We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No view but great location”
Review of Al Gallo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Al Gallo
Ranked #149 of 219 Speciality Lodging in Venice
Melbourne, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“No view but great location”
Reviewed 29 August 2011

For the price I paid I thought this was a very reasonable hotel. It was old but quite charming - despite the pigeon that took up residence outside my window! No canals to be seen from the window unfortunately. I found the staff to be very helpful, though, I didn't really engage with them that much. You do have to renew the wi fi every 6 hours but they were happy to just print out multiple passwords if you needed them. It was also a super quick connection. In a blazing Venice summer the air conditioning was old but did the trick and wasn't too loud. And, just to confirm the other reviews, great location - which is important if you have a big suitcase to carry over all those stepped bridges!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eur0Trip2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    10
    42
    20
    20
    21
See reviews for
13
48
14
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kentwood, Louisiana
1 review
Reviewed 26 August 2011

This was our first hotel in Venice so we didn't know any better. The room we stayed in was more of like a tree house room. The ceilings were really low and you kind of felt like it was a tree house. The bed was ancient and so was the mattress. That night we both woke up with bed bug bites all over us. The breakfast was a dinner roll with a packet of honey, one cup of coffee, and no re-fills. It didn't stop us from having a good time, but it was a sorry hotel. It has great prices for the location but if you visit the hotel information booth at the train station, they will provide you with better hotels for the same price.

Room Tip: Visit the train station hotel information for the best rates.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cassie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Venice hotels

Lucerne, Switzerland
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2011

stayed here for two nights. Not bad for the price you pay for... Family owned hotel. Wifi is free but you need to keep renew for free because it only lasts 6 hours. I believe that for this price its nothing u can ask for. Shower is kinda small... but still, if you want good quality, there's a price to pay for it.

Great restaurants nearby.. down the road there is Trattoria Da Silvio restaurant.. cheapest and greatest! will for sure be back

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Randall89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2009

The Al Gallo hotel is about 10 min walk from the the train station. There are nice places to eat nearby.

Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank nose_4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 September 2009

Ideal location, directly located a few passes from the Venice train station. Hostel was clean and simple. Nice old building with a rather nice view from our room. Comfy bed and clean bathroom.

Biggest downside was the curfew ... even on new year's eve! No elevator and the hot water didn't always work.

Besides that I would definitely recommend and revisit. Nice place.

  • Stayed January 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lilithdesade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pardubice, Czech republic
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2009

This is really small place, there is small everything - the side street in which it´s situated, its lobby, staircase, room itself, even the bed and the breakfast.
But we looked for a cheap place near the train station but not much far from the centre, and we spent there one night only and we were just a little time in the room so it was ok for us. It was clean, and in some way cute, the worst on it was a pigeon who lives somewhere near the window of our room and made noise all night. Unfortunately the beast was hidden behind wood beam out of reach :-)

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ignis_cz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnipeg, Manitoba
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2008

This place was great, for our purposes. My husband and I were backpacking, and wanted somewhere to sleep and shower, basically. We didn't need a 5 star hotel for three times the price! It was quaint, the manager was helpful and it was in a good location, easy walk from the bus station and train station, although Venice is a little tricky to navigate!

  • Stayed March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EBrooke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
Santa Croce
Hotel Falier
Hotel Falier
#217 of 385 in Venice
380 reviews
Santa Croce
Hotel Carlton Capri
Hotel Carlton Capri
#160 of 385 in Venice
643 reviews
Santa Croce
Hotel ai due Fanali
Hotel ai due Fanali
#189 of 385 in Venice
237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Tivoli Hotel
Tivoli Hotel
#197 of 385 in Venice
294 reviews
Santa Croce
Albergo Casa Peron
Albergo Casa Peron
#184 of 458 in Venice
38 reviews
Castello
Ca'Sa Linger
Ca'Sa Linger
#159 of 219 in Venice
110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Al Gallo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Al Gallo

Property: Al Gallo
Address: Santa Croce 88 | Calle del Forno, 30135 Venice, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Santa Croce
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #149 of 219 Speciality Lodging in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Al Gallo 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly renovated family hotel, located just off the Canal Grande. Venice Marco Polo airport is about 20 min.away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Al Gallo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Al Gallo Hotel Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing