here.

We actually gave the lady a corkscrew when we left (that we'd bought to have a couple of bottles of wine in the room) because earlier in the trip she had explained that visitors keep borrowing them and not returning them! Please don't steal them from her! She is absolutely lovely and can offer you really good advice on where to eat and go if you don't want to pay steep venice prices!

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Georgia1410
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
San Polo
Ca' San Polo
Ca' San Polo
#162 of 386 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 419 reviews
Hotel Belvedere
#247 of 386 in Venice
3.5 of 5 bubbles 72 reviews
Santa Croce
Albergo Marin
Albergo Marin
#105 of 386 in Venice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 810 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
Palazzo Selvadego
Palazzo Selvadego
#166 of 386 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 385 reviews
Alexander Hotel
#198 of 386 in Venice
3.5 of 5 bubbles 326 reviews
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Tivoli Hotel
Tivoli Hotel
#195 of 386 in Venice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Alex? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alex

Property: Hotel Alex
Address: 2606, S. Polo, 30124 Venice, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Polo
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #321 of 386 Hotels in Venice
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Alex 1*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Travel Republic (UK) and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Alex reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alex Hotel Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing