We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location from Marco Polo airport”
Review of Alloggi Barbaria

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Alloggi Barbaria
Ranked #144 of 388 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 July 2014 via mobile

Great B&b in a quiet location. From the airport it is an easy ferry trip to Ospedale stop then about 300 m walk. Always consider access I'm Venice as there are a lot of steps. Fausto and his wife are very helpful with travel plans. Perhaps breakfast could be a little more varied with fresh fruit.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MastertonTripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (336)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

89 - 95 of 336 reviews

Reviewed 12 July 2014

Best value in Venice! We had a large, 3-person room, overlooking a lovely garden courtyard. It was conveniently located near the water taxi, a big plus with luggage, and a very short walk to St. Mark’s Square. There is a nice grocery store around the corner, which we took advantage of for snacks, lunch, and some special dietary needs.
Even better than the room were our hosts! Fausto and his wife made us feel very welcome and important. It was clear that their guests are their #1 priority. Fausto is extremely passionate and knowledgeable about his native city (he writes a blog), and was delighted to guide us in every aspect of our stay. We started referring to him as “The Rick Steves of Venice”.
Throughout our 2 ½ weeks in Italy, we came across plenty of touristy, overpriced places, or people not interested in accommodating travelers. It was invaluable to be spared all the trial and error during our stay at Alloggi Barbaria in Venice.

Room Tip: If it's a available, ask for a room with a garden view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ForestGreen9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2014

My husband and I spent 3 nights at Alloggi Barbaria and found the accommodation to be perfect for our needs. It is very close to the Ospedale Vaporetto stop which makes it easily accessible. Just around the corner is a small supermarket, which we found very handy. It is only a 15 minute walk to the major sights. The room was spotlessly clean and comfortable, with a small fridge and a modern bathroom with shower. Fausto, the owner/manager and his lady assistant, were extremely friendly and helpful. I would certainly recommend this B&B.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ChristelSouthAfrica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2014

This is a small accommodation option compared to some larger hotels that one is use to when travelling. The owners were very hospitable and helpful. Being smaller, it offers a very personal service for guests. Breakfast in the dining area was adequate and a good start to the day. The bed was very comfortable and the room spotlessly clean. Location made our stay in Venice easy. We quite quickly found our way around the lanes and across the canals, finding most of the top tourist spots in a short space of time. Occasionally we got lost, but this only added to our enjoyment as it gave us another vista to admire. The accommodation is close to the hospital and the ferry stop is about 150 metres (possibly) away from the front door. It takes about 25 minutes on the ferry to the hospital stop from the railway station and the directions given to locate the hotel make this trip very easy. We loved staying here, thought our hosts were a great couple and it is a place we certainly are happy to recommend.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Doug-Jennie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2014

We liked it because it was away from the hordes. Great place to explore the city from. Water taxi close. The couple who manage the b&b are real nice and helpful. Rooms nice size as was the bathroom. It was clean. Breakfast was good. I recomend and would stay there again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jwlak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2014

This place is unique because it balances traditional charm with modern amenities. As you can see from everyone's reviews, Fausto is terrific! Breakfast is served on a quaint rooftop terrace looking over a quiet section of Venice. Fausto and his family go out of their way to assist you and lend their knowledge.
For travelers who prefer A/C, modern bath and daily housekeeping service, this is the most fulfilling, affordable place.
But please note, this is off the tourist path of San Marco, Canal Grande, etc, but within walking distance and the water taxis that circle the isle are affordable, frequent and nearby. In the summer, the walk is dark, but we always felt safe. In my opinion, if you are going to Venice to experience the culture, staying at Alloggi Barbaria gives you the opportunity to visit local stops while keeping within walking/water taxi distance from typical tourist areas.

Room Tip: On your day of check out, just like a hotel, they will hold your luggage so that you may explore the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JewelieRees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014

My partner and I stayed at Alloggi Barbaria for 3 nights on our last stop on our tour of Italy. The B&B is in an excellent location - Castello itself is a lovely district in Venice, not too touristy but within walking distance to all the main attractions. The B&B was a 5min walk from both Ospedale and Fondament Nove water bus stops which proved to be hugely convenient when visiting the islands and accessing airport/train station. Our room (number 1) was a good size with a comfortable double bed and excellent air con. The ensuite bathroom was large and very clean with a lovely shower. There was also a fridge in the room which we used to keep drinks cool. The B&B is perhaps slightly date but this is in no way a criticism. We ate breakfast on the shared terrace every morning - yogurt and hot rolls with jam or nutella and coffee. Fausto and his wife were lovely hosts and allowed us to leave our bags in the B&B after check out so that we could freely explore Venice on our last day - they provided us with a spare front door key after we'd handed in our room keys so we could return when we liked to pick up our bags. Fausto recommended to us two restaurants to eat at during our stay, both of which served lovely food and weren't too touristy. One, Alle Stragga was a lovely pizzeria with an extensive pizza menu. The other, Osteria alle Straffe, was one of the best restaurants I've ever eaten at but I will review that separately! All in all, a lovely friendly B&B in an excellent location for exploring the beautiful Venice.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BeatriceTilt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
Castello
Hotel alla Fava
Hotel alla Fava
#109 of 388 in Venice
647 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Casa Petrarca
Hotel Casa Petrarca
#126 of 388 in Venice
456 reviews
Cannaregio
Hotel Bernardi Semenzato
Hotel Bernardi Semenzato
#146 of 388 in Venice
953 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Croce
Hotel Dalla Mora
Hotel Dalla Mora
#106 of 388 in Venice
589 reviews
San Polo
Pensione Guerrato
Pensione Guerrato
#153 of 388 in Venice
600 reviews
Hotel Vecellio
#182 of 388 in Venice
524 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alloggi Barbaria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alloggi Barbaria

Address: Castello 6573, 30122 Venice, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Castello
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#10 Best Value Hotel in Venice
#63 Romantic Hotel in Venice
Price Range: £50 - £116 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Alloggi Barbaria 2*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Alloggi Barbaria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alloggi Barbaria Venice
Alloggi Barbaria Hotel Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing