We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Bedbugs”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Alex

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Alex
Ranked #321 of 386 Hotels in Venice
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Bedbugs”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2014 via mobile

When we first got to the hotel we thought it was rather good. The old lady that owns the place was cute and the hotel was easy to find from the train station. The room was small and the beds were horrible, but for the price we paid we figured it was okey. But then after the first night I woke up with bites all over my body. Turns out there were bedbugs in our room (room nr 7). We tried to sleep one more night but woke up with even more bites. When we confronted the manager with it and wanted to change rooms she acted as if she had never heard of bedbugs and said that we must have brought them, which is a lie. Luckily she let us check out early. On top of it all her son, who also works at the hotel, was very rude to us. I definitely don't recommend this hotel.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Theo B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    17
    50
    31
    21
    15
See reviews for
28
46
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Denver
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2014

We stayed here for 4 nights. Absolutely enjoyed the wonderful service which is the last thing you'd expect in Europe. Velia, the owner, was very attentive to our needs. Breakfast is serve between 8a-9:30a but since we had to leave early for our flight to Paris, we asked if we could have breakfast @ 7:30a. Sure enough, she had our favorite coffee ready for us. The key is to treat people the way you want to be treated. Overall, we had a very pleasant experience. I was hesitant about a shared bathroom but it wasn't any different than using a public restroom. I didn't mind it at all & if it was busy, I used the bathroom on the next floor. Unfortunately, you can't please everybody. But in my opinion, I was very happy to stay here & enjoyed the atmosphere of staying w/ the locals. Molte Grazie Velia! Rez

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NguyenRezMjNya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2014

Yes, we can say the quality (as in lumpiness) and antiquity of the pillows was an unpleasant distraction and concern. Maybe you could put some meat into the breakfast, as we had got used to enjoying this part of a European brekkie. On the positive side, the hotel has a lot of character, and the hosts are gracious, and a great location especially with the glass maker next door.

Potential for improvement.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AdamskiAds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

We chose Hotel Alex because of its proximity to many of the sites around Venice. We were expecting the room to be very ordinary but were pleasantly surprised when we opened the door. The room was more spacious than many higher rated hotels we had stayed in. The private bathroom was adequate and there was more than enough room for a friend to stay with us overnight on a sofa bed. The owner was very friendly and helpful. The continental breakfast was included in the price and was sufficient to sustain us until lunch. The hotel is conveniently situated close to all the action around the Rialto bridge and the Piazza San Marco. Across the alley are a supermarket, shops and a couple of great restaurants. There was no need to use any expensive transport from the station. The hotel was only a short walk, even though we did have to cross over a couple of bridges. A word of advice - download or get your hands on a detailed map of Venice as all alleys and bridges look alike and you can feel like a mouse in a maze trying to find your way around.

Room Tip: The room we had was overlooking the alley and supermarket. It was a little noisy at night when peopl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gracelyn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dana Point, Ca.
Level Contributor
162 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014

As this was our first trip to Venice, Hotel Alex is not easy to find. I finally called and a nice lady met us around the corner and we followed her to the entrance. By then it was getting late and we just wanted a place to rest. She offered us a double (two twins put together) room and shared bath for 80 euro night. Only one available. The room had loose cracked floor tiles, paint chipping from wall, musty smell and out the window was scaffolding in the narrow alley. There was a sink and bidet in our room. Strange.
Our plan was to stay three nights in Venice. We couldn't wait to leave in the morning to find another place. While checking the bed for any left articles I pulled back the sheets and almost threw up. Huge stains on the mattress!!!! It still grosses me out when I think that we actually slept on it. This place doesn't deserve the one star it is rated. No pride of ownership!!
We were happy to find Hotel Tivoli down the road. A three star and only 20 more euro and much better breakfast.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank loisp9154
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Venice hotels

Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
63 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2014

Good location between the train station and the Rialto, around the corner from the Frari Church [worth a visit]. Clean simple rooms with and without bath. Friendly owners. No elevator but for those willing to take the stairs, some rooms come with a terrace overlooking the street. Small grocery store/deli across the street for self caterers. Continental breakfast included. Off season rates and deals available. All in all, good value for Venice.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
67 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2013

I stayed at hotel Alex for only one day but had a great experience and would definitely go back. It is situated at a great location, near the rialto bridge and piazza S .Marco. It is at a walking distance from the train station so the use of the expensive vaporetto is not needed to get to the hotel as well as get around Venice. The hotel room was very cosy and basic, which is what we payed for, our room also included a private bathroom which was very practical rather than having a common bathroom. The breakfast was small but pleasant, enough to get us through the day. The owner of the hotel was very friendly and helpful. We had reserved a gondola ride at a place 30min away from the hotel and the lady was very nice in giving us exact directions on how to get there. I would anyways advise asking around for directions in Venice whether it's to get the hotel or anywhere else as the maps tend to not match the confusing streets of Venice. All in all I really recommend going to this hotel, it is worth the price and a nice place to stay in, especially if you're only going for a few days.

Room Tip: Pick a room with a private bathroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank _Michelle_ML56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
San Polo
Ca' San Polo
Ca' San Polo
#161 of 386 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 419 reviews
Hotel Belvedere
#248 of 386 in Venice
3.5 of 5 bubbles 72 reviews
Santa Croce
Albergo Marin
Albergo Marin
#106 of 386 in Venice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 812 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
Palazzo Selvadego
Palazzo Selvadego
#167 of 386 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 385 reviews
Alexander Hotel
#197 of 386 in Venice
3.5 of 5 bubbles 327 reviews
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Tivoli Hotel
Tivoli Hotel
#196 of 386 in Venice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Alex? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alex

Property: Hotel Alex
Address: 2606, S. Polo, 30124 Venice, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Polo
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #321 of 386 Hotels in Venice
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Alex 1*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Alex reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alex Hotel Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing